We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convinient option for short stays in Palermo” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Regina to your Saves list
Hotel Regina
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Vittorio Emanuele, 316, 90134 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
Balquhidder, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Convinient option for short stays in Palermo”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

We were supossed to stay at 316 Bed & Breakfast but due to overbooking we were sent to Hotel Regina, and we weren't informed of this until our arrival.
The room was basic but clean and comfortable and hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Location wise, Regina Hotel couldn't be better, is just a few meters from Cuatro Canti, in the heart of the old town.
There's a 1 a.m. curfew which is ok on a Tuesday night, but you wouldn't want to miss out on the Palermitan nightlife on a Saturday night.
We were waken up by the bricklayers at 8 in the morning, which is not what you want after a long evening journey.
Breakfast is a bit spartan, but is included.
Good option if you are spending only a night in Palermo.

  • Liked — The duvets where something else, straight out of the 80's!
  • Disliked — Being waken up by bricklayers at 8 in the morning.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    32
    13
    11
See reviews for
10
23
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

The room key was too primitive to work.

We asked a hotel staff to bring a blanket but no one came to our room, so half an hour later I went to the front desk to ask him again, but he was just sitting. He seemed to forget our request instantly.

We also asked to wake us up. Since there was not a telephone in the room, they promised to knock on the door at 7 in the morning but nobody came.

They switched off the airconditioner with no excuse.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2006

it is the perfect location and great value. you cannot be in a better place, 3 minute walk from cathedral, 30 seconds walk from quattro canti. we were a small group of young women and felt very safe.breakfast was always plentiful and fresh, lovely chap that runs the cafe across the street where breakfast is served. careful of cars and other traffic (horses, bikes), they dont stop for red lights! the first impression you get when you walk into the hotel entrance from the street is "O my god, where the hell have we come to" but this is completely on the outside. Inside it is very secure, friendly, authentic italy, well ventilated. you get fresh towels if you ask for them, theshared batrhooms are exactly what you'd expect, very wet but cleaned daily. rooms were sparse but what would you want other than the basics? discover real italy. this is the place to go if you dont need unnecessary luxuries, just good food and a good bed

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2005

The good thing of this hotel is the location, easy to go every where in the city; and it's price.
The first night we stayed in a double room with common toilet, it was terrible. Because the public toilet was really dirty, at least that very day. So if you are not so tight on money, pay 10€ more for a double room with private toilet. With this extra, I found my peace on the second night we passed there.
We met different staff. The first night was a young man who was not so helpful and tried to cheat us the next day by increasing the room price (fortunately I brought my reservation confirmation with me). The second night was an old man, even he does not speak English, he was very kind and warm.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2005

Regina hotel was excellent value for money, a bit rough round the edges, but given it is such an old building this added to character, excellent location in the centre of palermo. Breakfast was served in a cafe, lovely coffee. Stayed for two nights to/from airport, parking very difficult in city centre, but hotel staff were very helpful in local knowledge of best places to park. Would reccomend to travellers/students etc on a budget, who can appreciate a comfortable bed and charm of an old building.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele, 316, 90134 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Regina 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Palermo with us!The Travelers House is ideally located in the most historical and central area Palermo, within a walking distance to all major attractions, with a super public transport at your door.1^ floor with Lift The features included are:-Free Towels, Free Bed linens, soap-Shampoo-Free Tea and Coffee on request -Free Microwave+Fridge at disposition of the customers-Free Wifi- Free Maps and Advice-Free Luggage storage- hot showers 24 hours a day-24 Hour Reception - Not curfew-Free Tours Desk/Travel information-Heating in the winter and Fans in the summer-For family Free baby-bed on request before your arrival Position: in the city center in a safe area. Rooms: all Privates rooms with private bath/shower or with basin(shared bathroom). Please note before you book:- This is a familiar hostel- Hot drinks and snacks machines are available in our TV room. Please Advise about arrival time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Budget Places and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Palermo
Hotel Regina Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.