We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Palermo Excelsior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Palermo Excelsior to your Saves list
Mercure Palermo Excelsior
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90141 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Excelsior Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Canfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our room was large with a small balcony overlooking the front of the hotel. However, traffic noise was not a problem. We appreciated the fact that the hotel was close to the main market street. We had a great time walking the streets with Sicilian families on a Sunday evening. The jugglers, mimes, street entertainers and food vendors were great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Mercure Palermo Excelsior, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to us, which is very important to improve more and more.
We are really happy that you have had the opportunity to enjoy the good position of our hotel and the best attractions that it offers. On Sundays the traffic stops , and a lot of Palermo families walk in “via della Libertà”. I would like to thank you also for appreciating a simple Sunday walking with my citizens.
We try to offer our “Sicilian Style “ in our hotel with the “Sicilian Breakfast Corner”, and many typical Sicilian dishes in the restaurant menu.
For the next Christmas Holidays , also without snow , Palermo is very charming and we are preparing some special packages for Christmas and for the New Year ‘s eve.
We hope to welcoming you again soon and, why not for the New Year’s Eve ?
Best Regards
Filippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    322
    125
    51
    26
See reviews for
102
298
33
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

3 very pleasant nights. Ok, it's not one of the more modern, swept-up Hiltons, but that adds to the charm. As HH member - usual courtesies were extended and I was impressed with the all-round attentiveness and friendliness of the staff. Rooms large and well appointed - if a little dark, owing to the traditional mediterranean shuttering. The ones facing the Via Liberta need better sound insulation, but noise is tolerable. On-street parking at a premium and watch-out for opportunist parking "attendants" offering you space on the pedestrian walk-way to the side of the hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Mercure Palermo Excelsior, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Hilton Honor Member
we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
We are very happy to know that you have been impressed by all-round attentiveness and friendliness of the staff.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Best Regards
Filippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very good location, nice hotel, although not 100% Hilton standard, very quiet room (but very ugly view). Rooms with views must be noisier... No free internet in rooms, only in small (sometimes crowded) sitting area in lobby, where everyone wants to go online. Housekeeping not very effective, absolute minimum tasks are done. Difficult to reach reception on the phone from the room, but friendly and helpful. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Mercure Palermo Excelsior, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time and your words, for us really important for our improving.
Thank you for appreciate our hotel and its location.
We also thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible.
Our staff is very proud for your comments about us and our friendliness. Thank you again
We have taken a good note that you will come back and we are looking forward to welcome you soon.
Best Regards
Filippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is good value for money. Its great location, 15 minutes walk from downtonw along beautiful boulevard, is especially attractive. (Also happens to be 10 min walk from Hertz). Reception and lobby personnel very friendly and efficient. While the wireless is good quality and convenient, to print boarding pass I had to pay separately for business center wired. Room had sky windows only.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Mercure Palermo Excelsior, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would say thank you for your time dedicated to us. We are very happy you have appreciated the best things of our hotel: the central position (it is near the shopping area and the old town center ) and the proximity to the most important attractions and the friendly and efficient of the staff. Our staff is proud for your words about it.
About the Internet, we have the possibility of free wireless on the ground floor , in the common areas and in our restaurant open until 11:30 pm.
We hope to welcoming you again soon.
Best Regards
Filippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Don't expect the tidiness of a Hilton-brand hotel here. But don't forgo this comfortable hotel. It's in a good location in Palermo where shopping and dining are easily within walking distance. The staff is very helpful and English is not a problem. The breakfast is hearty and fresh and the coffee will keep you going for hours and hours! You will find that the carpeting and wallpaper have seen better days. It's a solidly built, historic building and the price is very affordable. We were pleased and satisfied with what we needed this hotel for, a good night's sleep, fast internet, and a central location. You shouldn't spend a lot of time there anyway. Get out of the hotel and see Palermo! Hire a guide if you want to get the most out of your time there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A charming old building and a hotel that may have known better days.

Good: *The beach shuttle to Mondello was well-priced, very convenient and provided for our fondest memories of Palermo. *The beds in the room were super comfortable.

Bad: *Our shower leaked and flooded the entire bathroom every time we tried to use it. We called maintenance and they brought a bucket and mopped it up. Every day we had a flood and every day we had to call the front desk who would not fix the problem or place us in another room. *The restaurant was a shambles. They only tended to tour groups and feigned extreme annoyance when other paying guests dared to eat at the hotel. The food was inedible and outrageously overpriced. It might be naive to expect high quality food within a tourist hotel but we had travelled far and wanted something simple... it was hands down the worst food of our entire trip. *The breakfast service appears to be understaffed as all the food was gone, not one table had been bussed and the staff that was on duty barked at everyone who came in. We had to bus a table and fold back the filthy tablecloth to eat a handful of cereal.

For these reasons, we ended up checking out of this hotel early and booking into another hotel at great expense but the peace of mind was worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Mercure Palermo Excelsior, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to us.
We are very sorry to know we haven’t satisfied your expectations in some things but we are working very hard to make better our services.
At the same time, we want to say thank you for appreciate the charming of our hotel and the comfort of its rooms. Our building is located in the heart of the city, near to the historical area, the best parks and the most interesting attractions. It is rich in history and made more fascinating thanks to the landscape around it.
We are very happy that you had the opportunity to enjoy our summer service about the shuttle to Mondello, one of the best beaches in our coasts.

We hope to welcoming you again and showing you our improvement.


Best Regards,
Filippo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, UK
Level Contributor
173 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Excelsior Palace was built in 1891 and reopened as a hotel in 1983. Hilton took it over just three years ago. We enjoyed our stay and were well served by the staff but there were some problems.

We arrived early from Falcone-Borsolino airport after a traumatic drive through late morning traffic in downtown Palermo, not helped by our TomTom not reognising the hotel’s street. The route is actually pretty easy, as we discovered on our return journey. We should have printed out a map. Since our room was not ready when we arrived at noon, we had to wait just 30 minutes for the staff to finish cleaning. Turns out we were upgraded twice to a fairly spacious suite. This was one of a number of obliging tasks the front desk undertook for us during our 5-day visit. Staff members were marvellous throughout stay. Since the hotel itself only has a small dining area, off the foyer, we took advantage of a number of good restaurants in walking distance off the Via Liberta and ate out each night. The front desk staff has an excellent repertoire of restaurants to recommend (e.g. Lo Scudiero, Belletore, and Retriglio). However, note that many restaurants do not take reservations until early evening so making a reservation request with the front desk staff in the mornings was not always successful.

Having read the hotel’s blurb, we knew that we would need to pay for parking, although as we discovered there are sometimes opportunities to park outside the hotels; at least that’s where the large buses bringing overnight package tourists park. We were at first put off by the hotel not having a garage but were assured that for our €20 daily the car would be delivered to the front door within 20 minutes of making a request. And, that’s how it worked out. Very satisfactory. The facility is not operated by Hilton but by Central Parking. When you arrive with a car, the front desk staff will alert you to the fact that the fee needs to be paid in cash and is not included on your hotel bill. So, you need to save some euros for your departure.

The hotel provides a full breakfast in a splendid dining room, which unfortunately is not available for dinner reservations; dinner, which we did not try, is serve in the Exe bar and restaurant, just off the foyer. There is a pretty wide range of hot and cold food but the responsiveness and friendliness of the breakfast room staff is highly variable ranging from highly responsive and friendly to ignoring requests. In addition, the “hot” food is not hot and some food (e.g. Milk and cereals) is not replenished in a timely manner. Finally, on the food front, Palermo is still pretty warm in October and sometimes humid. Yet, we only received a couple of bottles of water in our room (as well as a plate of fruit “compliments of the manager”) on our first night. Niente after that.

Our room was very good with a comfortable Hilton bed, but like the rest of the hotel, it is beginning to show its age, with too many scuffs on the furniture and stains on the carpets. Our corner suite also experienced noise from traffic (fortunately we were too tired from sightseeing to notice). More seriously, on our first night we had no hot water just as we were getting ready to shower before going out for dinner. After considerable protest to the duty manager, we were offered a different room but did not want to move. Eventually, at my suggestion, we were offered a shower in another room and a promise that an engineer would try and fix the shower while we were out for dinner. Sure enough, on our return the shower was fixed and we reached an amicable compensation settlement for the inconvenience. Palermo is also subject to heavy storms, which often cut out the power. So, on our final night, the hotel had no hot water. One final bathroom-related problem was that some of the bath towels are old and thin and need replacing; one had a two-inch hole in it!

Wifi is available, and is pretty fast. However, the hotel retains Italy’s archaic registration system. So, even if you are a Gold or Diamond member you have to request separate login details for each day and each device. It’s a pain but the front desk staff obliged with a small wad of registration details. Another issue for Hilton Central to sort out.

We came to Palermo with a list of sites we wanted to visit, which included the Palazzo dei Normanni, San Giovanni degli Eremiti, La Martorana, il Duomo, La Zisa, Palazzo Mirto, and various museums (which in our case were closed). These are really superb sites that nicely illustrate the city’s cosmopolitan history. Also be sure to include a trip to nearby Monreale to see the Duomo and cloisters, and a little further to Cefalù. We drove in Palermo but you need to be pretty brave to do so: think of the dodgems at the fair combined with a video game in which pedestrians and motorcycles jump out in front of you. On our last day, we also had to contend with driving through a deluge that produced 10 cm of rainwater.

So, overall, not up to the standard of the Hilton Palace in Sorrento hotel, but comfortable enough. We enjoyed our stay thanks in large part to the excellent front desk staff. If we return to Palermo, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#28 of 98 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
#24 of 98 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#3 of 98 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Ibis Styles Palermo
#20 of 98 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Palermo Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Palermo Excelsior

Address: Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90141 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Excelsior Palace Hotel)
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Palermo
#25 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Palermo Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Palermo Excelsior is located in the Liberty style area of the city and is surrounded by the English Garden, Villa Garibaldi, Villa Trabia, close to the shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, ACCOR, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mercure Palermo Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Mercure Palermo Excelsior Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Palermo Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.