We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Hilton Palermo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Hilton Palermo to your Saves list
Excelsior Hilton Palermo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90144 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #38 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip. I enjoyed this hotel. It has a nice older (in a good way) feel to it. Check in and check out were efficient and the front desk staff were both friendly and helpful. In fact I found the staff throughout the hotel to be very friendly and attentive. The hotel has a very nice bar/restaurant. I had dinner there several evenings and the food was very good. My room was more than adequate.My room rate included breakfast. Breakfast was very nice and included a nice selection of both hot and cold items. Free wifi was technically only available in the lobby but I was able to get it in my room if I carried my iPad upstairs from the lobby. The hotel was in a nice part of the city with numerous restaurants and bars within walking distance. I would not hesitate to stay here again if in Palermo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    280
    117
    43
    25
See reviews for
89
265
31
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire England
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I spent two nights as part of a Jules Verne tour of Sicily. The hotel is quite well situated near two quite pleasant public parks and reasonably close to restaurants - ask the reception for directions. Our room was of a reasonable size and was tastefully decorated although it could have done with a new carpet as the existing one was somewhat stained. There were two chairs, a desk. a mini-bar and a safe. The room was just below the roof and did not have conventional windows. Instead it had two ceiling windows with blinds operated by an electric control which also opened and closed them. It was all right for a couple of night's stay but I don't think I would have liked it for a longer term as all you could see of the outside was the sky.The only contact I had with staff was with the reception who were extremely pleasant and helpful and the bar staff who were chaotic - a sort of Laurel and Hardy act.. The breakfast was reasonable although I cannot remember much about it! There was an evening meal with an unprepossessing menu and which was relatively expensive as was the bar! Internet was free if used in the foyer or bar but chargeable if used in the room. Overall the hotel was not outstanding but it met our needs and I was happy enough with our stay to be able to recommend it

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester england
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had 2 nights as part of an 8 day Jules Verne tour. The comfort and size of the room was very welcome. Tepid water in the morning became cold by 7. Breakfast was plentiful but underwhelming, with cooked food already cold by 8.00 am. Despite the breadth of the published menu for the evening meal, the total menu once seated comprised 4 dishes. On both evenings the menu was, we discovered when we sat down, identical, On both evenings, one of the four options was unavailable. Service was chaotic but not unfriendly.

Room Tip: Get an assurance of hot water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location, elegant hotel, clean rooms, rich breakfast, everything one can expect from a Hilton. Parked the car just 50 meters right in front of the hotel, gave 2 euros to the guy (Pierro) to watch the car very day, better than valet parking for 20 euros per day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Excelsior Hilton Palermo was a superb place for us to stay for 3 nights in Palermo, 2-5 Sep2013. It's location was just ideal, being close to major bus routes, including to and from the airport, and hence avoiding the need to take taxis. Also, a walkable distance from the historic part of the city and its major sights. The staff were very polite and helpful. The breakfast service was prompt and hospitable. The only downside of this hotel is that most of the rooms are facing the busy road , and hence noise level during the nights was noticeable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

OK, I travel for a living and always stay in the Hilton in order to maximize points. Figured many of you would choose this place for the same reason.

Let me help you, make sure you do not make this mistake. You would be much better earning points at another hotel.

What did I get for being a faithful Hilton resident when I stayed at the Hilton in Palermo, not a thing. Not even a warm handshake or a a smile.

Ladies at the desk were short and smart aleced when asked any questions.

"Maam, I signed up for the beach trip at 9:00 am today, what do I need to do?" Answer, just sit in the lobby and we will come get you. As if I were mentally challenged. Luckily we went outside to wait on the bus and had no issues.

They told the next couple the same thing, then left them at the hotel, then blamed the couple for missing the bus. Really?

Only stay at this place if you want to not get any extras for being a faithful Hilton client and want to be verbally abused by the staff.

There is a reason they only charge 76 Euro a night.

Enjoy LOL

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

previous, to this holiday,I, had been to lake garda and lake como,june and july of this year,where the hotel rooms were a disgrace,hotel hilton however treats the solo traveller with RESPECT, I,had a large room , tea & coffee making facilities, mini bar, king size bed and a 40in television, french windows that openned facing the park, and I,had a small balcony. check-in took two minutes, the conierge took my case showed me to my room, The bar and restaurant are integrated, making for a cosy informal atmosohere, waiters and barman were first class all the staff and management were exemplary, first class hot and could buffet breakfast waiter service for your hot drinks, I'm 75yrs old and a widower my holidays are important to me, I, put my TRUST into this hotel and they came up trumps, came up trumps

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Hilton Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hilton Palermo

Address: Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90144 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Palermo
#24 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Hilton Palermo 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Palace Hotel is located in the Liberty style area of the city and is surrounded by the English Garden, Villa Garibaldi, Villa Trabia, close to the shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Excelsior Hilton Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Hilton Palermo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.