We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again 4 years later.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Palermo Excelsior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Palermo Excelsior to your Saves list
Mercure Palermo Excelsior
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90141 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Excelsior Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Back again 4 years later.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The check in was fast and we were upgraded to a suite, however got to the room and the key didn't work.
The place seemed exactly as I remembered, except it was looking a bit more tired.
We arrive around 9.30pm so went straight to the restaurant, which we were told closes at 11pm.
The service was non existent 3 guys standing around talking to each other like we weren't there.
The pasta was served, but no offer of cheese or anything, just dropped on the table, like they couldn't be bothered.
We had to get up walk to them to get the check.
Food was good, service was a shocker!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    294
    117
    45
    25
See reviews for
95
274
32
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

What is the point of reserving a room with a balcony when you only get a window by the kitchen exhaust. Pretentious and not worth the price, rooms are upscale garbage, decent bathrooms, and space, if you were on biz and had to stay, it wouldn't be bad. They couldn't check us in on time and the internet is $13 euro a day in your room, which for me is the place I want the free internet, not the lobby!! Very disappointed and can't wait to leave.

Room Tip: Insist on a balcony, otherwise your in a box with no outside air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a total of 4 nights, 1 night at the commencement of a tour and 3 nights at the end of the tour. Although the hotel has a lovely old world charm and the rooms are very nice with comfortable beds, on my first stay, the airconditioning was not working very well and the room was much too hot and when I returned to the hotel, there was no hot water in the hotel for the first 2 nights. This was very inconvenient and after myself and several other guests complained, the staff were most apologetic but I felt guests should have been advised in advance that there was a problem and perhaps some compensation offered. The hotel is well located close to the main shopping area although quite a distance from the old town. The buffet breakfast was very good. Wifi was free but only in the lobby of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel isn a perfect location to walk to all the sites and to pickup a city tour bus. Also it is in close proximity to all the upscale shops.
The rooms are a little dated, but the staff is exceptional. Well informed, helpful, friendly willing to help.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade but ask for a quiet room so that you do not hear the noise from the traffic as this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

we spent only 3 days in Excelsior and all wished we were there for longer.
The staff is EXTRA nice and really went extra mile to assist us and provide with information.
The breakfast buffet was great!
rooms - amazing, spacious and really comfy.
the location of the hotel is absolutely superb.
If we go back to Palermo, there is no other choice, but Hilton Excelsior.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Palermo for 1 nights and enjoyed our stay. The room was overlooking the main entrance but was quiet. Everything worked and the room had the quality of an old charming hotel. The location is on the edge of town so it is a bit of a walk from the sights but there are plenty of taxis in front of the hotel (I do not suggest you drive in Palermo, I did and nearly lost my sanity).

Overall the hotel provided great service, friendly and hospitable. Breakfast was really nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group and evidently many tour companies use this hotel as well. It is a large hotel and most of the poeple we met there spoke English. At one time this must have been a grand place to stay. However management has let it become rundown. The carpets are stained and it was in need of repairs. The staff although helpful but not very friendly.
Our request for repair of the toilet seat went unanswered for the 5 days we were there. Our friends in the adjoining room had a/c issues that also were not addressed. The rooms were large the free breakfast was very good and had a nice variety of foods both hot and cold.

Room Tip: Wi fi is free in the lobby but costs €9 in the room for a 24 hour period. We found that when hooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Palermo Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Palermo Excelsior

Address: Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90141 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Excelsior Palace Hotel)
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Palermo
#24 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Palermo Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Palermo Excelsior is located in the Liberty style area of the city and is surrounded by the English Garden, Villa Garibaldi, Villa Trabia, close to the shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Orbitz, Splendia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Palermo Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Mercure Palermo Excelsior Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Palermo Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.