We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and beautiful, but the devil is in the details” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Hilton Palermo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Hilton Palermo to your Saves list
Excelsior Hilton Palermo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90144 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #38 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
Motta Sant'Anastasia, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Old and beautiful, but the devil is in the details”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because we were traveling with my parents who had Hilton Points and used them to pay for the rooms. The only room that would fit my husband and I and our two children was a junior suite. We were initially excited as we never spend the money to stay in a room like that!
PROS: Beautiful decor, incredibly high ceilings. We had a gorgeous view over the neighboring park. The breakfast buffet was good, large by Italian standards, and included typical Sicilian pastries, plus oatmeal, eggs, sausage, cereals, fresh fruits and various meats and cheeses. The room included an in-room electric tea kettle with an assortment of tea bags. It was lovely for us to have a separate room with a (true) king-sized bed and our kids slept in the "front room" of the suite on the fold-out couch and a roll-away bed.
CONS: The carpet was old and didn't feel clean. The (carpeted) steps leading up to the floor where our room was located were filthy. The shower head sprayed in every direction except down. The tub was clogged and filled so fast that we barely had time to shower. It took over 30 minutes to drain, which was a total pain when all four of us were trying to get clean before bed. We never figured out how to work the a/c controls, so the rooms felt stuffy all night (couldn't open the windows because they were floor-to-ceiling doors which were beautiful but let in tons of light and the noise from the streets below).

I don't know that I can call this last point a pro or a con, but somehow I had hoped for a softer bed since, in my mind, the Hilton is a nicer hotel than a typical Italian hotel. However, the beds are the classic Italian beds - lower to the ground with a very firm mattress and no box spring. It was a very large bed by Italian standards, though - a true king-sized bed instead of two twins pushed together.

I'll never pay to stay here, but with the Hilton points I suppose it was worth it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    279
    115
    43
    25
See reviews for
88
264
31
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Easy to get to by bus and conveniently located in Palermo. We vould walk to everything. Rooms were lovely and the hotels cleanliness shown. Staff was very helpful. Customer service was very good.

Great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was very nice, staff was excellent. Only complaint is that the Wi-Fi was very spotty on coverage. Sometimes I couldn't even find the access point.

Location is great, in a very nice part of town. Close to shopping and restaurants. I'm a Diamond member and got an upgraded corner room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hilton Exclesior is a nice hotel if you get it at a good price. Great location in the city, convenient to everything. Problem is my room was in the front of the hotel and I had major difficulty getting to sleep at night and waking up too early due to the street traffic outside. Get a room in the back, don't face the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent a week in Palermo on business in March. The hotel was in a great area close to restaurants and small bars. My room which faced the main street was noisy but I suppose its to be expected in Italy. Must thank the staff who were always helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is very well situated within walking distance of the historic centre of Palermo and in a pleasant safe part of the city (an important factor in Palermo). Our room was huge and very well furnished - quite American in style. It wasn't in the first flush of youth but everything was clean and worked well. We found it extremely comfortable. The hotel was a little bit soulless in the public areas but again everything worked. What was exceptional in this hotel was the breakfast. It had everything you needed for either continental breakfast (with a memorable prepared fruit display and excellent pastry choice) or cooked - hot eggs and bacon. Everything was beautifully tended by very attentive and friendly staff. Best of all was the sicilian corner with a choice of local speciality both savoury and sweet. We loved this touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Near Via della Liberta, sort of a 5th avenue for Palermo, this is a very nice hotel, well located with a pleasant atmosphere. The hotel has large rooms, a nice bar/restaurant, friendly staff and has been largely renovated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Hilton Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hilton Palermo

Address: Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90144 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Palermo
#24 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Hilton Palermo 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Palace Hotel is located in the Liberty style area of the city and is surrounded by the English Garden, Villa Garibaldi, Villa Trabia, close to the shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Excelsior Hilton Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Hilton Palermo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.