We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright, good view over the park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Hilton Palermo

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Excelsior Hilton Palermo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #29 of 98 hotels in Palermo
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Alright, good view over the park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

One of those forgettable hotels. It functioned, i was there for 2 nights on business. Wi-Fi worked, Bath tub was great, water hot. But in some strange way it seems to lack a soul. In a way same could be said for Palermo, seemed a little bit too much like a soulless, functional place. Only when i was out in the days travelling west to Marsala did you feel like it was Sicily. Ate out at CinCin restaurant one evening and that was great. Wonderful Semi Freddo for dessert and faulous Buffalo Mozzarella with strawberry marmalade. Try it if you're in Palermo.

Room Tip: Request a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    225
    86
    27
    19
See reviews for
65
208
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Branch, NJ
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The first experience was a bellman very rudely telling us that we could not park in a clearly designed "unloading zone". I'm not sure what he expected us to do with our bags. I handed him the keys and told him to handle the situation. No real "welcome" afforded by anyone. There was no concierge to help and the front desk personnel were useless and disinterested about everything. They wouldn't even accomodate a small currency exchange we needed for taxis. The breakfast service was disorganized and no one offered and help including seating or memus. Good thing that our stay was only for one night.
I was never so happy to get out and to the airport.

Room Tip: Don't book any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st thomas, vi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were there over New Year's 2013 and found the hotel to be tired and not overly friendly. Unfortunately when we arrived by our own car ad drove up to front to check in and unload bags, the front door person gruffly insisted that we had to move our car immediately. we tried to explain that we were checking in and in fact I pointed to their sign that said 'for unloading only" which is what we were attempting to do. after several contentious moments back and forth with our party of 4, we finally were able to bring ourselves and bags to the front desk and out of the cold to check in. Not a very nice arrival to say the least. The front desk personal were not overly helpful with questions we had about returning our car and other things. The bright light was Raymond, the bartender among other jobs he did. He is quite the ambassador for this hotel and completely helpful and informative. The hotel has no concierge leaving that work to the front desk people. That is terrible since this is a large hotel in a big city where people need lots of guidance. Raymond certainly went the extra mile and have us some great suggestions though. He should be commended by management,
I would not stay here again. The beds were comfortable, but the shower door poured water out of it which meant every shower practically flooded the small bathroom. We moved from the 3rd floor to the 1st floor because the original room had no windows only skylights! Felt very claustrophobic. The first floor is actually one floor above street level as is typical in European buildings. It had french doors that opened but being on a main street it meant noise. So for those that are going to stay here, ask for a room on the back side overlooking the English Garden as it will be quieter. Some tips to Hilton to improve the hotel; hire a well versed concierge, and make a nice sitting area somewhere so people can relax somewhere beside their room. There really is no 'lobby' to speak of.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If hotels can be aged, this would be a grandmother! I got a room next to a side elevator that was extremely noisy. Requested that the elevator be stopped during the night hours so that we can sleep (the main elevator was hardly 10 meters away). Nope siree! Had to then move (and lug) everything to another room. The service wasn't rude but nothing pleasant either. Stay here if you get a good deal. Otherwise, I would check elsewhere (there are plenty better hotels around).

Room Tip: And oh ... the breakfast was very average. I wanted soft boiled eggs but the timer wasn't workin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here for several nights early in November. Great Experience!
Check in staff, reception, restaurant, food, bar, all exceptionally service oriented. The hotel public aereas, rooms etc.. all impeccabily clean.

Charming, welcoming and without a doubt a Flagship of elegance and service which is so rarely found. A must stay. No one compares. In addition to service and all that encompasses a great stay , it is a hotel in the heart of this beautiful historical city.

Room Tip: Overlooking Via della Liberta' ( if available)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at the Excelsior with two friends back in May 2011 for three nights while visiting Palermo. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the room was very nice and exceptionally clean. We had a great dinner at the restaurant in the lobby. The hotel is beautiful inside and out and is in a great location near shopping, parks and is along the Main Street with lots of shops and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again if and when I'm ever back in Palermo.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Excelsior Hilton Palermo, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Best Regards

Filippo Marchese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, Cheshire, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful converted palazzo, situated on upmarket shopping street. Easy walk into town along the pleasant avenue lined with pricey boutiques (although there is a good supermarket in easy reach on the right as you walk into town - about 5 mins from the hotel) with lots and lots to see. Our room was fabulous - separate sitting room and beautiful bathroom - we had a corner room overlooking the English Garden and the room was surprisingly quiet considering how busy the avenue is, thanks to the shutters. The room was spotless and all the furnishings were exactly as you would expect from the brand and in keeping with the building.

Breakfast was nice, fantastic coffee and local food as well as your standard breakfast table stuff. There was a rather strange selection of music playing, but it provided us with a bit of a chuckle to start the day with.

All the staff we had contact with were very polite and helpful - especially reception who gave us maps for town and helped with buses to go to Monreale (really worth the trip...but so was the centre of town - just beautiful architecture and some amazing churches) as well as restaurant recommendations and help with my phrase book italian.

The Prestia e Commande bus for the airport stops right opposite the hotel (English Garden stop), it will save you a bit of a walk from Politeama which is the major stop at this end of town.

We ate (twice! Unheard of for us....) at Le Volte, just a few streets up on the right (via Agrigento - 3 or 4 mins from the hotel). The food was just a perfect end to our tour around Sicily...easily the best food we ate on our trip.

All in all, a good experience at the hotel - enough consistency came with the brand, but there was enough individuality with a very sympathetic conversion of a stunning building to make it a lovely hotel and one I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Excelsior Hilton Palermo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Excelsior Hilton Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hilton Palermo

Also Known As:
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel Palermo
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel
Hilton Palermo
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Sicily
Address: Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Palermo
#21 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#22 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Hilton Palermo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Palace Hotel is located in the Liberty style area of the city and is surrounded by the English Garden, Villa Garibaldi, Villa Trabia, close to the shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Excelsior Hilton Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Hilton Palermo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Excelsior Hilton Palermo to your Saves list