We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel experience ever. Not a place to stay, no one cares.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Hilton Palermo

Save Saved
You added Excelsior Hilton Palermo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excelsior Hilton Palermo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #35 of 98 hotels in Palermo
Long Branch, NJ
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The worst hotel experience ever. Not a place to stay, no one cares.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The first experience was a bellman very rudely telling us that we could not park in a clearly designed "unloading zone". I'm not sure what he expected us to do with our bags. I handed him the keys and told him to handle the situation. No real "welcome" afforded by anyone. There was no concierge to help and the front desk personnel were useless and disinterested about everything. They wouldn't even accomodate a small currency exchange we needed for taxis. The breakfast service was disorganized and no one offered and help including seating or memus. Good thing that our stay was only for one night.
I was never so happy to get out and to the airport.

Room Tip: Don't book any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    252
    99
    34
    23
See reviews for
81
240
27
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
st thomas, vi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were there over New Year's 2013 and found the hotel to be tired and not overly friendly. Unfortunately when we arrived by our own car ad drove up to front to check in and unload bags, the front door person gruffly insisted that we had to move our car immediately. we tried to explain that we were checking in and in fact I pointed to their sign that said 'for unloading only" which is what we were attempting to do. after several contentious moments back and forth with our party of 4, we finally were able to bring ourselves and bags to the front desk and out of the cold to check in. Not a very nice arrival to say the least. The front desk personal were not overly helpful with questions we had about returning our car and other things. The bright light was Raymond, the bartender among other jobs he did. He is quite the ambassador for this hotel and completely helpful and informative. The hotel has no concierge leaving that work to the front desk people. That is terrible since this is a large hotel in a big city where people need lots of guidance. Raymond certainly went the extra mile and have us some great suggestions though. He should be commended by management,
I would not stay here again. The beds were comfortable, but the shower door poured water out of it which meant every shower practically flooded the small bathroom. We moved from the 3rd floor to the 1st floor because the original room had no windows only skylights! Felt very claustrophobic. The first floor is actually one floor above street level as is typical in European buildings. It had french doors that opened but being on a main street it meant noise. So for those that are going to stay here, ask for a room on the back side overlooking the English Garden as it will be quieter. Some tips to Hilton to improve the hotel; hire a well versed concierge, and make a nice sitting area somewhere so people can relax somewhere beside their room. There really is no 'lobby' to speak of.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If hotels can be aged, this would be a grandmother! I got a room next to a side elevator that was extremely noisy. Requested that the elevator be stopped during the night hours so that we can sleep (the main elevator was hardly 10 meters away). Nope siree! Had to then move (and lug) everything to another room. The service wasn't rude but nothing pleasant either. Stay here if you get a good deal. Otherwise, I would check elsewhere (there are plenty better hotels around).

Room Tip: And oh ... the breakfast was very average. I wanted soft boiled eggs but the timer wasn't workin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here for several nights early in November. Great Experience!
Check in staff, reception, restaurant, food, bar, all exceptionally service oriented. The hotel public aereas, rooms etc.. all impeccabily clean.

Charming, welcoming and without a doubt a Flagship of elegance and service which is so rarely found. A must stay. No one compares. In addition to service and all that encompasses a great stay , it is a hotel in the heart of this beautiful historical city.

Room Tip: Overlooking Via della Liberta' ( if available)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at the Excelsior with two friends back in May 2011 for three nights while visiting Palermo. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the room was very nice and exceptionally clean. We had a great dinner at the restaurant in the lobby. The hotel is beautiful inside and out and is in a great location near shopping, parks and is along the Main Street with lots of shops and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again if and when I'm ever back in Palermo.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Excelsior Hilton Palermo, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Best Regards

Filippo Marchese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, Cheshire, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful converted palazzo, situated on upmarket shopping street. Easy walk into town along the pleasant avenue lined with pricey boutiques (although there is a good supermarket in easy reach on the right as you walk into town - about 5 mins from the hotel) with lots and lots to see. Our room was fabulous - separate sitting room and beautiful bathroom - we had a corner room overlooking the English Garden and the room was surprisingly quiet considering how busy the avenue is, thanks to the shutters. The room was spotless and all the furnishings were exactly as you would expect from the brand and in keeping with the building.

Breakfast was nice, fantastic coffee and local food as well as your standard breakfast table stuff. There was a rather strange selection of music playing, but it provided us with a bit of a chuckle to start the day with.

All the staff we had contact with were very polite and helpful - especially reception who gave us maps for town and helped with buses to go to Monreale (really worth the trip...but so was the centre of town - just beautiful architecture and some amazing churches) as well as restaurant recommendations and help with my phrase book italian.

The Prestia e Commande bus for the airport stops right opposite the hotel (English Garden stop), it will save you a bit of a walk from Politeama which is the major stop at this end of town.

We ate (twice! Unheard of for us....) at Le Volte, just a few streets up on the right (via Agrigento - 3 or 4 mins from the hotel). The food was just a perfect end to our tour around Sicily...easily the best food we ate on our trip.

All in all, a good experience at the hotel - enough consistency came with the brand, but there was enough individuality with a very sympathetic conversion of a stunning building to make it a lovely hotel and one I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Excelsior Hilton Palermo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a well located, city hotel from which it's easy to reach other parts of the city - although we'd recommend buses and walking rather than driving! All the staff were very helpful and the place is pretty well equipped for city visiting.
Our room was on the side away from the main avenue and well insulated from the almost constant traffic noise, and was nicely equipped with sofa and bathroom with separate shower. The only irritating thing was really the inaccessibility of the internet - we were without laptop, and the business centre PCs were not available for free surfing. We more or less managed without it, but you don't expect to at a Hilton.
The staff were good with restaurant directions and recommendations and help with instructions on how to reach various parts of the city.

Room Tip: Go for one at the back of the hotel, away from the main avenue - it will be much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Excelsior Hilton Palermo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Hilton Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hilton Palermo

Address: Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Palermo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#21 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Hilton Palermo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Palace Hotel is located in the Liberty style area of the city and is surrounded by the English Garden, Villa Garibaldi, Villa Trabia, close to the shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Excelsior Hilton Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Hilton Palermo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.