We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Hilton Palermo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Hilton Palermo to your Saves list
Excelsior Hilton Palermo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90144 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #38 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here for several nights early in November. Great Experience!
Check in staff, reception, restaurant, food, bar, all exceptionally service oriented. The hotel public aereas, rooms etc.. all impeccabily clean.

Charming, welcoming and without a doubt a Flagship of elegance and service which is so rarely found. A must stay. No one compares. In addition to service and all that encompasses a great stay , it is a hotel in the heart of this beautiful historical city.

Room Tip: Overlooking Via della Liberta' ( if available)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    279
    115
    43
    25
See reviews for
88
264
31
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at the Excelsior with two friends back in May 2011 for three nights while visiting Palermo. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the room was very nice and exceptionally clean. We had a great dinner at the restaurant in the lobby. The hotel is beautiful inside and out and is in a great location near shopping, parks and is along the Main Street with lots of shops and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again if and when I'm ever back in Palermo.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Excelsior Hilton Palermo, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Best Regards

Filippo Marchese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, Cheshire, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful converted palazzo, situated on upmarket shopping street. Easy walk into town along the pleasant avenue lined with pricey boutiques (although there is a good supermarket in easy reach on the right as you walk into town - about 5 mins from the hotel) with lots and lots to see. Our room was fabulous - separate sitting room and beautiful bathroom - we had a corner room overlooking the English Garden and the room was surprisingly quiet considering how busy the avenue is, thanks to the shutters. The room was spotless and all the furnishings were exactly as you would expect from the brand and in keeping with the building.

Breakfast was nice, fantastic coffee and local food as well as your standard breakfast table stuff. There was a rather strange selection of music playing, but it provided us with a bit of a chuckle to start the day with.

All the staff we had contact with were very polite and helpful - especially reception who gave us maps for town and helped with buses to go to Monreale (really worth the trip...but so was the centre of town - just beautiful architecture and some amazing churches) as well as restaurant recommendations and help with my phrase book italian.

The Prestia e Commande bus for the airport stops right opposite the hotel (English Garden stop), it will save you a bit of a walk from Politeama which is the major stop at this end of town.

We ate (twice! Unheard of for us....) at Le Volte, just a few streets up on the right (via Agrigento - 3 or 4 mins from the hotel). The food was just a perfect end to our tour around Sicily...easily the best food we ate on our trip.

All in all, a good experience at the hotel - enough consistency came with the brand, but there was enough individuality with a very sympathetic conversion of a stunning building to make it a lovely hotel and one I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Excelsior Hilton Palermo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a well located, city hotel from which it's easy to reach other parts of the city - although we'd recommend buses and walking rather than driving! All the staff were very helpful and the place is pretty well equipped for city visiting.
Our room was on the side away from the main avenue and well insulated from the almost constant traffic noise, and was nicely equipped with sofa and bathroom with separate shower. The only irritating thing was really the inaccessibility of the internet - we were without laptop, and the business centre PCs were not available for free surfing. We more or less managed without it, but you don't expect to at a Hilton.
The staff were good with restaurant directions and recommendations and help with instructions on how to reach various parts of the city.

Room Tip: Go for one at the back of the hotel, away from the main avenue - it will be much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Excelsior Hilton Palermo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A converted palazzo. Room was spacious, well-equipped and comfortable with a small balcony too. Bathroom had a separate walk-in shower unit as well as a bath. Hotel is well located on one of the main, more exclusive shopping avenues and an easy walk to the theatres and main attractions. Bus stop to the airport just across the pad but there is also a taxi rank in front of the hotel. Breakfast was varied and very good and restaurant was the same for all-day dining. Staff were friendly and helpful. It is on a main road so there was traffic noise alth, as it was a constant, it didn't bother me at all. Only minor downside was there didn't appear to be any room service except for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Excelsior Hilton Palermo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a nice-looking hotel in a good location in Palermo. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, suggesting a couple of nearby restaurants and kindly allowing me to leave a car outside for one night. The building has an old-world charm about it, lots of wood and brass. Its on what is essentially a large roundabout, so is noisy as the windows and shutters don't seal effectively but it was not too big a deal for us as we were exhausted by the end of each day; if you are concerned maybe ask for an inside room facing the loggia. They have a nice bar area as well, with a happy hour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Excelsior Hilton Palermo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Sean,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

In a city that sems to think polite service is an "extra", the service here was very refreshing. Hard working staff who pay attention to details....especially a girl called Olga....so helpful. Room and bathroom were on the small side but perfectly adequate. Great location, at the start of the main shopping street in Palermo and lots of sites and restaurants within easy walking distance. Sightseeing tour was good way of getting bearings in a busy city centre. Breakfasts in the hotel were good, nothing too fancy but all buffet tables were well stocked. Not sure what is going on with the main restaurant....had dinner one evening but felt the food didn't quite live up to expectations. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get room with view to front of hotel....not so noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Excelsior Hilton Palermo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Hilton Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hilton Palermo

Address: Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90144 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Palermo
#24 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Hilton Palermo 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Palace Hotel is located in the Liberty style area of the city and is surrounded by the English Garden, Villa Garibaldi, Villa Trabia, close to the shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Excelsior Hilton Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Hilton Palermo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.