We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Palermo Excelsior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Palermo Excelsior to your Saves list
Mercure Palermo Excelsior
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90141 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Excelsior Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Nantwich, Cheshire, UK
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Old world style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful converted palazzo, situated on upmarket shopping street. Easy walk into town along the pleasant avenue lined with pricey boutiques (although there is a good supermarket in easy reach on the right as you walk into town - about 5 mins from the hotel) with lots and lots to see. Our room was fabulous - separate sitting room and beautiful bathroom - we had a corner room overlooking the English Garden and the room was surprisingly quiet considering how busy the avenue is, thanks to the shutters. The room was spotless and all the furnishings were exactly as you would expect from the brand and in keeping with the building.

Breakfast was nice, fantastic coffee and local food as well as your standard breakfast table stuff. There was a rather strange selection of music playing, but it provided us with a bit of a chuckle to start the day with.

All the staff we had contact with were very polite and helpful - especially reception who gave us maps for town and helped with buses to go to Monreale (really worth the trip...but so was the centre of town - just beautiful architecture and some amazing churches) as well as restaurant recommendations and help with my phrase book italian.

The Prestia e Commande bus for the airport stops right opposite the hotel (English Garden stop), it will save you a bit of a walk from Politeama which is the major stop at this end of town.

We ate (twice! Unheard of for us....) at Le Volte, just a few streets up on the right (via Agrigento - 3 or 4 mins from the hotel). The food was just a perfect end to our tour around Sicily...easily the best food we ate on our trip.

All in all, a good experience at the hotel - enough consistency came with the brand, but there was enough individuality with a very sympathetic conversion of a stunning building to make it a lovely hotel and one I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Mercure Palermo Excelsior, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    307
    118
    46
    25
See reviews for
96
284
33
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a well located, city hotel from which it's easy to reach other parts of the city - although we'd recommend buses and walking rather than driving! All the staff were very helpful and the place is pretty well equipped for city visiting.
Our room was on the side away from the main avenue and well insulated from the almost constant traffic noise, and was nicely equipped with sofa and bathroom with separate shower. The only irritating thing was really the inaccessibility of the internet - we were without laptop, and the business centre PCs were not available for free surfing. We more or less managed without it, but you don't expect to at a Hilton.
The staff were good with restaurant directions and recommendations and help with instructions on how to reach various parts of the city.

Room Tip: Go for one at the back of the hotel, away from the main avenue - it will be much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Mercure Palermo Excelsior, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A converted palazzo. Room was spacious, well-equipped and comfortable with a small balcony too. Bathroom had a separate walk-in shower unit as well as a bath. Hotel is well located on one of the main, more exclusive shopping avenues and an easy walk to the theatres and main attractions. Bus stop to the airport just across the pad but there is also a taxi rank in front of the hotel. Breakfast was varied and very good and restaurant was the same for all-day dining. Staff were friendly and helpful. It is on a main road so there was traffic noise alth, as it was a constant, it didn't bother me at all. Only minor downside was there didn't appear to be any room service except for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Mercure Palermo Excelsior, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a nice-looking hotel in a good location in Palermo. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, suggesting a couple of nearby restaurants and kindly allowing me to leave a car outside for one night. The building has an old-world charm about it, lots of wood and brass. Its on what is essentially a large roundabout, so is noisy as the windows and shutters don't seal effectively but it was not too big a deal for us as we were exhausted by the end of each day; if you are concerned maybe ask for an inside room facing the loggia. They have a nice bar area as well, with a happy hour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Mercure Palermo Excelsior, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Sean,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

In a city that sems to think polite service is an "extra", the service here was very refreshing. Hard working staff who pay attention to details....especially a girl called Olga....so helpful. Room and bathroom were on the small side but perfectly adequate. Great location, at the start of the main shopping street in Palermo and lots of sites and restaurants within easy walking distance. Sightseeing tour was good way of getting bearings in a busy city centre. Breakfasts in the hotel were good, nothing too fancy but all buffet tables were well stocked. Not sure what is going on with the main restaurant....had dinner one evening but felt the food didn't quite live up to expectations. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get room with view to front of hotel....not so noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Mercure Palermo Excelsior, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Good location, pleasant staff, good sized rooms, and reasonable rates. However, carpets in halls and rooms very much in need of cleaning. Mold in bath. Breakfast buffet nice (E30) but be aware that the al a carte menu on the table is in addition to the price of the buffet. Severaal restaurants nearby offering good value, tasty meals.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Mercure Palermo Excelsior, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The first part of October we stayed three nights at the Excelsior Hilton in Palermo. We liked the location, although it wasn't in the middle of all the tourist sights, but was an easy walk to places we wanted to visit. The rooms were clean, large and comfortable and we had wonderful service...an ironing board was brought to our room immediately and we were able to get extra towels without question. There was a woman at the front desk named Celine, who went out of her way to be helpful. She suggested two wonderful restaurants and was patient giving us directions. The breakfast was included at the room rate and the selection of food was outstanding. They even had gluten free bakery products marked. The latte and hot chocolate bar was popular and the people working there were efficient. We were disappointed in the cost for wifi. That was the first hotel we had to pay for wifi,after spending weeks in southern Italy and Sicily. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there if we visit Palermo again.
One thing that bothered me.....the carpet from the first to second floor was really dirty/worn and the furniture in the lobby by the stairs was worn, also. I know that it is minor, but didn't leave a good impression.

Room Tip: Try to get one room on the park side of the hotel. It was noisy on the street. We were right above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Mercure Palermo Excelsior, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear nancygSea,
we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Best Regards
Filippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mercure Palermo Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Palermo Excelsior

Address: Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90141 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Excelsior Palace Hotel)
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Palermo
#24 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#24 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Palermo Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Palermo Excelsior is located in the Liberty style area of the city and is surrounded by the English Garden, Villa Garibaldi, Villa Trabia, close to the shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Venere and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Palermo Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Mercure Palermo Excelsior Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Palermo Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.