We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tonic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tonic to your Saves list
Hotel Tonic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mariano Stabile, 126, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Politeama)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Good location and transport connection: airport bus stop is just 2 minutes away, car rental agency at the same street. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly, there is even some sort of info-board with weather forecast and useful sightseeing information. Breakfast are delicious, there are fruits, good coffee, fresh bread and pastry, one day even ricotta cake (traditional and my favourite). And some ham and cheese for those of us, who are not used to italian style of breakfast. Room was big and clean. Wifi works. One thing to improve: kettle in each room :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    208
    79
    24
    12
See reviews for
72
171
33
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have stayed here several times the location is key...easy access from main road ...newly renovated and now even better.. great value for money...very comfortable beds..large rooms. .kettle and hair dryer..great staff cannot fault in any way.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Central location and helpful staff. I found shower impossible to use without flooding the bathroom and there were not the usual toiletries.However the bedroom was pleasant and comfortable bedroom and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed at the Tonic before and after our Rick Steves Tour in October. Location is excellent, staff was very pleasant and the accommodations were large and clean. Our suite was spacious and very comfortable. Upon arrival, we were surprised with a bottle of wine. Although simply appointed, the room had everything to make us feel right at home. We stayed on both the first and fourth floors. Breakfast was yummy and even included cannoli on a few occasions. We used the airport bus and train system which was easy to navigate with the location of this hotel. Why pay high premiums when you can stay here at a reasonable cost? Thank you Hotel Tonic. I hope to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Hotel Tonic is centrally located in Palermo, within walking distance of the main site and the bus station with connections to the airport (20 miles away). Good breakfast, room was very spacious but we arrived a day early for a Rick Steves tour and were assigned a suite instead of a standard room.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at the Tonic a total of 4 nights - 3 at the beginning of our tour of Sicily and one at the end. The staff could not have been more helpful. Before we got to Sicily we had to notify them of 3 transfer changes - due to air strikes in Milan. We ended up cancelling all transfers and got a taxi at PMO - arriving at 1:30 am. We had a big, comfortable, quiet room. The next morning we had a great breakfast and a good bit of assistance planning our day. The night we returned to the Tonic, we had a beautiful room and were greeted early in the am with packed breakfast to take to the airport. We will return.

Room Tip: The Klimt room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff, good breackfast, comfortable room, hotel located close to all main visiting places, surprize with small present from a hotel. Very easy to find from main train station (go on Via Roma about 12 min)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tonic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tonic

Address: Via Mariano Stabile, 126, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tonic 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tonic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Palermo
Hotel Tonic Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tonic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.