We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average dining experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ottava Nota

L'Ottava Nota
Via Butera, 55 | Palermo, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
+39 091 616 8601
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,255 Restaurants in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $39 - $56
Cuisines: Italian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Ehrendingen, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“average dining experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

we expected a lot after having had wonderfull meals in Palermo at lower ranked restaurants. the location is nice and modern. the food was unfortunately only avarage. one of the main courses was delivered 20 minutes later than all other without any apology or explanation. we left without coffee or desert and were not even asked by the waiters. if you want to spend an exceptional evening and receive a real sicilian service than go somewhere else. would certainly not recommend the place.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    133
    32
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at a hotel right next to the restaurant called Abattelis Luxury, which was also very good and struck lucky having this as the closest restaurant.

Really excellent restruant and service. Had dinner twice and everything good. Fish and pasta in particular, also recommend the canolo for dessert. It was a full every night mid week so a reservation is probably required.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were staying over the road at Butera28 so the location could not have been better. The ambiance and service were excellent. The food was pretty good. Perhaps we could have order better as some of the dishes were too rich.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Fine dining in a very attractive space! We liked L'ottava nota so much that we dined there twice during our 8 night stay in Palermo. The food is delicious and creative, the service is attentive and professional, waiters are friendly and very knowledgeable about everything on the menu as well as how the food is prepared. The decor is sleek and modern yet the chairs are really comfortable. For appetizers we had macco of fava beans with baby squid and fresh ricotta - loved it. A soup of pureed spinach with mozzarella di bufala was impeccably made, so purist and so delicious. Both the paccheri with scallops and the tagliatelle with funghi and asparagi and Sicilian white truffle were scrumptious. The carpaccio of spigola with tomato, rugola, capers and pine nuts was an interesting twist on the usual version of fish carpaccio, as the other ingredients made it into something distinctly Sicilian. Everything is made in house, except the bread which is very very good. The wine list is impressive and it's possible to find inexpensive good wines. The cannoli were a fine finish to both meals. I would describe the cuisine as creative Sicilian rather than deconstructed -- more as a reinterpretation of Sicilian classics. If this restaurant were in New York, with these prices, L'ottava nota would have to expand its space to accommodate the crowd.
Complimenti allo Chef e grazie a tutti, da Marta e Stefano.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Wish we had found it sooner during our trip. Fabulous food and great service.
Don't miss it, go and indulge your palate.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ottava Nota also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to L'Ottava Nota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ottava Nota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.