We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Sicilian cook” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa San Giovanni degli Eremiti

Villa San Giovanni degli Eremiti
Vicolo San Mercurio 26/32, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
3298677551
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 1,255 Restaurants in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Sicilian cook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I went to palermo this summer with my wife and we found this restaurant next to our apartment. It was so delicious that we went there three times to eat their typical pizzas and pastas.
Moreover, the holders of the restaurant were very cool and helped us to choose the meal.
5/5

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    85
    25
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The ladies who sold us tickets to see the church of San Giovanni degli Eremiti (worth seeing) recommended this place to us. It was our first full day in Sicily, and we'd spent hours in the Palatine Chapel (nearby) as well as the little church. The owner was gracious about recommending typical dishes to try, all of which were excellent. It looked like the main seating area was outside, but the weather was chilly and stormy, so we stayed in the intimate but very comfortable interior. This was good food at a good price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

A little restaurant in the middle storic center of palermo. We ate a very good pizza capricciosa and an excellent"pasta fresca", busiate alla trapanese, with shrimps, zucchini and sword fish. Excellent place and fast service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Sicilian Food from sea food to the meat and Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I liked to be guided thought the menu from the owner that has so much enthusiasm in what he created in the center of historical center of Palermo. They have many kinds of home made pasta and a very gorgeous menu.
I recommend to ask about their Pan Pizza instead of regular bread because is delicious with their antipasti (colorful and fresh)
Location is hidden in a beautiful garden close to St. John Of Hermits Gardens and near the Cappella Palatina of the King palace.
Only one note: Check the items you ordered in your final receipt and be clear in what you want to order. It happens that they are so busy to bring you stuff you haven't ordered and then you have to eat it :-)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best pasta I had in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is a small family onwed restaurant that produces hand made pasta.
It is close to Capela Palatina
Don't miss it if you are in this área.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa San Giovanni degli Eremiti also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Villa San Giovanni degli Eremiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa San Giovanni degli Eremiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.