We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Massimo Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Massimo Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Massimo Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Maqueda 437, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Event tickets
Ranked #3 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon and were upgraded and treated to free Proseco as a nice surprise. The staff are very courteous and helpful. My wife had a problem with her eye and the hotel staff even offered to accompany us to help at the medical centre. Breakfast was generous and served each morning in the room. For 11 euros there is access to a nice private beach including transport. Nothing to do with the hotel but be wary of the guys outside offering hirse and cart rides, they are crooks and will try and rip you off! Fully recommend hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    76
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
28
134
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We arrived at the airport and took the bus service to the city; we got off at the Theatre/plaza stop and walked up the street on Via Maqueda and took a left going away from the plaza. The hotel was a short 5 minute walk at best right in front of the theatre. Upon arrive we were greeted with very nice staff and they showed us to our room. The room was great - clean and just what we needed. The breakfast service was really good as well. Overall the staff knew us by name and were ready to answer any of our questions. The shuttle service to the beach was a plus as well and a must do. The location is great as well because of bars and eateries that are a block behind the hotel. The area offered a great evening for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Very friendly staff. Comfortable clean room. Staff delivered our rental car to us upon our departure. We had a bit of a problem with the WIFI and it took 1.5 days for the hotel to fix. They felt bad about that and delivered a tray of fruit and prosecco to our room while we were out. AC was good which is not always true in Italy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel is great if you don't have bags - You can't get close to it with a car or a taxi. It's a closed street most of the time and therefore you have to walk with your bags from the taxi stand or where you leave your car. The room was comfortable, but the WI-FI was out for most of our stay, and I doubt it ever really works well. The staff were the best thing about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed for seven nights at the Massimo Plaza Hotel for our honeymoon in Sicily. We had a lovely big room and view of the opera house. We had rose petals on the bed and a bottle of prosecco waiting for us on arrival!

The staff were so friendly and helpful. I unluckily got a very bad eye infection after a stone hit my eye. They helped arrange a doctor to visit the hotel and help me. They were genuinely concerned and in the next few days when I was in pain were very kind to me. We really felt looked after.

The breakfast is served to your room at a time of your choosing. There was lots of choice. I was full up every day until the evening! The room was kept very clean and we were provided with dressing gown and slippers to use.

The hotel is on a busy street but it is quiet at night with the balcony doors closed. The air conditioning kept us nice and cool at night.

If you want to go to the beach the hotel arrange a minibus to and from the beach, sun lounger and parasol at a fenced off beach for €11 each. It is well worth the trip. There are lots of beach sellers and so better to be in the private bit...although a few still try and sell things to you.

There were lots of nice restaurants nearby. It was a pleasure each evening to return to our lovely hotel for a coffee or beer. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. We enjoyed staying at the Massimo Plaza Hotel. Thank you to the staff who looked after us.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

A wonderful stay in a very nice hotel right opposite the Teatro, the pedestrian street t runs past the door and hop on hop off bus and taxis right outside. The staff were exceptional and helped carry our bags up the stairs. You need to advise staff approx. time for breakfast - either in the dining room or your hotel room. Individually cooked hot scrambled eggs the morning we were there - delicious. A very well organised team of staff who provide wonderful service. Our room was beautiful and very quiet as it was not looking over the Teatro building.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We spent four nights at the Massimo Plaza and were delighted with the location, the friendly and helpful staff, and the overall quality of the experience. I would certainly recommend it for anyone looking for a central place in Palermo.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Massimo Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massimo Plaza Hotel

Address: Via Maqueda 437, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palermo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#1 Business Hotel in Palermo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#3 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Massimo Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room with Teatro Massimo view! ...Located in the heart of the historical center a few minutes from all monumental and artistical attractions of Palermo, Massimo Plaza is a boutique hotel de charme, where each detail is designed to give comfort and make your stay enjoyable. The access of the hotel is a precious stairway, made of marble "Red Ammonite", with obvious Ammonite fossils typical of buildings erected at the end of the seventeenth century in Palermo. The rooms are all provided with air conditioning, SKY TV LED, free wi-fi, minibar and safe. The warm colors and the the impeccable finishes create an atmosphere that pampers the customer to whom is reserved a personalized welcome. The superior rooms have a balcony overlooking the theatre. Breakfast is customized and it is served in the room. Fresh food for celiacs and for other food intolerances. All the staff of Massimo Plaza, friendly and professional, is at your disposal 24 hours on 24. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Massimo Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massimo Plaza Palermo
Hotel Massimo Plaza
Massimo Plaza Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Massimo Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.