We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest small hotels we've stayed at.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Massimo Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Massimo Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Massimo Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Maqueda 437, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Event tickets
Ranked #3 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the nicest small hotels we've stayed at.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a very small hotel with excellent service and in a convenient location. The staff was very helpful. The room was comfortable and even though it was on a busy street, very quiet. Our plan included breakfast, which we had delivered to our room. It arrived on time every day and was quite enjoyable. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasPalermo, Direttore at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Massimo Plaza Hotel for your stay in Palermo and it was really a pleasure to welcome you among our clients.
A heartfelt and sincere "Thank you" for the wonderful comments You wrote. Our goal is just to give you an unforgettable experience to our guests and we are very pleased to know we were able to meet your expectations.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    74
    19
    12
    6
See reviews for
28
129
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

A perfectly located, charming small hotel. It feels like family and coming home when you enter the hotel from the bustling streets of Palermo. Nicely appointed, clean rooms, friendly, personalized service. If you look for absolute tranquility, this may not be the most suitable hotel (especially at weekends). There is outdoor activity galore until late in the night, and you may hear some of these activities in your room.No fitness center, but you can easily jog down to the harbor and along the park, then return to your hotel in 30-35 minutes.
I would return without hesitation to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasPalermo, Direttore at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Lucas,
thank you for your review. We are really happy that you enjoyed staying in our hotel. We hope to have you again as our guest in a possible stay in Palermo. I take this opportunity to extend best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palencia, Spain
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Massimo Plaza hotel It´s a quiet hotel in the center of Palermo (just in front of Massimo Teather). Room was very clean. Staff was very nice and helpful. They have also a parking near the hotel, if you travel by car :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasPalermo, Direttore at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the wonderful comment that avevte dedicated to our hotel. Thanks for choosing to publicly share your experience. It 'been a pleasure to have made your acquaintance and all the staff hopes to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This small and lovely hotel is situated in the main square of Palermo, right in front of the magnificient Teatro Massimo. The atmosphere was very good, the rooms and the service very elegant! Staff kind and attentive. We loved the continental breakfast served in the large and confortable room!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasPalermo, Direttore at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guests,
all the staff of the Massimo Plaza Vs thanks you for your wonderful review.
It 'been a pleasure for us to have even made ​​the Vs knowledge and we are happy to have learned that the stay was of your acceptance. We hope to be able riospitare soon.
Cordially.
The Staff and Management of the Massimo Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I'm stay here for my honeymoon. My room has a romantic atmosphere, there were petals and flowers and with a wiew on the theatre. Breakfast in the room was fantastic, with sweet and salt too. Staff very friendly and helpfull. We will came back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasPalermo, Direttore at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guests,
all the staff of the Massimo Plaza We send a sincere "Thank you" for the wonderful review you wrote. Our goal is just to give you moments and unforgettable experience to our guests and we are very pleased to learn that we were able to meet your expectations.
We sincerely hope to have you again to welcome the Massimo Plaza Hotel as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very close proximity to the bars/nightlife in Palermo and next door to quite a few restaurants. The staff (Anna I think?) were quite nice and helpful.
Upon entering the hallway off of which the guest rooms are located, there was a very strong stench of air freshener. The room was no different, and it was almost suffocating. We opened the window to try and let in some fresh air, but between the noise of the busy street and the need for air conditioning, it was futile. I realized that they actually had something like a Glade Plug-in in the wall, and unplugged it.
Unfortunately, taking a shower the next day generated a sewage smell. We mentioned this to the front desk, and I'm not sure if they attended to it. However, when we returned later the room had been cleaned, and smelled more strongly than ever of air freshener. A bit of advice: a clean room should smell of nothing. I know that this is probably difficult to achieve in an older hotel that is packed into the city, and I feel for them. Still, it was quite unpleasant for us.
Having read other reviews of the property mentioning an LED shower and sound proofed windows, I cannot vouch for those. We could hear neighbors (presumably outside of the hotel) singing into the wee hours of the morning one night. And as mentioned before, the shower was in need of tweaking--I didn't bother showering our second day there, for fear that I would come out less clean than when I went in.
I hope that they get these problems sorted out. This was a honeymoon trip that ended on my birthday, and I hoped for better. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasPalermo, Direttore at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guests,
We truly regret in having learned only in retrospect your unpleasant discomfort that there could be experienced with a positive stay. We are even more disappointed to not being able to help even just changing the room, which would have been possible if it had we been aware of. We hope for a future stay you can experience an unforgettable experience in our hotel, as well as you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We indicated that we were a honeymoon couple and the wonderful staff at Massimo had decorated the room with rose petals and had some spumante and chocolates ready for us when we arrived. A lovely, big, clean room, excellent sound-proofed windows so we had a terrace facing the hustle and bustle but none of the noises keeping you awake at night. The piece de resistance was the LED shower - a great, huge, powerful shower with a head that changes colours - everything about the place felt like a quietly confident celebration. Polite and friendly staff, breakfast served to bedroom. Bus outside the door that drops you to the main station so no need to drag the bags. Close to everything, we went walking at midnight for a brioche and there was plenty of life around. I could not find fault. Would recommend and would stay again. Thank you for a lovely start to our life together Hotel Massimo :)

Room Tip: We were facing the street but the windows were soundproofed so I imagine any room is a good choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasPalermo, Direttore at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guests,
dedicate a 'particular attention to the "honeymoon" is one of the services that characterizes our hotel. The attention to detail, the pleasure of giving a "surprise" emotional, which surely will be etched for a lifetime, is the must of our hospitality. All staff thanks you for the wonderful words that you have dedicated to our hotel and wanting for to publicly share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Massimo Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massimo Plaza Hotel

Address: Via Maqueda 437, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palermo
#1 Business Hotel in Palermo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#3 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Massimo Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room with Teatro Massimo view! ...Located in the heart of the historical center a few minutes from all monumental and artistical attractions of Palermo, Massimo Plaza is a boutique hotel de charme, where each detail is designed to give comfort and make your stay enjoyable. The access of the hotel is a precious stairway, made of marble "Red Ammonite", with obvious Ammonite fossils typical of buildings erected at the end of the seventeenth century in Palermo. The rooms are all provided with air conditioning, SKY TV LED, free wi-fi, minibar and safe. The warm colors and the the impeccable finishes create an atmosphere that pampers the customer to whom is reserved a personalized welcome. The superior rooms have a balcony overlooking the theatre. Breakfast is customized and it is served in the room. Fresh food for celiacs and for other food intolerances. All the staff of Massimo Plaza, friendly and professional, is at your disposal 24 hours on 24. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Massimo Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massimo Plaza Palermo
Hotel Massimo Plaza
Massimo Plaza Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Massimo Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.