We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern but compact rooms. Good location for shopping.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Principe di Villafranca to your Saves list
Hotel Principe di Villafranca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G. Turrisi Colonna 4, 90141 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Politeama)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Modern but compact rooms. Good location for shopping.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Located not far from the main street, but a taxi or bus ride (101) to the historic area.
Nice, although small lobby and lounge/bar area.
Can be a little delay processing a tour group.
Staff very helpful when not under queue pressure.
The elevator is very slow, so use the stairs if there is a queue. The porter will carry up your cases.

We stayed for three nights in two rooms. One was minute, the other was OK but compact.
The proximity door key works well.
The rooms look to have been refurbished not too long ago.
Nice KS bed with a thick mattress although still a little too firm for us.
Very good lighting level but no clock, radio or night light, (Actually our room was lit by a street light - but this may not suit everyone.)
No coat hooks and only one case stand as usual. (Why do hotel designers always assume couples travel with only one suitcase?)
Minimal desk space and only one chair. So it's either the laptop or dressing table. Not both.
Would have been nice to have the mirror over the table as well as inside the wardrobe.
A small safe is in the wardrobe and there is a small stocked fridge. Bar price list.
Small digital TV with a few channels in English. No TV channel guide.(Found BBC news on 39.)
The airconditioning was very effective without much air noise.
No tea/coffee making facilities.
The room was very quiet at night except for the random plumbing sounds from nearby rooms and noisy guests in the corridor.
WiFi in every room and costs 3-10euro for up to 24 hours total time on line.

The ensuite was big enough and had some very cool looking plumbing. Seven towels supplied.
Then the problems emerged. The wash basin has no plug, so it was tricky to do any clothes washing.
If you accidently turn on the tap to full, the water splashes over the side onto the floor.
The overhead rain-shower forces you to wash your hair. The hand-held shower sometimes falls off its holder. There is no shelf for soap/shampoo. (I don't think the designer has ever taken a shower.)
The clothes hooks are a little joke. Everything just falls off.
There are no rails for large wet towels, so they remain wet should we want to re-use them.

We had breakfast here every morning. No hot dishes but the rest quite good. Other set meals were just average. We did not use the a la carte restaurant.
Inspite of these little problems, which are common to many hotels, we did enjoy our stay here.

Room Tip: Go for level 1, at the end of a corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Executive Assistant at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience at Hotel Principe di Villafranca with the other members of the Tripadvisor community.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property, its location just off the main street of Palermo, and a close distance to the historical city centre, the helpfulness of our personnel and our breakfast service. We would like to thank you for the suggestions pertaining how to improve the room and bathroom comfort even more - we will take them into great account for next season! On the other hand we are sorry that you experienced trouble with the wash basin and did not ask our staff for assistance, we would have been delighted to show you how the plug worked. Moreover, on your next visit to our hotel, make sure you enjoy our hot dishes, which are made on request and included in our breakfast rate.
We really do look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Principe di Villafranca and in the meawhile would like to send you our best regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    106
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
95
10
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stood 3 days in this hotel with my girlfriend and we had a splendide stay!

++:
* We found a really price in a low cost webpage
* The reception personnel was very kind, they gave us a lot of advice and helped us finding how to get to our next destination (they all speak french, english, spanish and italian), finding good restaurants and giving us advice concerning the visits
* the breakfast was good
* The room was very very nice, very stylish, clean and modern
* the location is very good, the neirborhood is calm

- - :
* The internet conection was not included in the price, so we had to pay for it (not much but still)
* there is no swimming pool :p

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Executive Assistant at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your stay experience with other travellers from the Tripadvisor community.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at our property from all points of view, from hotel location to room confort, from breakfast service and products to staff friendliness and politeness. We really hope to have you again as our guest on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo - as you underlined, we are a city hotel and do not have a pool, still during the summer months we offer guests the possibility to purchase a special beach voucher issued in cooperation with the private beach area in Mondello Valdesi, so that you will be able to enjoy the beauty of Mondello beach and a wonderful city stay at the same time!
We really look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Principe di Villafranca!
Best regards
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have a very good deal for a two days stay, and could not believe it when we entered into the room:it was luxury to us..very comfortable,and the decoration was of good taste. We fell very good during the stay. The advice at reception was good,the personel spoke english and french. We went for a day at mondello with one of the hotels' offers (including the transportation and space on a private beach): we had a great time at low cost. We also followed the personel's advice on sites worth a visit in Palermo.
The breakfast was not the best i have ever had in a hotel but it was not bad at all, and we could chose among various dishes

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Executive Assistant at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
what a pleasure to read your wonderful review!
We are so glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and style at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, and that you found our rooms comfortable and elegant. We are also very happy that you found our staff helpful and well-skilled, and that you enjoyed a pleasant day at Mondello beach purchasing our beach voucher!
As to our breakfast service, we are glad you enjoyed our sweet and savory buffet offering a wide variety of local, fresh specialties, but as it was not yet the best breakfast you've ever had, we will strive to improve our service even more so that when we will have the pleasure to have you again as our guest on your next visit to Palermo you will finally be able to say that our breakfast has no equals!
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards
Giulia Briguglia,
Executive Assistant, Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly, Switzerland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. On arrival we were a bit surprised that there was no available parking for our car, however, this was solved by parking on the street, I'm not so sure how happy I would have felt had it been my own car, but the economy rental car attracted no unwanted attention.
The welcome was unfortunately not warm at all and whenever we met personnel in the hallways they never greeted us. I was not happy about our room being for a disabled person with a wheelchair and when I questioned this at reception, I was answered with "well you requested a deluxe room", which seemed to answer my unspoken questions about, "why weren't we told", "can we change", etc. We had our booking confirmation with us and I had to rectify the fact that we were charged for Wi-Fi and ask where the complimentary water, kettle, tea, etc was. It's not the end of the world but it felt as if the people running the hotel don't care enough to make it the best possible experience for their guests.
Breakfast was a dismal affair, dark room with a surly manager who lurked about the whole time never greeting guests. Tablecloths were dirty, orange juice was industrial and everything seemed lackadaisical. Only one person had a bit of up and go in them at reception and I forgot to ask his name. Also, I found the hotel to be too far from the main attractions and with the public transport system being what it is in Palermo I would choose something more central next time, possibly a B&B where the owners care about the guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Executive Assistant at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your review.
Reviews like yours really leave us with a sense of loss – in spite of what you have thought during your stay, we put a really big effort in making every stay the best possible experience for each guests, and if a guest leaves with such an opinion about the hotel and its whole staff, we must apologize both with the guest and with ourselves, because we betrayed our mission and goals.
That said, we wish to give some specific feedback about some issues you raise.
As to parking, we are currently refurbishing our garage and that means that the availability of parking spaces is reduced – this entails that some guests who have not specifically requested a parking space may be advised to use the public parking areas in front of the hotel because there are no more available parking spaces. With a view to this, let me highlight that we are located in one of the most exclusive and safe neighborhoods of the city.
We apologize for the bad impression you got from our staff – it would be just too easy to say that all feedback we get both from personal experience and other guests is very good: if you have experienced otherwise, that means that there is still work to be done in order to achieve our goals. For example, you would have deserved a more thorough explanation about your room: two of the three deluxe rooms, which are among the largest rooms in the whole hotel, have been equipped to suit the needs of disabled people. This means they have the right sizes to welcome a person on a wheelchair, and that bathrooms are specifically equipped in this respect. That said, there is no difference between them and the other deluxe room: they all feature very large spaces, high-quality amenities, marble bathrooms – in a nutshell, they are all among the best rooms in the hotel. We never warn any guest about the presence of some specific measures for the disabled because we believe that this aspect does not make them second choice rooms. As to the lack of coffee/tea making facilities, we have personally verified that at present they are in place in all deluxe rooms, so during your stay they must have been removed for cleaning and never placed back and we apologize for that.
We also apologize for the bad impression you got about the breakfast service, which is another aspect we put a lot of effort upon: we will use your comments during our next department meeting in order to review and improve this part of the hotel service. With a view to the breakfast products, we just wish to highlight that in summer we only have orange juice available because it is not the best season for oranges – in winter, instead, we also serve fresh orange squash.
As to the hotel location, it is quite strange that you did find it not central enough: the via Libertà area is really the heart of Palermo, being the most elegant shopping district, filled also with the best restaurants and wine bars. It is also very unusual to hear that it was too far from the main attractions: the vast majority of historical attractions is located a reasonable walk from the hotel and can be reached using very frequent bus lines such as 101.
We would sincerely like to thank you for your comments – they will be vital for us to improve our standards.
We hope that we will have the occasion to have you as our guest again and let you experience our improvement.
Best regards
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Arrived at 21.45 to be greeted by friendly receptionist. Dinner had been saved for us; grateful but food was very average as was the breakfast the next morning.
The bed was comfortable but there was no mirror in bedroom, and only one mirror in bathroom and no shelf space.
Public places were beautifully decorated with marble carvings and nice sofas.
OK for one night but no more.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Executive Assistant at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for sharing your opinion with the other travellers of the Tripadvisor community.
We would like to thank you on behalf of our staff for complimenting about their friendliness – we are also very glad you enjoyed our public areas and their decoration.
As to the bedroom, we will take good note of your remarks – for a future stay, try one of the superior category rooms, which we are sure you will find comfortable also for long stays.
We are also very sorry to read that the breakfast did not completely satisfy you: we are currently reviewing and improving our breakfast standards in order to be able to increase our guests’ satisfaction, so we are sure that on your next stay you will find we have really worked hard on your remarks!
In the end, we apologize for your dinner, which did not match your expectations – this is truly the first time we do not hear an enthusiastic comment about the restaurant cuisine, so please be sure we will share this information with the Restaurant Manager in order to improve standards and service even more!
We look forward to having you as our guest in the future!
Best regards,
Giulia Briguglia,
Executive Assistant, Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, and were incredibly underwhelmed after reading a lot of good reviews. Breakfast was horrible, for a hotel of this price they could do much better with the choice of food. Holiday Inn Express is as good as this and costs less. We avoided it entirely the next day. The hotel restaurant also does not have any high chairs for infants which made it impossible to have breakfast properly as one person had to sit with the infant. Incredible that they have not invested a few euros on a couple of high chairs! The lift is the strangest and slowest contraption i have ever encountered. You have to hold down the button continuously to ascend/descend at turtle pace.... Wifi did not work in the rooms despite it costing EUR 7 per 4hrs (receptionist was kind to give us 1st 4hrs free, although we couldnt use it!). There are no views to speak of from the room, and the area immediately around is very gritty and uninspiring. For this price we had other nice options we could have chosen, and regret not having done so...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Executive Assistant at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Tripadvisor.
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay: in particular, we are extremely sorry and surprised to read that you found breakfast service was horrible. We put a lot of effort in selecting the best producers and products, in serving fresh, local food and making breakfast the best moment of every guest’s stay at the hotel and therefore we will take into great account your review and try and understand what went wrong during your stay. As to high chairs, we would like to thank you for your suggestion and guarantee that we will purchase them to offer to our guests for breakfast/restaurant service.
As to the other issues you raise in your review, we just wish to highlight that the lift that takes to the first and only floor of the hotel is a special model we have selected because it provides maximum safety for heavy loads (which is often the case with luggage), and that we are sorry you did not find it fitting to the purpose. We also regret that you have not enjoyed, and find “gritty and uninspiring”, our neighborhood, filled with fashion designer stores, small boutiques and shops, fancy restaurants and wine bars, and Liberty architectures.
We hope we will have the chance to have you again as our guest in the future in order to leave you with a different memory of our property.
In the meanwhile, we send you our best regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We fortunately only booked two nights at this hotel. Excellent it certainly is not. The reception staff have lost their smiles. The rooms are small and inadequate, lacking decent wardrobes. The furnishings with no arm chair are very basic. The bathroom is small. Three star and a reasonable price would have been OK but calling it a 4 1/2 star and charging high prices is not. The breakfast was unappealing. We moved onto the Grand Igea which was superb and at a cheaper price. Fantastic breakfast and lovely dining room with great views.
Out of town but with a shuttle to the centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Ms. Simpson,
Thank you for your review - we are sorry your stay experience with us did not match your expectations.
In vain would we say that our reception staff is well known among our guests for being helpful and cheerful. That your room was large and comfortable, as your bathroom, featuring a spacious mosaic shower, that the furniture you describe as not decent is a design wardrobe. That we wish not to offer our guests an armchair in their rooms because that is not part of our standards. That our breakfast, which you describe as unappealing, is based upon the best freshly baked products that you can find in any Palermo home, and features a plentiful hot and cold buffet, ranging from Sicilian cannoli to fried eggs with bacon. That our facilities and standards, professional service and first quality amenities make us completely deserving our star rating and pricing.
We would say that in vain because as a matter of fact you did not enjoy the style of the hotels, as you were probably looking for a different kind of experience, based on a rather more classical concept of luxury, as demonstrated by your further comments, while our property is a boutique design hotel and our concept of luxury is based on uniqueness, contemporary style and customized service.
We hope we can have the possibility of having you again with us as our guest for a next stay in Palermo – in the meanwhile, we send you our
Best regards
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Principe di Villafranca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Address: Via G. Turrisi Colonna 4, 90141 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#11 Business Hotel in Palermo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe di Villafranca 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Splendia so you can book your Hotel Principe di Villafranca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Villafranca Palermo
Principe Di Villafranca Hotel
Hotel Principe Di Villafranca Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Principe di Villafranca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.