We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite unusual experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanze al Genio

Stanze al Genio
Via Giuseppe Garibaldi, 11, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
+39 340 097 1561
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 256 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The museum is open year round for a visit but you must book your visit by email or phone. For reservations just call a few hours before the appointment and agree to the tour. The visits are carried out only in Italian / english.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quite unusual experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

It was like a pleasure adventure. The house where the collection is located looks almost like deserted place. You need to call doorbell and go through the corridors to the flat. The collection in regular flat where real people are living is pretty interesting but I would not say that it's wow experience. The main impression is the feeling of love and passion of collector for his hobby. Well worth to visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Stanze al Genio, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much, I hope to see you again soon. Yours sincerely Pio Mellina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    34
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
105 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“rare & beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

You would never know that this beautifully adorned home is hidden behind this tiny door and through the strange halls you will pass to find it. Although the price is a bit steep for what you see, it was worth it. The collection is vast and beautiful. The place is hard to find so look UP to see the sign above the wooden door. We went on a Saturday and there were no English speaking tours so luckily my boyfriend can understand Italian and could translate. Really, a can't miss!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Stanze al Genio, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much, I hope to see you again soon. Yours sincerely Pio Mellina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A must for tile lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We only went here because of the reviews on tripadvisor and were glad we did. I love tiles so was entranced, but my husband enjoyed it as well.

We had a personal guided tour that was very interesting and the collection of tiles is just beautiful.

It's amazing that the owner allows strangers into his home to view the collection. It's a very different experience to a normal museum and we really enjoyed it.

It's a perfect example of palermo really - on the outside it looks like a condemned building, on the inside its beautiful. You just never know what's inside.

Tip: ring the buzzer when its your tour time and they 'll let you upstairs

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Stanze al Genio, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much, I hope to see you again soon. Yours sincerely Pio Mellina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Museum Worth Your Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A small museum with a specific collection through which you can learn the history of Palermo. It's one hour of very beautiful, very interesting information led by an incredibly smart docent. Definitely worth your time and the discovery that comes with stepping into this magical little house.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Stanze al Genio, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much, I hope to see you again soon. Yours sincerely Pio Mellina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I discovered this place through a Palermitan friend. The Stanze al Genio are - at the moment - a collection of gorgeous Southern Italian floor tiles displayed over all the walls of an apartment housed in a 16th-century palace. The first impression is wonderful as the colourful tiles fill up your entire visual field. The courteous guide - because you have to book - takes you the details of tile-making in Southern Italy, the differences between Neapolitan sophisticated design and the taste of Palermitan high-bourgeoisie. It's quite informative, but the real pleasure is to walk by yourself through thousands of beautiful tiles. It's intimate and feels so different from Sicily's more traditional touristic routes. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Stanze al Genio, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much, I hope to see you again soon. Yours sincerely Pio Mellina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanze al Genio also viewed

 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Stanze al Genio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanze al Genio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.