We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. A Unique Treat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanze al Genio

Stanze al Genio
Via Giuseppe Garibaldi, 11 | Angolo Via Magione, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
+39 340 097 1561
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 217 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Reservations required!! The museum is open year round for a visit but you must book your visit by email or phone. For reservations just call a few hours before the appointment and agree to the tour. The visits are carried out only in Italian / english.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wow. A Unique Treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The "tile museum" of Palermo is one of the wonders of the city. Our guide, Claudio, was very knowledgeable and explained the history, source and derivation of the collection. It is not to be missed -- but make sure to call and arrange an appointment beforehand.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Stanze al Genio, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie mille, spero di rivederla presto :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    41
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little pearl hidden in Palermo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This attraction is not listed in any of the touristic maps of Palermo and yet it was our favorite one. We found it here on TripAdvisor and were very pleased with the visit. The collection of tiles is one of the largest in Europe, and it is indeed impressive (even if you're not specially interested in tiles...). Take the guided tour, as the explanations are indispensable, and the guides extremely qualified, enthusiastic and nice. The private home that hosts the collection is also delightful, and the whole visit is a trip to another era. Worth every second of our time!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Stanze al Genio, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie mille, spero di rivederla presto :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss this wonderful tile collection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

So glad we checked TripAdvisor before our visit to Palermo. This 'world class' tile collection is a fantastic attraction in Palermo!! Don't miss it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Stanze al Genio, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie mille, spero di rivederla presto :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“palermo highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It does not matter whether you are are interested in tiles or not.
You will be by the end of your visit.
We will never forget our visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Stanze al Genio, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much, I hope to see you again soon. Yours sincerely Pio Mellina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tile museum a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This visit was an absolute delight. We were able to have an English language tour with a delightful and knowledgable young man. His enthusiasm and knowledge were infectious though we needed no urging. The tiles are beautiful, covering the walls of the charming private home they are housed in. Not only are the displays lovely they are an important part of Siclian history, and it is wonderful to see them being preserved and documented. This is a world class collection and a priviledge to see.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Stanze al Genio, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much, I hope to see you again soon. Yours sincerely Pio Mellina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanze al Genio also viewed

 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Stanze al Genio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanze al Genio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.