We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but a bit "tired"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Astoria Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Monte Pellegrino 62, 90142 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Clean but a bit "tired"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with a tour group. The room was clean and the bathroom has been updated but the room was from the 80's and looking a bit tired. Service was good and although you could only get internet in their lobby. The restaurant served a good breakfast and dinner.

The area around the hotel is a bit ghetto like, although it did not feel unsafe. A 20 minute walk gets you to the main drag - via Liberto.

Room Tip: Possibly ask for a renovated room - the pictures on the web look newer than the room we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    112
    140
    111
    56
See reviews for
54
142
13
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

The Hotel is situated next door to a wholesale fruit market and apart from the smell the streets are littered with rubish and rotten fruit which you had to experience each time you left the hotel. For a Hotel that is rated as 4 STAR it is absolutley discraceful. The bathroom had mould in the tiles, we had dry rot in the walls, we booked a non smoking room which it wasn't and the carpets were filthy. After complaing and being told there were no other rooms we asked to be checked out and suddenly there were 6 rooms to choose from. We picked the best of a bad lot which was still below par.Unfortunately our next destination hotel couldn't take us 2 days early so we had to experience this disgrace of a hotel. The rooftop lounge and spa area wasn't existant as it had been under repair for the past 12 months. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL AS IT WILL SPOIL YOUR STAY IN PALERMO. I will attach photos once downloaded. .

Room Tip: All rooms were crap
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This hotel was chosen by tour we took. Spent three days there. The TV did not work, the electric plug was out of its socket, and the staff were not helpful, pretending not to understand English at the desk. Worst of all, when I was paying the taxes, they claimed that the 50E I just got from the bank hours before was not good, and they would not honor it. The hotel food was awful -- at least what we were served. It was a poor start on a 12 day tour of Sicily and Italy. Palermo is an ugly city, at least what I saw, but there were beautiful churches and of course, the Monreale.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Great food but average location, and no room wifi. Wifi is only in the lobby which makes it difficult for overseas travelers. Food was lovely especially breakfast - but the juice was just flavored water. Okay value. Location is not close to the city at all - have to drive or bus. Public transport limited. Lovely pizza restaurant down the road

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

The hotel itself was fine. A lot of the reviews were too harsh. The fruit market was not as close as stated by some reviewers, but the streets outside the hotel were pretty untidy. But it is Italy and in general there is a big rubbish problem. Ignore this and you'll thoroughly enjoy the siciliana experience.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haifa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We (a couple) stayed in the hotel with a grope tour so the hotel was not our choice. After receiving the name of the hotel, we read some of the critics and we were very disappointed.
When we arrived to the hotel we were very surprised. The room and the bathroom were very nice and clean. Our room was on the side of the fruit and vegetable market (on the 11th flour). The room was air-conditioned, the windows were closed at night so we didn't hear any noise. The view on the market from the balcony was very interesting.
Breakfast and especially dinner were testy and rich.
We were driven by the tour bus, to and from the hotel, so we can't tell about the location and the surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I must admit that I really disliked Palermo overall, which will probably influence this review. The city was filthy and smelled terrible. Traffic was also chaotic, I am from Portugal and we have a bad reputation when driving, but this was beyond belief.

The hotel itself is old, the hallways to the rooms were filthy with very old and dirty carpets.

The wifi worked well but was only available in the main lobby. We could use an ethernet cable in the room and it worked well tho, good thing I took my laptop with me.

Rooms were spacious but also very old, poorly decorated and the TV only had 4 or 5 working channels. Cleanliness was ok but could be better and the bathroom had a leaking shower which sprayed water everywhere when being used.

Staff was not helpful at all, arrogant and not pleasant with an exception to the mais which were very nice.

The location is also pretty bad, near the frui market, far from the center.

I will most certainly never go back.

Room Tip: I cannot imagine this hotel having a good room. My best advice is to look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Palace Hotel

Address: Via Monte Pellegrino 62, 90142 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Business-oriented 14-story Hotel situated downtown, 300 meters from Giacchery train station & 35 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Astoria Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Palace Palermo
Hotel Astoria Palace
Astoria Palace Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.