We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont eat here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Trabucco

Palazzo Trabucco
Via dei Bottai 24, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Palazzo Reale)
+39 091 326123
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #843 of 1,076 restaurants in Palermo
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Palazzo Reale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dont eat here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We tried the involtini and they were just not edible - the funky smell of the meat must have been the result of preheating them a couple of times before they were actually served. Antipasto rustico is made from canned vegetables mostly and they served three slices of prosciutto as beef carpaccio.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

27% Recommend
    10
    14
    21
    16
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Absolute recommodation, don't be irritated by the ranking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

First I was really irritated by all the negative reviews and the overall very bad ranking of this place. However, being in Palermo and standing in front of the restaurant hungry, we decided to give it a try and we have honestly not been disappointed at all! The house wine was really good and cheap (as nearly in every restaurant we'we been during the stay) and the pasta with seafood and meat dishes were also absolutely tasty. You should definitely try the Antipasti Rustico, a delicious mix of various local Antipasti. When we checked the restaurant on tripadvisor we could not believe our own eyes, seeing that it's almost on the very last place in the ranking of all restaurants in Palermo. I hope this review helps giving the restaurant and it's lovely staff (especially Niko - he has been very funny and friendly!) a real chance, regardless of the current position in the ranking.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We were walking and saw this restaurant looking very good and prommising. Me and my BF decided to have dinner in this restaurand but i wish we didn't! All started good, nice gentle waiter, good beer but when the food came I was very disapointed. Starter called tris fume (cost 8 eur!!!) was just a slice of 3 different smoked fishes in lemon juice. It was ok but 8 eur is just to much!! For main cours i decided to have griled fish. Like all people who usually eat fish I was expecting to get piece of fresh fish on plate but instead it was served 1 shrimp probably as decoration, 1 tiny piece of some fish that just had taset of grill and not fish and the best was something like squid but it was white, dry and I could not mastikate how hard it was and had no taste so i left my plate as i get it. My BF had ravioli and they were realy good but the portion was so small and cost much more than in orher restaurants. After main course we decided to leave and find some other place to eat!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Average for elsewhere but poor for Palermo”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Palermo has so many interesting places to eat, if you can find them. Unfortunately Palazzo Trabucco is not one of them. We had stopped by for a quick pizza one afternoon and it was OK so we decided to return a few nights later for dinner. To his credit, our young waiter was trying hard to please but there's only so much one can do. The dinners were uninspiring, the salads pitiful and the overall atmosphere was....well, just rather cold. The owner, who was in the place on both of our visits, never bothers to even make eye contact with the customers, let alone greet them or thank them for their business. That kind of nonchalance might be understandable if it's the middle of high season and the place is packed. But this was February, very low season, and few customers. You'd think they'd be happy to have you there. Maybe it would be better if they just simply closed during the winter and start fresh in the spring. Not recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avoid this place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We we're looking for somewhere to have a quick pizza on our last night in Sicily and we came across this place. Our experience was so bad that we we're compelled to post a review!

After sitting at the table we noticed a frosty atmosphere among the staff, which we soon found out was because the boss was criticising/shouting at the waiters and waitresses in front of everybody! We had to ask 3 times for someone to take our order. We ordered antipasto caldo to start. Don't order this. It was all deep-fried and overcooked and so everything tasted of fries.

The pizzas we ordered took 1 hour to come and then they were raw! We sent them back but then decided to just settle up and leave. So we paid for drinks and starter and the owner had the cheek to add a 1 euro cover!

The staff were all a bit clueless and unhelpful. We don't know if they were overworked, underpaid or just all having bad days! It was entertaining at first but it became annoying listening to the bickering over the sound of or rumbling stomachs!

We would recommend that if you don't like unhappy waiters, arguing staff, long waits and poor food then don't eat here! It was a disgrace to Italian culture and cuisine.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo Trabucco also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Palazzo Trabucco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Trabucco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.