We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis on the edge of Palermo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Belmonte 43, 90142 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Hull
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An oasis on the edge of Palermo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Quite difficult to find but once inside you are cushioned from the dirt and mayhem of Palermo. Fortunately an excellent shuttle service is provided to get you to and from the centre. The hotel is interesting and attractive and set in lovely grounds. Food and service all excellent. We had a suite which was huge but would have benefited from a balcony and sea view. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea for your recent visit to Palermo.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your evaluations about our Hotel.

We was delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure in the future to welcome you back to our Hotel.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    259
    101
    58
    38
See reviews for
138
431
23
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Very lovely hotel with large rooms and great views. Very clean and service was fantastic with not one complaint from us. The breakfast included was sensational, fresh and tasty. Wow, such an amazing place to stay in Palermo. The shuttle service was an extra bonus to our fantastic stay in Palermo.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your opinions about your experience in our Hotel.

We are very pleased to hear that you appreciated our rooms and the great sea view. Thank you also that you highlighted on the cleanliness of the Hotel and thank you for your kind comments about the service. Furthermore, we were happy to read that you liked our breakfast we serve every morning on the terrace of the Franca Florio Restaurant.

It is very important for us of assure to our guests the best services, comforts and hospitality, so when we receive such positive feedbacks for us it is the confirmation that we are succeeded in our aim.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, very soon.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

The hotel whilst grand is tired and in desperate need of funds to make it a hotel worthy of its self proclaimed 5 stars . This is not 5 stars maybe 3 . The grounds are tired and whilst reasonably kept you can see items need replacing. The tennis court was ... Well just a hard surface and totally run down . The pool was small but ok and the towels were threadbare. We had two rooms for our family of 4 . Both rooms were generous in size but upon opening the door you couldn't muss the smell of ruins coming from the bathroom whilst I think they were clean I just think the hotel is so in need of freshening up that some of these kinds to remove these smells . The breakfast was good the hotel also provided a shuttle which was great . The hotel has many pictures of the Olsen days where the hotel was perhaps truly grand but that was then and this us now . Would I stay there again ? . Would I recommend this hotel ? No - whilst the lure if the ocean looks great on the hotels website it's not actually as it seems with the docklands/ boat yard literally 100 metres to the right and the hotel being positioned in a ghetto area of Palermo . There are a few hotels in the CBD I would try first and maybe forgo the view of the ocean ... This is an honest and accurate review . The prices of this hotel you expect a minimum if a 4 star . This is not a 4 star . We ended up staying 2 nights and cancelling our 3 rd and to the hotels credit, They did refund the last night for both rooms which is rare.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write your impressions about your recent experience at The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that have been caused during your stay with us. Your observations are important and basic for us, to be able to grow and to improve our performances. Rest assured that the necessary steps will be taken to guarantee to our guests a better service.

We do hope that, perhaps, we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us once again.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Probably the best hotel in Palermo and with a fantastic history, there is much to commend this hotel.Dining was generally excellent, and our room, with a huge balcony and views to sea, wonderful. So nice to get away from some of the chaos and dirt in Palermo itself.
However, this hotel cannot get full marks. One evening, because the hotel was busy hosting weddings during the day, our service at dinner was very poor. We actually waited one and a half hours for our main course. Many were complaining and the waiting staff seemed powerless to do anything about it. There was not even an apology. It was a sad blip on what was generally a very pleasant week at this hotel and a reflection on how weddings and events get impact service levels for other hotel guests

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,


We received your comments regarding your last stay at our Hotel and we want thank you for taking the time to write your impressions which are basic for us to be able to be able to improve and as exhortation to do our best.

We are glad to hear that there were certain aspects of your stay that you enjoyed, such as the history of the hotel, your room with the beautiful see view and the location of the property away from the chaos of the city center.

On the other hand, we would like to give you our most sincere apologies for the disappointment expressed regarding the service during your dinner.
We assure you that the problems highlighted were forwarded to our Restaurant Manager and actions have already been taken in order to prevent that similar inconveniences can happen in the future to our guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is a charming hotel and once we arrived we found it hard to leave and only ventured out once!

The pool staff (I think Vincent) were wonderful and helpful, all staff went out of their way to make sure you got what you needed in the pool restaurant and in the hotel restaurant

There was also a really interesting and international clientele so it was a good place to people watch, a mix of some families, some friends, some couples and some business visitors

The best way to end the day is to have a cocktail on the hotel terrace, Head barman Pietro makes a mean Cosmopolitan

Enjoy its an enchanting experience and we will return!

Room Tip: All rooms lovely and quiet, the large balcony rooms are stunning but expensive, the outside space an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review about your last experience at The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.

Nothing give us more pleasure than to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our Hotel and we left a good memory of your experience with us. The whole Staff thank you for your kind words, It is our aim to ensure that all our guests feel looked after and well cared during their time at our Hotel. Therefore, your comments for us are the confirmation that we are successful in achieving that aim and all that make us feel very happy and proud.

Thank you once more, we hope to welcome you back again as soon as possible

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We enjoyed this place a lot! Yes, here and there the place needs some fixing, but all works just fine and we believed this also makes the place for what it is. And the professional staff rounds it up.
Do visit the pool bar and restaurant with Raymond and his team who do a fantastic job making you feel relaxed. The view on the bay is great, be at breakfast or a beer in the early evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking out your precious time to write you review.

Nothing give us more pleasure than know that you has been satisfied with your stay in our Hotel.
In addition, we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our Pool & Grill Bar and that you felt in a relaxed and friendly environment . We shared your comments with the whole staff who thank you so much for yuor kind words

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Wonderful hotel. It is definitely a great hotel after Italian standards and I agree that it is a 5 star hotel in Italy but if compared to other countries' 5 star hotels it might be a 4 star because of its facilities. However, we have stayed in many 5-star hotels in Italy, and if you are in Palermo it is definitely worth a visit. The location is great and the staff are really helpful and friendly. Some negative points worth mentioning:

1. They charge for WiFi (outrageous)
2. Even though it has a beautiful location by the sea, they have blocked of sea access due to lack of staff (we were told)
3. The gym is in extreme need of maintenance,
4. Small details around the hotel seem a little neglected and needs maintenance (pool chairs, toilets in the lobby and down in the breakfast area).
5. Seating areas around the garden were dirty and broken

However, despite those relatively minor things (which is why in my opinion this is not 5 star by global standards, but at the same time typical for an Italian hotel) we had an amazing stay with great food in the restaurant, a clean and comfortable room and great view over the ocean.

I also have read that many complain about the prices for food/drinks, and I have to disagree. Yes the drinks are more expensive than if you go to a supermarket, but this is a luxury hotel - what do you expect when you pay 300-500 EUR per night? 1 EUR for a beer? You won't find that in any luxury hotel around the world! Maybe try staying in a hostel instead then. Moreover, we didn't find the prices in the restaurants/bars to be too bad (30-40EUR per person for dinner and drinks). Try out the pasta they make, it is great!

We would come back next time we are in Palermo.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a sea view or a room with a terrace/balcony. Rooms towards the pool are also a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,


We received your review and we wish to thank you for the time you dedicated to us.

We are very happy to hear you have had an amazing stay in our Hotel and we are very pleased that you enjoyed our location. As you have seen, one of the characteristics of our Hotel is to be located over the sea, away from the chaos of the city but only ten minutes from downtown. To get to the heart of Palermo , we offer a free shuttle service that starts from the Hotel every 30 minutes.

Furthermore, we are also happy you appreciated the food at our restaurant and we hope you will remind our hotel and our region also for our dishes and specialities.

Regarding some negative points you mentioned we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible in a way to offer a better service. Regarding the sea access from our Hotel is possible only by boat and we organize very intersting excursions for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you to our Hotel once again, as soon as possible.

Best regards,

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palermo
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#3 of 98 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
#24 of 98 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bel 3
#22 of 98 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#6 of 98 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection

Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Palermo
#11 Family Hotel in Palermo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.