We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea Views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Igiea

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Villa Igiea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Belmonte 43, 90142 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #17 of 98 hotels in Palermo
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Sea Views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel by the Sea. First Class hotel with amenities. The best hotel in Palermo. But Palermo is full of cars, people and trash. Still buildings bombed in the WWII. You can't leave your car on the street because it will be stolen in minutes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank You very much for the kind words that You spent for our property. We can just thank You once again and wait for You next visit.

Best Regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    193
    72
    43
    26
See reviews for
90
304
17
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

pros:

breath taking views, garden like atmosphere outside
spectacular breakfast with great outdoor seating and views
food in hotel generally very tasty, VERY yummy desserts.
great bath tub with excellent water pressure
free bottled water upo request
friendly and helpful staff
known to be the best hotel in palermo - and this is probably true, palermo is a sort of a dump.
marcello - the yacht captain of the hotel took me and two family members out on a great local private cruise around the island for the whole day for a reasonable price of 500 euros - he and his helper were very gentlemanly and chivalrous like, very knowledgeable and hospitable, 3 women and we felt totally safe with them. they served us a lovely lunch on the boat with prosecco.
usually very good restaurant recs from concierge staff
bbc world news available

cons:

the hotel simply does not have functional wi-fi and I don't care what anyone says the wi fi is rubbish!

at check out they tried to charge me for an extra 150 euros for dinner I did not have at the hotel, after about 15 mins of arguing (when I could have been eating the lovely breakfast on my last morning) they finally agreed that they had made a mistake by confusing me with some other arabs staying at the hotel (racist much?)not much of an apology after this had happened and they acknowledged the mistake, not impressed with this aspect of service

bedsheets are not very soft, definitely not egyptian cotton let's put it that way

only about 2 people at front desk/ concierge at any given moment, making it a bit of a wait if you want to ask someone something

you need to take a cab to get anywhere worth seeing, the tratorria down the road is first of all, as the previous person wrote - a dangerous walk - and- its crap, very dirty looking - couldn't bring myself to eat there it was that bad.

hotel pool is on the small side (but i guess thats Europe?) and doesn't get much sun in the late afternoon. never even bothered to swim here - always went to the lovely beaches (mondello, san vito lo capo, cefalu)

my room door was a bit dodgy - had to sort of shut a few times to make sure it would lock properly

old carpet in room

the hotel was unable to supply us with adapters

Room Tip: worth it to get superior room - you get a great tub. check your itemised bill on check out with a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
first of all thank You very much for spending the time to give us the feedback on Your recent stay. We are very glad to know that Your holiday at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea was to Your liking. A special thanks from the yacht captain for Your appreciation. It was a pleasure for him take care of you during the private cruise. Regarding the inconvenience occured during Your check out, please accept our apologize.
We are looking forward to welcoming You again in our Hotel.

Best Regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Experiences at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea swung from fabulous to feeble. Fabulous: this historic hotel, restored at the end of the 19th century, offers original furniture and paintings, long hallways, private sitting areas, large & interesting grounds, and a fantastic view of Palermo Bay. The lower-level lounge and patios are enchanting. Reputed as the finest hotel in Palermo it is a good choice -- yet be aware of the feeble aspects of the hotel: the grounds and pool are not kept in pristine condition that such a grand hotel deserves; our particular room had a strong mildew smell; windows are not to be kept open due to certain insects; the shutters were not in good working order; staffing was low. During the off-season there is no shuttle into Palermo and the hotel has only one restaurant, which is expensive. I would stay there again, with the hope that the shortcomings were addressed, to represent the property as it deserves.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for having reviewed the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.
I really appreciated your words on the style and atmosphere of the villa.
In spite of this I am very sorry to bad maintenance service that has caused you discomfort during your stay. In this period of low occupancy we are doing some renovation work.
I hope to have you as a guest soon again and give you my personal welcome.

Best Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a fancy, old money feeling hotel in the hell hole that is Palermo. The surroundings around the hotel are a dump, though we were forced to walk down to a local Trattoria for our dinner because we didn't feel welcome at our hotel. The short walk to an offsite restaurant is dangerous because of traffic and is full of heckling, wife beater tee shirt wearing locals yelling at you from the hovels above the street.

It's a fancy hotel and probably a great place to have a wedding. In fact, they seemed far more interested in catering to the weddings that happened each night than they did their registered guests. The dress is very upscale and our family with young teenagers was out of place in our shorts and vacation attire. When asked if it was OK to dine in the restaurant in our casual vacation close, we got a snooty "NO" from the staff member who directed us down the street to a family trattoria. Yeah, just like that.

The rooms (we had 2, connecting) were outstanding and well kept. The grounds were beautiful. The view in one direction was nice, the other not so nice because it overlooked a commercial dock. Probably 100 years ago, it was great.

Overall, I would definitely not recommend for families. We felt unwelcome, the staff burdened with any of our requests, and overall uncomfortable. In addition, it's in a rotten part of the city, if there is a good part of Palermo anyway. Not recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here for a few days in June 13 on business before moving on to its sister hotel (Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes) in the heart of Palermo for a few days holiday ( see separate review). This is an old but stylish and elegant hotel slightly out of the city. If you're looking for relaxation, beautiful views out to sea and the feeling of a laid back but high quality hotel, this place is for you. Although on business I felt the drink and food prices were unreasonably very high but I guess its typical for this level of establishment. The pool area had a tranquil feel but it had limited seating areas and was filling up at 9.30 by the time breakfast was finishing. I was fortunate to have a Deluxe ground floor room with its own terraced seating area - great for privacy and total tranquility. Contrary to other reports, I found Palermo to be vibrant, friendly and historical. Its not prestinely clean but set that to one side and enjoy their food and hospitality.

Room Tip: Ground floor deluxe with a private sun terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank You very much for spending Your time to give us a kind feedback on Your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. We are very glad to see that You remarked the perfect location of our hotel where You spent pleasant moments of relax.
We hope to welcoming You again in our Hotel.

Sincerely Yours,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

what can you say... a villa the elegant high stud in every room ..space personified .. out the front the Bay of Palermo.. with cruise ships and ferries not in abundance but quietly passing through.
he rooms huge ..the shower (my pet hate) over the bath...ahhhh again the slip and slide for the old body.. a pity as everything else is gracious.. The rooms and bed good but with older fittings
yes this is the gracious now older lady but the service excellent delightful smart staff who try to
help even with the language barriers that can haunt the traveller.. in the dining room anticipation
such a rare virtue... the used plate discretely taken... the question "would you like.." there before
you start to speak... it is the epitome of class service.. in this dining room.. but the old lady should not charge for internet... at such a rate ... we did not wish to buy the entire world internet.. simply
use a little of its wares.. and it should be free so overall.. yes I would come again because I was able to free up and relax here ... its position in the town of Palermo ... not so good for walking
but the locals do provide good fare and coffee... there are tiny areas to be improved...

Room Tip: rooms on second and third floor facing the Bay of Palermo are the choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Sir/ Mandam,
thank You very much for Your feedback about Your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. Your observations are very important for us. We hope to welcoming You again in our property.

Best Regards,
Vito Giglio,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights in June 2013. It was our first trip to Palermo. First--the city is dirty, congested, noisy, garbage-filled and generally unpleasant many ways. If you don't have to visit this city, I would NOT recommend it. But if you do visit, I highly recommend this hotel, it's an oasis of relaxation far from the chaos that is Palermo. The hotel is from the turn of the century and has an air of rest and relaxation to it. The staff is very professional and polite. The breakfast is out of this world with a stunning sea view. It's a full salad bar, fruit bar, cerals, bread, cheeses, scrambled eggs, bacon, fresh-squeezed juices, and coffees for the asking. Get there early to get a great view and then enjoy! There is a small shuttle to the city, which was typically booked, so we took a 15E taxi to downtown. Room was very quiet, has a big bath, and we found it clean and very comfortable. Internet is 8.95E a day, and worked all over hotel--even in the gardens. Be sure to explore all the rooms in this hotel--the wine bar is stunning, the ball room is grand and there are plenty of sitting areas to relax and read. It's a great escape from Palermo.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank You for the feedback regarding Your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. We are pleased to know that You found our location to Your liking and that You spent many relaxing moments in the various areas of our Hotel.
We really hope to see You again in our property.
Best Regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea

Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palermo
#7 Family Hotel in Palermo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#12 Business Hotel in Palermo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.