We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 Star" hotel by any means” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Igiea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Villa Igiea to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Belmonte 43, 90142 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
Larchmont, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a 5 Star" hotel by any means”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

After staying at the Timeo in Taormina, we went up to Palermo for three days and stayed at the Villa Igiea. What a "let down." The rooms were clean but decor not to our suiting -- clearly a personal issue.

however, the quality of the cuisine for dinner was average at best and the service -- basically non existent (in terms of a 5 star hotel).

Breakfast buffet was fine and the women waitresses who handled this service were very good. They should let them work the dinner shift.

Overall, grounds were not well maintained and the hotel looked "tired." A local relayed to us that the local Italian group that owns this hotel plus several others in Sicily (including the San Domenico in Taorma) is facing financial challenges. It was evident something was "afoot" here.

However, there aren't many great places to stay in Palermo. If we should go back, we would likely see if there is a more upscale resort nearby Palermo since sightseeing in Palermo proper can be done within 1 1/2 days if not one day.

BTW, when we asked to schedule massages at the same time for both my wife and I, we were advised that the hotel only had one massuere!!!! 5 Star hotel -- "not"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank You for Your comments about Your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. We are really sorry that your stay in our Hotel did not fulfil Your expectations. However, Your opinion is very important for us because gives us the possibility to improve our services.
We hope to see You again in our property,

Best regards,

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    208
    90
    48
    33
See reviews for
104
352
18
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Villa Igiea is located a couple of minutes from the port in a very quiet spot and overlooking the sea. Welcome was extremely warm after a highly recommendable 20 hours ferry ride from Genova (www.gnv.it - book the "presidential" suite).

The outside of this classical castle like building may look somewhat worn to our North American friends, but the inside has obviously been refurbished to highest standards and I guess they will be soon member of "Leading Hotels of the World" after the owners (who own also San Domenico Palace in Taormina) gladly kicked out Hilton from this very "un - Hilton" place.

Our room was "deluxe terrazzo" and had only a quite weird side seaview, but which finally was very romantic with views over the well kept gardens and the lovely turreted building itself.

In Italy you are treated for how you behave and how you approach people. The restaurant manager and all staff were extremely kind and professional and the food quality of the young chef aspires to a Michelin star. For the quality served and the ambience on the outside terrace prices are extremely reasonable.

Room service breakfast was not set up as carefully as one would have expected. Napkins and cups were missing, but the quality was OK.

A must stay when in Palermo with secure parking and a lot of enchantment and romance.

Room Tip: Room 220 looks weird with its sideway seaview, but has a lovely terrace. Avoid rooms in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. Nothing gives us more pleasure than seeing that our guests are satisfied of their stay at our hotel . It is our aim to ensure that all our guests are well looked after and to read a review such as yours conferms that we are successful in achieving that aim.
We hope to welcome you back again at our hotel.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Unless you are obliged to go to Palermo i think one should change destination.. Hotel Igiea is beautiful building with a beautiful view.. but so so dirty even the bedding was dirty (check bedshits before getting inside).. Wifi is poor(wifi is normally free in 5stars hotel, villa igiea is charged and poor)..minibar out of order.. one person at reception who is helpful all others are inexperienced.. The whole city is dirty and full of garbage.
If anyone have a holiday i honnestly recommend to skip palermo..and Villa igiea even with special deals and rates is not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
first of all thank You for your comments regarding Your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. We are really sorry that You had a bad impression of our Hotel due to some inefficiencies in our services. Therefore, we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused to You and we will try to improve our services because one of our focus is to make the holiday of our guests as comfortable as possible.
We hope to see you again in our Hotel

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hotel Villa Igiea is a magnificent building with beautiful gardens and views. However the shortcomings are too numerous to consider this a five star hotel. The carpet in our room was thread-worn and the manager was clearly annoyed when we asked that they clean and restock (to avoid extra billing) the leaky and depleted mini-bar. They never did clean up the leaky mess. The restaurant has a beautiful view with great food but the service is less then satisfactory and you can wait an hour before you even get a menu or drink. Further the evening restaurant captain treats guests with near contempt. Finally, when checking out I was billed for a bottle of wine far more expensive than the one we had ordered and received, and I was double billed for one of the dinners. After a prolonged dispute they finally corrected the double billing but I gave up and paid an extra 20 Euros for wine I didn't drink.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
first of all thank You for Your comments.We at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea are truly sorry that You were not satisfied with our hotel during your last stay.
Our main focus is to ensure our guests complete satisfaction. We, therefore, will take Your comments very seriously and ask You to accept our most profound apologies. We do hope that, perhaps, we will have the pleasure of having You stay with us once again.
Thank you, again.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Maryland
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

While most guidebooks (despite 2013 publication date) still show this as the Hilton Villa Igiea, it's clear why the flag has been taken down here. A Victorian era villa turned hotel, it's elegance from the moment of arrival in this location by the marina with great views of the bay and Palermo. Not in the city, but close enough to walk if you choose to, to the port. We thought the restaurant here was excellent, and in fact, had dinner here every night. The maitre d' was a real gentleman, and the menu was truly Sicilian, and not too expensive (not cheap, either). The amazing thing here is the breakfast. It ranks up there with the most lavish spreads I have ever seen, from almond granita to a full salad bar at breakfast, with pastries, rolls, meats, eggs, cheese, salmon, champagne, fruit --- too much to list; and all included in the room rate, which made our 4 nights here at 153 eurus, a real bargain, and allowed us to enjoy the dinner here as opposed to finding somewhere in Palermo. We choose to stay here to be able to avoid traffic and get to places like Segesta, Monreale, etc. more easily; and it worked pretty well, as the Autostrada is not too hard to find. We never used the shuttle service, but it's available with advance reservation. The bar is a lovely "cantina" style barrel vaulted room with a terrace for drinks or coffee overlooking the nice gardens, marina, and sea beyond. The only downside (and this needs to be addressed) is the condition of the room soft goods. The walls are covered in fabric, which is nice, but not if they are stained and moldy from leaks; and the upholstery needs to be redone, as do the carpets. If you can overlook that, it's still a grand old dame of a hotel; and the location cannot be beat unless you really want to be downtown. This was our first visit to Sicily; and while Palermo might not be my first choice (at least until the garbage situation is fixed), the hotel was a good value overall.

Room Tip: We had an interior room overlooking the kitchen, which I am certain was due to the excellent rate we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank You for your positive comments regarding Your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. We are very glad to know that You appreciated the elegance of our property as well as the quality of our services.
We really hope to see you again .Thanks one more.

Best Regards

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

To say tired for the Villa Igea is a compliment, the hotel is exhausted....
the building must have been beautiful when it opened in 1900 but definetely is in need of major attention.
the staff are not very nice and disinterested, the restaurant is very boring and the food is also extremely boring, considering we are in Italy and any little restaurants on the street serves delicious food!!!
the room was very stuffy and in need of substantion re-decoration.
forget about room service unless if you have the all day to wait for your breakfast.
the breakfast terrace is beautiful and with a beautiful view over the harbour.
breakfast buffet is also nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,
thanks for your comment. We are sorry if your stay in our hotel was not quite satisfactory because you have observed some deficiencies in our services. It was not our intention to give you discomfort and therefore we apologize for everything. Your opinion is really important to us because it helps us to improve our performance.
We hope to see you again in our property.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed for one night as a stopover. My fault - but didn't pay attention to how far off the main road the hotel is - and quite complicated to get to. That might not have mattered if we had been greeted with warmth - or even courtesy - on arrival. But rude, disinterested staff seem to be a specialty here, especially the barman who seemed to think it was above him to serve us, and the porter who watched me haul four bags to the car without lifting a finger!
Room was stuffy and the aircon didn't work and there was a broken spring in the bed which came through the mattress! And it was sharp! This wasn't just inconvenient - it was dangerous!
On the positive side, the gardens are pretty; the view is nice; breakfast on the terrace is lovely.
And the pictures on the walls from c.1908 are interesting. But methinks its heyday was 1908.
Avoid: overpriced; awful service; uncomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank You for Your comment about Your stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. We are sorry that Your stay was not to Your liking. Your opinion is really important for us to pay more attention to the inefficiences that You have encountered and to improve our services.
We really hope to see you again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea

Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palermo
#8 Business Hotel in Palermo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#13 Family Hotel in Palermo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.