We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Poor and dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Belmonte 43, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Poor Poor and dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Unless you are obliged to go to Palermo i think one should change destination.. Hotel Igiea is beautiful building with a beautiful view.. but so so dirty even the bedding was dirty (check bedshits before getting inside).. Wifi is poor(wifi is normally free in 5stars hotel, villa igiea is charged and poor)..minibar out of order.. one person at reception who is helpful all others are inexperienced.. The whole city is dirty and full of garbage.
If anyone have a holiday i honnestly recommend to skip palermo..and Villa igiea even with special deals and rates is not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
first of all thank You for your comments regarding Your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. We are really sorry that You had a bad impression of our Hotel due to some inefficiencies in our services. Therefore, we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused to You and we will try to improve our services because one of our focus is to make the holiday of our guests as comfortable as possible.
We hope to see you again in our Hotel

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hotel Villa Igiea is a magnificent building with beautiful gardens and views. However the shortcomings are too numerous to consider this a five star hotel. The carpet in our room was thread-worn and the manager was clearly annoyed when we asked that they clean and restock (to avoid extra billing) the leaky and depleted mini-bar. They never did clean up the leaky mess. The restaurant has a beautiful view with great food but the service is less then satisfactory and you can wait an hour before you even get a menu or drink. Further the evening restaurant captain treats guests with near contempt. Finally, when checking out I was billed for a bottle of wine far more expensive than the one we had ordered and received, and I was double billed for one of the dinners. After a prolonged dispute they finally corrected the double billing but I gave up and paid an extra 20 Euros for wine I didn't drink.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
first of all thank You for Your comments.We at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea are truly sorry that You were not satisfied with our hotel during your last stay.
Our main focus is to ensure our guests complete satisfaction. We, therefore, will take Your comments very seriously and ask You to accept our most profound apologies. We do hope that, perhaps, we will have the pleasure of having You stay with us once again.
Thank you, again.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Maryland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

While most guidebooks (despite 2013 publication date) still show this as the Hilton Villa Igiea, it's clear why the flag has been taken down here. A Victorian era villa turned hotel, it's elegance from the moment of arrival in this location by the marina with great views of the bay and Palermo. Not in the city, but close enough to walk if you choose to, to the port. We thought the restaurant here was excellent, and in fact, had dinner here every night. The maitre d' was a real gentleman, and the menu was truly Sicilian, and not too expensive (not cheap, either). The amazing thing here is the breakfast. It ranks up there with the most lavish spreads I have ever seen, from almond granita to a full salad bar at breakfast, with pastries, rolls, meats, eggs, cheese, salmon, champagne, fruit --- too much to list; and all included in the room rate, which made our 4 nights here at 153 eurus, a real bargain, and allowed us to enjoy the dinner here as opposed to finding somewhere in Palermo. We choose to stay here to be able to avoid traffic and get to places like Segesta, Monreale, etc. more easily; and it worked pretty well, as the Autostrada is not too hard to find. We never used the shuttle service, but it's available with advance reservation. The bar is a lovely "cantina" style barrel vaulted room with a terrace for drinks or coffee overlooking the nice gardens, marina, and sea beyond. The only downside (and this needs to be addressed) is the condition of the room soft goods. The walls are covered in fabric, which is nice, but not if they are stained and moldy from leaks; and the upholstery needs to be redone, as do the carpets. If you can overlook that, it's still a grand old dame of a hotel; and the location cannot be beat unless you really want to be downtown. This was our first visit to Sicily; and while Palermo might not be my first choice (at least until the garbage situation is fixed), the hotel was a good value overall.

Room Tip: We had an interior room overlooking the kitchen, which I am certain was due to the excellent rate we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GK1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank You for your positive comments regarding Your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. We are very glad to know that You appreciated the elegance of our property as well as the quality of our services.
We really hope to see you again .Thanks one more.

Best Regards

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

To say tired for the Villa Igea is a compliment, the hotel is exhausted....
the building must have been beautiful when it opened in 1900 but definetely is in need of major attention.
the staff are not very nice and disinterested, the restaurant is very boring and the food is also extremely boring, considering we are in Italy and any little restaurants on the street serves delicious food!!!
the room was very stuffy and in need of substantion re-decoration.
forget about room service unless if you have the all day to wait for your breakfast.
the breakfast terrace is beautiful and with a beautiful view over the harbour.
breakfast buffet is also nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paolo2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,
thanks for your comment. We are sorry if your stay in our hotel was not quite satisfactory because you have observed some deficiencies in our services. It was not our intention to give you discomfort and therefore we apologize for everything. Your opinion is really important to us because it helps us to improve our performance.
We hope to see you again in our property.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed for one night as a stopover. My fault - but didn't pay attention to how far off the main road the hotel is - and quite complicated to get to. That might not have mattered if we had been greeted with warmth - or even courtesy - on arrival. But rude, disinterested staff seem to be a specialty here, especially the barman who seemed to think it was above him to serve us, and the porter who watched me haul four bags to the car without lifting a finger!
Room was stuffy and the aircon didn't work and there was a broken spring in the bed which came through the mattress! And it was sharp! This wasn't just inconvenient - it was dangerous!
On the positive side, the gardens are pretty; the view is nice; breakfast on the terrace is lovely.
And the pictures on the walls from c.1908 are interesting. But methinks its heyday was 1908.
Avoid: overpriced; awful service; uncomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fs001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank You for Your comment about Your stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. We are sorry that Your stay was not to Your liking. Your opinion is really important for us to pay more attention to the inefficiences that You have encountered and to improve our services.
We really hope to see you again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Beautiful, elegant hotel. The rooms were large and well appointed. We had a nice veranda with a table and chairs. The dining room was large and beautifully decorated. There was an adjoining veranda where you good eat if you chose,to. Excellent daily breakfast. The dining room staff were very accommodating. The front desk people were less accommodating and it was difficult to set up a wake up call in the evening because they didn't answer the phone. The location was quiet and right on the harbor.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the front of the hotel had more noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
first of all thank You very much for Your comment. We are very happy that You have appreciated the beauty of our spaces and that Your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea has been to Your liking. Regarding Your difficulty to contact the our front desk staff, we promise You that we will have more care of it, to be sure that it will not happen again.
We hope to see You again in our property,
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is undeniably beautiful and the view from the gardens over the harbour is stunning. However, my room was so dark and really noisy at night as a busy road runs in front of the hotel. As commented by other guests the shutters were a really bad fit and impossible to open, so no chance of seeing outside. There is a bus stop just outside with regular buses into town but otherwise it is a long and unpleasant 40 minute walk into town, many of roads have no pavements and you need to cross a very busy dual carrigeway or a 20 euro taxi fare... Breakfast looks very smart but often not well replenished at busy periods. Staff helpful when around but reception not always manned during my stay and renovation work was in progress in more than one area of the hotel during my stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
first of all thank You for Your comments.We at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea are truly sorry that You were not satisfied with our hotel during your last stay.
Our main focus is to ensure our guests complete satisfaction. We, therefore, will take Your comments very seriously and ask You to accept our most profound apologies. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of having You stay with us once again.
Thank you, again.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palermo
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Alma Hotel
#1 of 99 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
#26 of 99 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 stars 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Porta Felice
#8 of 99 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 99 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Hotel Bel 3
#20 of 99 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection

Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Palermo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#9 Family Hotel in Palermo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing