We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Star at best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Igiea

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Villa Igiea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Belmonte 43, 90142 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #17 of 98 hotels in Palermo
Lisburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“3 Star at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Having stayed at the 5 start Villa Iglea hotel over the christmas period I was annoyed, its 5 start rating is clearly attained by the hotels historical grandure and smattering of oppulence the hotel has. Basic fundamentals (clean and acceptable) are there but not to the 5 star standard expected for this 'luxury' break.

Palermo is a dirty city (other then the one main street with all the big shopping names on it like Armani etc) steer clear, Palermo gives (i have been assured) the rest of Sicily a bad name and should be avoided.

Dont waste your money, I thought I did my research using this site, the recommendations provided must have been from either the staff at the Villa Iglea or the Palermo tourist board, BE WARNED!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel and possbly location (not Palermo)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest
first of all thank You for Your comments.We at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea are truly sorry that You were not satisfied with our hotel during your last stay.
Our main focus is to ensure our guests complete satisfaction. We, therefore, will take Your comments very seriously and ask You to accept our most profound apologies. We do hope that, perhaps, we will have the pleasure of having You stay with us once again.
Thank you, again.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    193
    72
    43
    26
See reviews for
90
304
17
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Wonderful hotel, wait staff, and food. Great relaxing location, although a bit far from downtown. However getting there by bus takes about 10 minutes, is very cheap and is very easy. Located near a great little cafe and a Supermercato (which is also next to a great pastry shop). Would highly recommend for a few days to a week if your looking for a relaxing, get-away-from-it-all environment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for having reviewed the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.
Nothing gives us more pleasure than seeing that our guests are satisfied of their stay at our hotel .
We hope to welcome you back again at our hotel.

Best Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here for several nights early in November. Great Experience!
Check in staff, reception, restaurant, food, bar, all exceptionally service oriented. The hotel public areas, rooms etc.. all impeccabily clean.

Charming, welcoming and without a doubt a Flagship of elegance and service which is so rarely found. A must stay. No one compares. In addition to service and all that encompasses a great stay , it is a hotel with a long history of one of Palermo's noble families. A stroll back in time and well worth it. Stay here.. You live the history of Palermo's wealth

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay-- a breathless experience to remember for ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.
I really appreciated your words on the style and atmosphere of the villa. Nothing gives us more pleasure than seeing that our guests are satisfied of their stay at our hotel . It is our aim to ensure that all our guests are well looked after and to read a review such as yours conferms that we are successful in achieving that aim.
We hope to welcome you back again at our hotel.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hotel was very beautiful, rooms are dated but they are also in keeping with the age of the hotel. service at breakfast and choice of food was non exsistant. Bar was very expensive and ran out of my favourite drink which was never replenished during my weeks stay, bar staff were lovley though! There were no towels at the pool, I regularly had to go and ask for towels. Hotel is quite a walk from town centre but if you hop on the 731 or 721 for 1.25 euros , bus stop is right outside hotel. Be very careful with your belongings when out and about, I was mugged by 2 men on a moped on the Della Liberrata whilst crossing at a zebra crossing, which to be fair could have happend in any big city, hide all your jewelry!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i will go back .

Room Tip: dont get room facing the road, ambulances are non stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,
thank You for This Comment, we apologize for not being able to offer Your drink during Your stay and the service at the pool. We hope to see You soon in our property and surely will be pleased to offer You a drink ( Your drink ).

Thanks once more and we promise to improve where we lacked.

Best Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Piemonte, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location was absolutely beautiful as it was right at the sea. Also, if you are staying in Palermo you are not right in the city which is simply insane to drive in - and we live in Torino, Italy. The room was clean and a decent size, but when they say no view they mean it. Also, we complained constantly about the shower that wouldn't drain and while they drained it each day it was never fixed. The concierge was very helpful, friendly and gave us great insight. Breakfast was plentiful and diverse - we don't see eggs and bacon anywhere else in Italy. Also, it helped that we had a car. Their location was perfect in that you could avoid some traffic especially if you were returning to the airport because you are on the same side of the city, but be prepared because traffic in general just adds time to your day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,
thank You for Your comment, first of all we apologize for the problem in Your shower, the opinion of our guest are always very usefull thanks once more.

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our first 2 nights of our week in Sicily began here. While the views are lovely and the facility as a whole beautiful without a car or taxi you are very limited if you want to dine off premises or swim in the sea. The pool area abuts a marina so nice sight but cannot swim other than in pool. Buffet breakfast is lavish - one iof best on our trip. Staff was helpful for recommendations on dining locations in walking distance but choices are limited and mediocre. Private driver and guide for tour of Palermo and Monreale was well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,
Just a big Thank You for Your comment. We hope to see You soon in our property, maybe in summer when You can profit of our Shuttle bus to reach the city center.

Best Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Looks great on the website but it is a moldy run down hotel that needed a renovation 15 years ago. Service is mediocre. Most rooms are with twin beds and there are only a few rooms with king size beds. The gym is such that you better stay in your room and exercise there. You need taxis or your car to get to the city centre. The seaside location gives you nothing as the hotel faces a marina and commercial port. The next door neighbour is the shipyard where the shipwrecked concordia was built and that tells you all about the area. I wouldn't come here again even if they paid me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Mr Ketting,
it would be better to know all these things during one of Your two days spent here. I think that there are lot of good things that You didn't see. Thank You any way.

Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea

Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palermo
#7 Family Hotel in Palermo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#12 Business Hotel in Palermo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.