We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Palermo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Igiea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Villa Igiea to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Belmonte 43, 90142 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
Turin, Piemonte, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Visit to Palermo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location was absolutely beautiful as it was right at the sea. Also, if you are staying in Palermo you are not right in the city which is simply insane to drive in - and we live in Torino, Italy. The room was clean and a decent size, but when they say no view they mean it. Also, we complained constantly about the shower that wouldn't drain and while they drained it each day it was never fixed. The concierge was very helpful, friendly and gave us great insight. Breakfast was plentiful and diverse - we don't see eggs and bacon anywhere else in Italy. Also, it helped that we had a car. Their location was perfect in that you could avoid some traffic especially if you were returning to the airport because you are on the same side of the city, but be prepared because traffic in general just adds time to your day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,
thank You for Your comment, first of all we apologize for the problem in Your shower, the opinion of our guest are always very usefull thanks once more.

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    208
    90
    48
    33
See reviews for
104
352
18
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our first 2 nights of our week in Sicily began here. While the views are lovely and the facility as a whole beautiful without a car or taxi you are very limited if you want to dine off premises or swim in the sea. The pool area abuts a marina so nice sight but cannot swim other than in pool. Buffet breakfast is lavish - one iof best on our trip. Staff was helpful for recommendations on dining locations in walking distance but choices are limited and mediocre. Private driver and guide for tour of Palermo and Monreale was well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,
Just a big Thank You for Your comment. We hope to see You soon in our property, maybe in summer when You can profit of our Shuttle bus to reach the city center.

Best Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Looks great on the website but it is a moldy run down hotel that needed a renovation 15 years ago. Service is mediocre. Most rooms are with twin beds and there are only a few rooms with king size beds. The gym is such that you better stay in your room and exercise there. You need taxis or your car to get to the city centre. The seaside location gives you nothing as the hotel faces a marina and commercial port. The next door neighbour is the shipyard where the shipwrecked concordia was built and that tells you all about the area. I wouldn't come here again even if they paid me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Mr Ketting,
it would be better to know all these things during one of Your two days spent here. I think that there are lot of good things that You didn't see. Thank You any way.

Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I’m not sure who the Italian Jane Austin is or was. But whoever they are, or were, any number of their novels could have been set at the Grand Villa, Igiea, Palermo, Scilly. The gorgeous sand-stone palazzo dominates the harbour and surrounds. A beacon of romance and luxury.

When you enter through the arch-doorway, immediately you expect to hear the giggling of the “Bennet” girls, as they spy from the top of the spiral staircase on the new arrivals. Look to your left or right upon entry, and your eye races down the two ornate corridors aching with history and possibility.

Check in is friendly without being fussy-and so the rest of the hotel. There is a distinct kind of Italian- detachment about the service. In no way is it rude or standoffish, more measured and tailored like a sharp well-made suit.

My room was on the 3rd floor and again was Victorian in aspect and impression. The dark woods, coupled with the period light fittings imbue a feeling of clam relaxation. Just one thing about the bathroom- if you have any mobility issues, it is quite a step into the bath for a shower as both are combined.

Despite all this talk of Victorian romance, I was in fact there on business, and unfortunately only had two nights at the hotel. But that small entre into Italian history was enough to make me hunger for more.

And if you are hungry, then the food at the hotel is fantastic. I ate breakfast on both days and dinner on one evening. All meals are served in the hotels only restaurant- which sits on a lovely terrace overlooking the bay. Prepared with the freshest of ingredients, each meal was well and truly savoured.

Having read other reviews I am sure there are cheaper places to both stay and eat in Palermo. But for me, I would come back here in an instant-

However, if there are any women who read this review and are looking for their, “Signor Darcy” then you may need to stay a little longer than two-nights to find him.

Room Tip: Try and get up early at least once and watch the fishing boats head out into the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank You very much for the wonderful words You spent for our property.
We can Just thank You once again and wait for Your next visit.

Best Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent a fabulous 4 days in Palermo at this wonderful hotel which reminds of the grandious times of Sicily. Service is impeccable and food is delicious. The price is also affordable for an hotel of this category. We rented a car and took advantage of it for visiting the town. However you should be an adventurous driver and take some risk.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Sir Madame,
thank You very much for the time You spent in our hotel, our efforts are rewarded thanks to You comment. We hope to see You again in our property.

Best Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I've never really 'got' 5-star accommodation, so maybe the reason this didn't blow me away was partly my fault.

My wife and I stayed here in September as part of our Sicilian Honeymoon, opting to go a bit more 'high-class' than we usually would (i.e. a standard Palermo B&B). It just wasn't quite what we were expecting.

The rooms are nice, and clean enough; but nowhere near grand. The hotel is located near the new marina, about 3 km out of the city centre. It's a pleasant location but too far from Palermo proper. The free shuttle service they provide drops you off in the newer, more upmarket area of Palermo which is relatively souless and generic.

The hotel caters for everything you'll ever need but, as you'd expect, it's costly. Wifi, drinks, food all come at a serious premium.

There are positives, though. As you'd expect from a top-quality hotel, the amenities are great - with a lovely swimming pool, a tennis court and a vast buffet breakfast being the main attractions (for me, anyway). The staff are genuinely excellent - with great spoken English (something which is actually pretty rare in Sicily) they are extremely helpful and polite.

All in all, it's not a bad hotel. It's just not my cup of tea - if a grand hotel is a necessity, then you can't really go wrong. For me, I prefer something a little less self-important and a bit more genuine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for Your review. The comments of our guests, whether they are positive or negative, are always very important for us.
We are very pleased that you found our location to your satisfaction, as well as the friendly and helpful staff. It can only make us happy.
I hope to welcome you again in Palermo.

Best Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

On the whole, we chose well with this beautiful and gracious hotel. The concierge and reception staff were very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast buffet staff not quite so good. Our room was large and quiet and pretty good except for a dripping noise from the toilet which lasted six days even though we had reported this problem. It was bliss sitting on the lovely terraces reading and having a drink in late October.

The hotel corridors are lined with large black and white photos of European royalty from times past who had, it seemed, stayed at this hotel when it was great.

The only downside that I can think of was that the hotel is not situated in a nice enough area outside Palermo where one could enjoy walking. Every time we ventured out we had to take taxis ( so add that to your budget! ), buses or the occasional complimentary shuttle between there and the centre of Palermo.

Very relaxing if you want to stay around the hotel grounds and not venture out.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the bay, but it will be more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea

Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palermo
#8 Business Hotel in Palermo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#14 Family Hotel in Palermo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Villa Igiea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.