We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jane Austin Could Not Have Asked For Better.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Belmonte 43, 90142 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
WA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Jane Austin Could Not Have Asked For Better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I’m not sure who the Italian Jane Austin is or was. But whoever they are, or were, any number of their novels could have been set at the Grand Villa, Igiea, Palermo, Scilly. The gorgeous sand-stone palazzo dominates the harbour and surrounds. A beacon of romance and luxury.

When you enter through the arch-doorway, immediately you expect to hear the giggling of the “Bennet” girls, as they spy from the top of the spiral staircase on the new arrivals. Look to your left or right upon entry, and your eye races down the two ornate corridors aching with history and possibility.

Check in is friendly without being fussy-and so the rest of the hotel. There is a distinct kind of Italian- detachment about the service. In no way is it rude or standoffish, more measured and tailored like a sharp well-made suit.

My room was on the 3rd floor and again was Victorian in aspect and impression. The dark woods, coupled with the period light fittings imbue a feeling of clam relaxation. Just one thing about the bathroom- if you have any mobility issues, it is quite a step into the bath for a shower as both are combined.

Despite all this talk of Victorian romance, I was in fact there on business, and unfortunately only had two nights at the hotel. But that small entre into Italian history was enough to make me hunger for more.

And if you are hungry, then the food at the hotel is fantastic. I ate breakfast on both days and dinner on one evening. All meals are served in the hotels only restaurant- which sits on a lovely terrace overlooking the bay. Prepared with the freshest of ingredients, each meal was well and truly savoured.

Having read other reviews I am sure there are cheaper places to both stay and eat in Palermo. But for me, I would come back here in an instant-

However, if there are any women who read this review and are looking for their, “Signor Darcy” then you may need to stay a little longer than two-nights to find him.

Room Tip: Try and get up early at least once and watch the fishing boats head out into the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank You very much for the wonderful words You spent for our property.
We can Just thank You once again and wait for Your next visit.

Best Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    217
    96
    50
    34
See reviews for
109
372
19
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent a fabulous 4 days in Palermo at this wonderful hotel which reminds of the grandious times of Sicily. Service is impeccable and food is delicious. The price is also affordable for an hotel of this category. We rented a car and took advantage of it for visiting the town. However you should be an adventurous driver and take some risk.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Sir Madame,
thank You very much for the time You spent in our hotel, our efforts are rewarded thanks to You comment. We hope to see You again in our property.

Best Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I've never really 'got' 5-star accommodation, so maybe the reason this didn't blow me away was partly my fault.

My wife and I stayed here in September as part of our Sicilian Honeymoon, opting to go a bit more 'high-class' than we usually would (i.e. a standard Palermo B&B). It just wasn't quite what we were expecting.

The rooms are nice, and clean enough; but nowhere near grand. The hotel is located near the new marina, about 3 km out of the city centre. It's a pleasant location but too far from Palermo proper. The free shuttle service they provide drops you off in the newer, more upmarket area of Palermo which is relatively souless and generic.

The hotel caters for everything you'll ever need but, as you'd expect, it's costly. Wifi, drinks, food all come at a serious premium.

There are positives, though. As you'd expect from a top-quality hotel, the amenities are great - with a lovely swimming pool, a tennis court and a vast buffet breakfast being the main attractions (for me, anyway). The staff are genuinely excellent - with great spoken English (something which is actually pretty rare in Sicily) they are extremely helpful and polite.

All in all, it's not a bad hotel. It's just not my cup of tea - if a grand hotel is a necessity, then you can't really go wrong. For me, I prefer something a little less self-important and a bit more genuine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for Your review. The comments of our guests, whether they are positive or negative, are always very important for us.
We are very pleased that you found our location to your satisfaction, as well as the friendly and helpful staff. It can only make us happy.
I hope to welcome you again in Palermo.

Best Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

On the whole, we chose well with this beautiful and gracious hotel. The concierge and reception staff were very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast buffet staff not quite so good. Our room was large and quiet and pretty good except for a dripping noise from the toilet which lasted six days even though we had reported this problem. It was bliss sitting on the lovely terraces reading and having a drink in late October.

The hotel corridors are lined with large black and white photos of European royalty from times past who had, it seemed, stayed at this hotel when it was great.

The only downside that I can think of was that the hotel is not situated in a nice enough area outside Palermo where one could enjoy walking. Every time we ventured out we had to take taxis ( so add that to your budget! ), buses or the occasional complimentary shuttle between there and the centre of Palermo.

Very relaxing if you want to stay around the hotel grounds and not venture out.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the bay, but it will be more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hotel in a lovely setting by the marina. Difficult to find using hotel website directions and working through Palermo traffic,poor road signs and blocked roads gave unwarranted stress.
The concierge was fantastically helpful in giving directions later for our drives outside the city.

The rooms are pleasant and set in attractive gardens with pool and tennis court but we missed
having a tea/ coffee maker in the room, or adequate lighting in a very dark room, and sufficient cotton towels. Linen towels are like tea towels and really passe now surely.

The biggest complaint was the 15 Euros per 24 hours charge for Wi-Fi , especially as my partner needed to use his computer daily.

The breakfast,served on the attractive waterside terrace, was plentiful though service for tea/coffee could be slow. The restaurant lunch taken on our first day was pretentious and lacked flavour and the first course came as an inadequate and unexplained substitution. We found much better places to eat in Palermo, notablyLa Scudiero in Via Turati.

The 'Fitness Room ' was very poor - no water in the cold cupboards, broken machinery and limited equipment. looked like a very tired afterthought.

Overall this hotel aspires to greatness but could make considerable improvements to make guests more satisfied. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels and experienced far better quality and value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We liked the hotel very much but two issues - firstly, they charge 9 euros per day per ipad for internet access when any small rural hotel offers it free. Also, their driving instructions on their website are inaccurate and you will get very lost if you follow them,as we did. We pointed this problem out to the reception desk who seemed aware but unwilling or unable to do anything to fix it for future guests who will spend an hour lost in an unsavoury part of Palermo as a result of an easily fixable issue.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The location and setting of the hotel are beautiful, a bit out of chaotic Palermo. The hotel itself is quite grand and has a beautiful view of the sea. The rooms on the other hand could use an update. They are dark and dated with lots of heavy fabrics making them a bit dreary. While we were there we had to change rooms several times because the air conditioning didn't work in our rooms. (our family had 3 rooms and we all had to change rooms) The staff reluctantly change our rooms after several complaints.

The service in the bar, restaurants, and pool area moves at a glacial pace. Breakfast is an extremely lengthy affair in order to get coffee or tea. At one point we served ourselves because we were tired of waiting 20 minutes for coffee. Service in the bar is really,really slow too. The food in the restaurants is also mediocre at best. We went to a spanish themed dinner by the pool one evening and they were serving the same appetizers with our dinner that were part of the free appetizers in the bar. They also served some of the items that were part of the morning breakfast buffet. We were far from impressed, especially since they charge top $$ for the food here.

Overall the setting is stunning but there is lots of room for improvement with the service and the rooms!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection

Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Palermo
#9 Family Hotel in Palermo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.