We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful reception service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of San Paolo Palace Hotel Centro Congressi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Paolo Palace Hotel Centro Congressi to your Saves list
San Paolo Palace Hotel Centro Congressi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Messina Marine, 91, 90123 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
sao paulo, brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful reception service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very poor location, far from city center. Rooms are OK but not 4* at all. Reception staff seems to hate tourists. Lacks courtesy and even good manners. Bar and restaurant service is average and personnel try to be frindlier. Poor breakfast. All in all it was not a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    54
    81
    25
    20
See reviews for
21
65
9
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The rooms are dirty ,the carpets are filthy.The lifts were dirty.The breakfast was very poor and smell like old.The rooms smell as toiletThis hotel is not 4star at all,its more as B &B.The towels were dirty.Only the bar persons were good.

Room Tip: Very bad in any sense for a 4 star hotel,not helping at the reception at all,very dirty,bad food and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very basic hotel bit off from the action. Along the road that has heavy traffic and it's a bit of a walk to the central, but bus is a good way to travel here. Hotel staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. This hotel does the thing, but no luxury here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very 1970s style hotel, but it has a small gym, roof top swimming pool
(take a swmming hat, other wise they charge you 1.50 euro for one, and it is obligitory to wear one), and we had a fantastic sea view- amazing view!
The bathroom is clean, but does have a dowdy feel to it ( and a shower curtain, can't stand shower curtains in hotels). The staff are fine, no problems there. The restaurant is nice, and breakfast not bad at all. We paid 90 euros per night.
There is a bus stop opposite, with 3 buses that go into town -10 -15 mins on the bus, and we didnt pay for them- you are supposed to but tickets at the main bus station, but as we didnt know this, we just played dumb- anyway, local people get on the back doors of the bus as you are allowed to do so, and avoid paying. Last buses leave Palermo centre about 7.30pm, as it is not recommended to be in the city after 8pm- apparently lots of robbers, and has we had a young child we didnt want to risk it. A taxi from the centre to the hotel costs about 10-15 euros.
The hotel was fine, but Palermo I am afraid to say is rather run down- if you go to Sicily, make sure you don't go just to Palermo, but explore of areas- so beautiful and the people are amazingly friendly and happy.
Compared to other hotels in Sicily, this one was value for money; we stayed in some hotels twice the price of this one, and none of the facilities that this one has.

Room Tip: On check in I wondered why the receptionist was looking at me with pity in her eyes, it was because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Booked for 7 days, checking out after 1 night. Horrible view from our room (unfinished high rise building) on the 10th floor, bunch of dogs barking in the morning, no access to the sea, dirty shower, no english channels on tv, bar near the swimming pool closed, looks like this hotel is empty even in a mid season - (just 2 of us in a bar near the restaurant), dinner menu not translated with a very limited choice, no pool tables, etc...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on our first trip to Palermo. The hotel is within walking distance of the centre (20 mins to Station) but there is a bus service also. The rooms and bed are large and comfortable. Although the furniture in the room is a little dated, we had everything we needed for a pleasant stay.
We ate 2 nights in the restaurant outside the hotel (literally out the door and on the left). It was super cheap and the food and wine was great. The breakfast in the hotel is great with a proper coffee machine so you can get a decent coffee in the morning. There is a large selection of food, from bacon, scrambled eggs to fruit, ham, cheese and pastries.
The staff were friendly and efficient.
The pool on the roof is beautiful. You do need to wear a hat in the pool but the attendant will give you these and add it to your bill (€1.50 for 2 hats). He will give you towels also.
Overall a great hotel and a good base for exploring Palermo, even if it is not in the dead centre. As regards the neighbourhood it seemed fine to me. If you are used to Italy you know it is not pristine at the best of times :-). We felt very safe walking around both at day and in the evening.
We took the bus to Monreale for €1.20 (you buy tickets for the bus in the tabacchi shops or at the booth next to the stop for Monreale in Piaza Independendza) and you punch it when you get on the bus. As far as I can see all bus tickets are €1.20 and this entitles you to 90 mins travel on the bus. Monreale is lovely to visit but beware it closes in the middle of the day. We were lucky to get 15 mins in the church before we were all herded out!
Overall Palermo worth the visit and this hotel is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Crossing the road in Palermo! - Go to a pedestrian crossing and just walk across. If you just put y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was clean and staff helpful but location is not good, outside of centre in a poor area of the city. Pool on roof with bar service was a slight redeeming factor

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Paolo Palace Hotel Centro Congressi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Paolo Palace Hotel Centro Congressi

Address: Via Messina Marine, 91, 90123 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — San Paolo Palace Hotel Centro Congressi 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated overlooking the sea, between Capo Zafferano & Mount Pellegrino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Paolo Palace Hotel Centro Congressi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Paolo Palace Palermo
San Paolo Palace Hotel Centro Congressi Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Paolo Palace Hotel Centro Congressi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.