We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel ....but room I had booked was not what I got!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Centrale Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Centrale Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Centrale Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Vittorio Emanuele 327, 90134 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Average hotel ....but room I had booked was not what I got!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

After reading some positive reviews of this hotel I decided it ticked all the boxes for me. I had arrangted to meet friends in Palmermo so a single room is what I was looking for. On checking options on this hotel's website I noted a double room for single occupancy was offered. I passed up on other superior hotels based on the offer of a double bed for single occupancy which I had clearly ticked on my expedia reservation. Understandably I was very annoyed and was also annoyed by the attitiude of the staff who as much as told me ' tough luck buddy' I tried not to let it spoil my otherwise excellent holiday in Palermo. Staff in general not very nice at this hotel.

Room Tip: I got a room at the front of hotel ( despite looking also for a quiet room at the back) however than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    172
    79
    42
    19
See reviews for
65
201
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I spent three nights in a junior suite, which at the rates offered, is affordable. The hotel is a grand dame of the past, it's beautiful, but could be updated. The staff was exceptional, in particular Mauricio, who gave me a tour of the facilities, which probably should have been done at reception, but wasn't. The roof terrace restaurant is exceptional, one of the best views in all of Palermo, and the food is excellent! My only complaint is the lack of Wifi throughout; it's currently only available in the lobby, but very spotty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toulouse
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our last night before flying back to France, after a twelve-day trip round Sicily. It was the worst night spent in a hotel ever! First, they gave us a small room which looked OK: the deco was dated but all I cared about was that it was clean and it had a shower. Except, it wasn't clean: there was mold in the shower ( I am not the best housekeeper in the world by far but that much mold is not acceptable even to my standards!) , the air-conditioning was extremely noisy but not doing its job, the curtains were a doggy colour, as if they had never been washed, there were stains on the lampshades:I could carry on with this list but worst of all was ..... the smell! It was like being in an old dungeon; the room was obviously never vented.
My husband went to complain and the concierge came to spray some kind of industrial deodorant, which made the smell completely unbearable. We waited in the lobby ( the only place where you could get internet without paying by the way and apparently, fresh air), then returned to our room and decided that there was no way we were going to spend the night there. We took our bags to the front desk,asking to change the room. They gave us a bigger room for the same price and my husband went to check it with the concierge before taking the key.However, my husband didn't think about checking the bathroom and as soon as I opened the door, I was greeted with the lovely smell of sewage! On top of that , the air-conditioning wasn't working. Fast forward few hours: it's three o'clock in the morning, I can't stand the heat in the room no longer ( and I am from Morocco, so I can usually take quite a bit of heat!), nor the smell and go down to sit in the lobby. In a desperate attempt, my husband puts the air-conditioning on its hottest setting and it works!
What a disappointing last night in Palermo! The only positive points would be the good service and the location. They really need to throw some money in to turn this hotel into the palace it pretends to be. Until then, don't bother!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Victoria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

In early July 2013 we went on a bus trip with our two sons and one son's girlfriend. We used Back Roads Tours who were fantastic. The bus trip was really worthwhile. There was a big age difference but we all got on very well. Our first hotel was Centrale Palace Hotel in Palermo. It was very central and clean. Breakfast room and the breakfast was fantastic. The staff on the desk weren't that friendly they were ok. Palermo is a busy city with lots of contrasts. We did a great walking tour with a local guide we visited one of the famous churches. Then we were taken up to Monreale which was very different to downtown Palermo. It was a lovely village on top of the city. Palermo is a good place to start your visit to Sicily as everything changes as you travel around Sicily.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked this hotel for the final two nights of a 2 week tour of Sicily, keeping the 'best' for the end. Although the location for the centre of Palermo is great, some rooms are not quite as nice as others. We had 2 rooms on the 4th floor, very convenient for the roof terrace bar, one overlooking the 'courtyard' which was basically shutters, and the second overlooking the street which was very noisy. However, the bathrooms were very cramped and dated, the air con didn't work and the passageways were very noisy so not brilliant for a good nights rest. We asked the hotel reception to try to fix the aircon, which they said they had, but it was not working; the heat was unbearable and the following morning we asked to change rooms. The man on reception was very helpful and we were moved to the 3rd floor and had two bedrooms with updated bathrooms, aircon that worked, and a view of a side wall. The new bedrooms were more comfortable, but the hassle of having to move broke the ambiance of the stay. However, trying to enjoy the final couple of days in Sicily, we had two visits to the terrace bar (expensive but worth the convenience, roof top views, ice cold wine, nice nibbles and friendly service from a female waitress), and decided to book the breakfast (surly service, sparkling wine which ran out, hot dogs, single rasher of bacon, nice decor with lots of chandeliers, machine coffee, 48 Euros for 4 of us) and we used the parking facilities (30 Euros for 2 days). All in all, I would recommend for location, but the restaurant and breakfast service was poor. The reception service was efficient and eventually sorted us into 2 rooms which we were very grateful for, but the overall impression was that we'd book elsewhere next time, cost was high, and that there was little magic to the stay. The lobby is a cool haven from the street and serves water in jugs by the reception with some apples (bit soft and woody, but a nice touch).

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room and check that the air con actually works. The front rooms are noisy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ny
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

To come in off the busy street and be greeted by such surroundings is very nice. It was a palace and still has some luxury touches. The sitting room where we gathered, and used wi-fi was very comfortable. Our room was large and faced an inside courtyard...very quite. Some rooms on the street were however unpleasantly noisy. As with many European hotels practically every room is different.
The breakfast, always important to us, was very good....with a ricotta caked unmatched in our 2 weeks in Sicily. There was also Prosecco for breakfast, a nice touch.
The rooftop was nice and there were several places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hi,

Like any of us trying to book a hotel not far from the centre of the city, from the buss/rail station, a descent breakfast and of course affordable. This hotel has all and more. When I checked the facilities of the hotel I did not realize how huge, spacious, wonderful colors, ceramic and much more the wonderful terrace on the top with a view of the city, air fresh, good service and a place you feel you are important. I advise this hotel for any one. The pictures will show more than my words. Thank you

Room Tip: My room was 'single room' but the bed was bigger than the double one. The bathroom was immen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centrale Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrale Palace Hotel

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 327, 90134 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centrale Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Centrale Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Palace Palermo
Hotel Centrale Palace
Centrale Palace Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centrale Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.