We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, slow service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Centrale Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Centrale Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Centrale Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Vittorio Emanuele 327, 90134 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location, slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Great location and beautiful old style hotel building.

Parking for small cars cost you 15 euro per night. Because of the road blocks it was not easy to find our way to the hotel.

Service depends on the people. They easily let you wait for 10 minutes for getting your car, or a drink at the bar of the hotel. It depends on the people... The first bartender was great, friendly and positive. The next day the woman who helped us was ignoring us, unfriendly and not service minded. That's not the level of service I expect.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    180
    80
    43
    20
See reviews for
68
207
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The location is great, the hotel is a former palace, it's breakfast room is impressive, but the hotel is showing it's age. Some of the furniture in the lobby needs a cleaning, paint is peeling off windows and rust coated our (tiny) shower stall. The building seemed tired.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We are not used to stay in such a kind of hotels : we love to sleep in our tent. This hotel was for us a very good hotel : the clothing of the personnel, the friendly reception, you didn't have to take your own luggage;
We had a very great room, perfectly in order.
The building itself is very lovely and you are directly in the center of Palermo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel was once a magnificent property. The lobby is lovely -- only tarnished by the staff's overly aloof attitudes. Our room was once well decorated but now quite tired and dingy. The breakfast had many offerings but the quality and flavor were very mediocre.

As mentioned by other reviewers, this hotel is as centrally located as you can get. We were able to walk everywhere: opera, cathedral, palazzo reale, and markets. Although we had a car, I would not recommend trying to drive in Palermo -- it is insane. The hotel does not have an area to park while unloading luggage and checking in, so double parking in Palermo's crazy traffic was the only option. One of the reasons I selected this hotel was because it had private parking facilities. I had reserved a parking place, which meant we turned the keys over to a hotel employee and hoped for the best. We later discovered my husband had left his sport coat in the back seat, so we requested the keys and directions to the car to retrieve it. We were horrified to discover that it is the hotel's policy to leave the cars unlocked with the keys in them! They must feel their garage is very secure and all of their guests who have access to it are very honest. Our car was still waiting in the garage when we were ready to depart Palermo. If you do need to park a car at this hotel, be sure to make a reservation (and reconfirm it)-- their spaces are limited and the next guest to check in after me thought they had a reservation but the hotel did not have any more parking spaces.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent location in the centre of Palermo. Our room was quite large and had a huge balcony. The room was very quite which was appreciated after the noise and chaos of Palermo. Reception very friendly and helpful. Everything clean, large bathroom. Bar was efficient and very friendly - thank you Roberto! Of special note is the roof top restaurant, best spot we went to in Palermo for dinner, fantastic views. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Agree with other reviews. Great location, beautiful old building, rooms a bit dingy. I want to add that the views from the hotel rooftop restaurant Ai Tetti are spectacular, paticularly at sunset. We started and ended our two week vacation with dinner here. The food is nothing to get excited about but perfectly acceptable. The view however and being able to sit outside in the middle of the city and watch the sun set and the seagulls overhead was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've never been to a hotel that had its own brochure before. This was a palace in the 1900's & has an old-fashioned decor that fits the period. As others have mentioned, it's very near the 4 corners & close to the Cathedral. The lobby & public rooms are quite nice; the breakfast room is stunning. There is a nice variety of food although nothing cooked to order. The rooftop terrace has a high cover charge (5 Euros), but a wonderful view. The meals the 7 of us ate there varied in quality. It is worth it for a splurge. The rooms varied in size and view (or lack of it). I prefer quiet, so I didn't mind looking out on a narrow alley, with the apartment building next door quite close. There was good sound-proofing, though, so with the windows and French doors closed, I couldn't hear anything. It bugged me that you either had all the lights on or off (via the key placed in the spocket). The fitted shower enclosure had mold in it, which several of the people in our group had as well. There was ice water in the lobby, which was refreshing on some of the warm days.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room on the side of the hotel. If you want a lively view, ask for one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centrale Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrale Palace Hotel

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 327, 90134 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centrale Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Centrale Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Palace Palermo
Hotel Centrale Palace
Centrale Palace Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centrale Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.