We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Centrale Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Centrale Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centrale Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Vittorio Emanuele 327, 90134 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 98 hotels in Palermo
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Central location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This old aristocratic residence from the 18th century still keeps some impressive remains in the lobby, centrall hallway and dining rooms full of marble columns, frescos and statues. But as the public areas were impressive, the rooms, not at all. Small and simple compared to the luxury of the lobby. The staff, a mix of good and bad. Some helpfull, others appalling. The breakfast was ok, but not to the standard of 4*
The parking is down the alley and very tight for a medium car.
Overall not a good value for money.

Room Tip: Front rooms are very noisy so pick a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    164
    77
    42
    16
See reviews for
58
175
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We loved this hotel. It's a former princes' palace that was re-furbished and turned into a hotel in the early 2000s. It's true, the standard rooms are a bit spartan, but we were out most of the day anyway and stayed here a week. The public rooms are quite grand and most of their guests seem to be Italian and some tour groups. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous, so much to choose from. You can make your own cannolo. Smoked salmon. Very strong coffee which I mixed with hot water. It's in the old part of the city which is quite beautiful but a bit faded. Sicily is one of the poorest regions of Europe, so there are still some WWII bombed out buildings that they can't afford to replace. Palermo is authentic and unpretentious. In most hotels we stayed in in Sicily (3), Wifi was "challenged." I would stay in this hotel again because it genuinely felt like Italy. If you want something upscale with all the American amenities, go stay at the Hilton.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband I stayed at this hotel for one night in September. The photos in the brochures and online make the hotel look in better shape than it is. I have to agree with the other travelers that call it rundown and faded. Palermo's historic district also seemed run down and poorly taken care of. A shame when you consider this is their heritage. Many buildings on the same street were shuttered and covered with graffiiti. It seemed like this area had seen far better days. When we arrived at the hotel, there was no doorman or anyone to help us with our luggage. We didn't make a fuss, we just carried our own bags and made our way to our room. After just now reading a few more recent reviews than were available before we booked, I guess there are renovated rooms and older rooms. We clearly got an older room. Since it was just one night, we didn't ask if there was anything better. We were supposedly in a junior suite. While it did have a small room in addition to the bedroom and bathroom, all three rooms were showing their age and very starkly decorated - very depressing. I also have to concur with others who had trouble with wifi in the lobby. It only worked for a short time while we were there. The front desk did attempt to get it back online but unsuccessfully. Breakfast was equally depressing. There were not enough servers, a huge hole in the ceiling of the breakfast room and one of the worst cups of coffee I've ever had. We chose this hotel because it was in the heart of the historic center of Palermo. For those considering visiting the historic center, I'd suggest trying to find a hotel near the new areas of the city - maybe near the theater or Palantine Chapel which was very beautiful (like a mini-Monreal).

Room Tip: Don't make our mistake, ask for a renovated room. But, better yet, find a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariehamn, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the hotel only for one night, but as we experienced the room was comfortable, nice and clean, the bed was really big-size. We came to the hotel very late and had to have something to eat. The restaurant was closed and so was the restaurants nearby but a very friendly man in the bar made us some snacks for us to survive the night. Even the staff in the reception was friendly and helpful. The breakfast not so exciting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I had a nice three day stay in this historical building, right in the historical centre of the city. It has all the grandeur one could expect from such an old palace. The terrace overlooking the city is wonderful.
The room I stayed in (neoclassical) was comfortable and had all the amenities a modern hotel would expect. It was not bigger than the cheaper classical rooms which have the same size, so maybe no need to pay the difference.
The only drawbacks were the internet that was not working at all and the staff who could smile a little more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Location in heart of centro storico is good. Hotel has great old bones and renovated rooms in good condition (there was construction noise during the day). If you want a renovated room, I believe you should ask for a "new" room; ""classic" rooms are the unrenovated ones.

But I would not stay there again, and would recommend only for first-time visitors who want to be in heart of old city. Hotel is part of Angala chain and books many tour groups; service, especially front desk service, can be indifferent the way it often is at such hotels. Actually, in this case I might go so far as to call it arrogantly indifferent.

Alleged free lobby wI-fi didn't work the entire time I was there (3 nights) and hotel didn't seem to be able to get a grip on this problem.

I liked Palermo and if I were to go there again I would instead stay perhaps around the opera house, via della Liberta, or in Kalsa.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was really hard to pick a hotel in Palermo, since many had mixed reviews. This hotel was centrally located righ by the Quattro Conti, markets and fountain.

When I arrived, I was supried to see that my significantly ugraded room was a little shabby, especially in the bathroom. The towels were ragged and there was mold in the adequate, but not luxurious shower. Understandably, Palermo is not the jewel of Sicily, but I did expect better.

My biggest gripe, however was the attitude at the front desk. I asked fthe clerk to make a reservation at a Michelin starred restaurant nearby and the clerk outright refused. He said, "I don't know the restaurants on your list and the hotel has a good restaurant." He then walked away. I was so shocked. I went to my room before returning to the front desk and insisting the restaurant I wanted to visit was called. Unbelievable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centrale Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrale Palace Hotel

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 327, 90134 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Centrale Palace Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Centrale Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Palace Palermo
Hotel Centrale Palace
Centrale Palace Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centrale Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.