We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel et Des Palmes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel et Des Palmes to your Saves list
Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 398, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€80 (EUR)
Ranked #26 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were for a few days in Palermo. The hotel is very well located. We changed room because we didn't like it and they were very helpful. It's a huge hotel, actually it takes a while to get to your room, but the location is fantastic so is the place itself, an old private house (huge by the way!!). Old style decoration but beautiful. If you don't like noise, please ask for the rooms into the quiet street, not into Via Roma which is a very busy street. And good price too.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    262
    120
    46
    22
See reviews for
91
313
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed four nights at this hotel, as part of an organized tour. The hotel most have been "grand" in its heyday but in the present/today, it is somewhat run down. The carpets in the staircase, as well as the elevators, could use some refurbishing. Our room was very small but functional. There was no free internet in the rooms, only in the lobby. On the positive side, the daily buffet breakfast and the one dinner provided at the hotel, were very adequate. The staff at the restaurant and bar was serviceable and attentive.

Alitalia lost our luggage for several days. Worst airline ever. We found the mature men staff, working at the reception, less than helpful. They could not have cared less. Under the stressful days without luggage, they could have been more understanding, serviceable and less rude.When we inquired about the luggage they always responded, "Two days, that is "normal". By the contrary, the younger staff, both men and women, were considerate and even made phone calls to find out the whereabouts of our suitcases. People that work in the hospitality business need to remember that they have a job, thanks to all of us tourists. They should try and be more pleasant!

Overall, the hotel is well located, to many restaurants and major attractions but if we ever return, we would definitely stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Such character, take the time to sit in the lobby bar and enjoy a beverage while watching people going about their business. Has a real 'old world' feel to it. Carpeting needs to be replaced it is pretty ragged in some places...but it IS very good quality. Rooms are very nice, with a lovely bathroom. Spacious.

Breakfast is beautiful The staff will get you a cappucino, avoid the coffee pot...get a fresh coffee. The room itself if very 'Versailles' mirrors, statues, gilding.....lovely.

Just the staff put a damper on our stay....VERY pretentious, and off putting. We sat down a the lobby bar at 2:10 in the afternoon hoping for a drink but the barman was closing down, but he never said he was closing...just totally ignored us. Went away, came back, still ignored us totally....NOT very nice.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel, full of character. The hotel has a beautiful main entrance, very appealing and with lots of classic charm, we'll worth a visit. Grand is within walking distance of all the major sights in Palermo.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is the live witness of a era of opulence of the city of Palermo, capital of the region of Sicily and once one of the most influence city of western Europe. Well maintained, still preserve the beauty of the past with stained glass windows, mirrors, paintings, furniture and the charm of the old good days. Very well located, plenty of restaurants, shopping, landmarks and historical places to be visit just walking. Good soundproof windows assure a quiet slipping.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in early November with my husband while visiting Sicily. Since it was supposedly the "off season" in Sicily, we had absolutely no problems getting around. No crowds at any sites, or in this hotel. This hotel must have been something in its heyday! But now it is in dire need of a makeover. There is not enough staff either, although they try their best. I felt like this hotel is operating on a shoe string.
The temp the day we arrived was well into the mid-high 80's (and sunny), but the AC had been turned off on November 1st. What? The woman at the front desk tried her best to help, but I'm not sure she was capable of figuring this one out. They did get us a fan though, and the room was comfortable. I will say the rug and upholstery in our room was in dire need of replacement. The breakfast, included in the room price, was OK, but not as nice as most of the other hotels we stayed in in Sicily. Again, not enough staff.
I can not recommend this hotel highly. It is OK at best.
Loved all the sites in Palermo! Great restaurants too.... Sicily is really a treasure.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimmo F, Direttore at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, November 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very sorry to know we haven’t satisfied your expectations.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Stayed here for four nights in Nov. This must have been a spectacular hotel back in the day because some of the common rooms and the lobby are very grand. As some of the other reviews have mentioned it does need some work, but overall really not that bad. The only complaint was that the hot water in our room did not work, but we got a different room within minutes.
Minutes walking from most tourist destinations and in a better area than most of those places. Hotel staff spoke pretty good English and were extremely helpful. Solid breakfast in the mornings and free wifi in the lobby. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel et Des Palmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et Des Palmes

Address: Via Roma 398, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Palermo
#13 Business Hotel in Palermo
#17 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel et Des Palmes 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATED IN THE HISTORICAL CENTRE OF PALERMO, SICILYFounded in 1874 and renovated in 1907 by one of the great masters of the Art Nouveau Style, Ernesto Basile, the exquisite Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes hotel exudes historical charm. Grand decor of marble floors and antiques combine nicely with very latest technology to make your stay a memorable one. The recently restored restaurant, bar and banquet room can host all your personal and professional events in great style turning them into unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel et Des Palmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.