We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sicilian architectural and human warmth and hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel et Des Palmes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel et Des Palmes to your Saves list
Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 398, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€80 (EUR)
Ranked #26 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
Bruges, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sicilian architectural and human warmth and hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The history of this beautiful hotel goes back ages but the hospitality is impeccably contemporary. The hotel is situated walking distance away from the very heart of Palermo.
As I understood, not all of the rooms are brought to the same level of comfort yet. Some rooms are used in a state that is not quite acceptable to modern standards. The room we stayed in was of the highest quality, in all aspects.
And... many thanks to the friendly and helpful staff. They understand what service-industry really means: giving service to the customer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Kind regards
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    262
    119
    46
    22
See reviews for
91
313
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and were immediately immersed in history. The building is a classic example of Liberty architecture with all the period features that one would expect. The public areas are just spectacular, with marble statues wood panelling and tasteful decorations, reminders of the hotel's glorious past.
We stayed in a junior corner suite with ample space and french doors and windows that let plenty of light into the room. The suite was tastefully decorated with a separate seating area, plenty of wardrobe space and a well appointed marble bathroom with separate bath & shower area.
No request was to much for the hotel team. They always were helpful with a positive attitude and willing to go the extra mile to meet our expectations. From Reception staff to Housekeeping everyone greeted you with a smile.

The only blemishes in an otherwise excellent stay were:
-that the AC was not cooling enough (when I brought this to the attention of the maintenance team I was told that AC controls were centrally located and that guests could only set the fan speed and not the temperature)
-Breakfast service was slow on our first day- it seemed as if there were not enough service staff in the restaurant to cater for the number of guests they had. Still, service was courteous and we were really impressed with the quality and selection on offer. From freshly squeezed orange juice to mini canollis that you could fill with as much sweet ricotta as you desired.
-Location is not as central as one would expect. Palermo is a big city and although the hotel is close to some sites, it is rather far from the Duomo and the Castello dei Normannio (Palermo's main attractions).

A special mention goes to Mr. Sapienza, the hotel's GM who ensured that our stay would be a memorable one and even sent a farewell gift to our room on the last night of our stay.

Overall, we would definitively return to the Grand Hotel and would recommend to all our friends and family!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen the Grand Hotel et des Palmesl for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is located in the centre of town close to bars, restaurants, shops and night-life. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Self-service breakfast was good with plenty of choice and in a spectacular room. You may be told that breakfast starts at 7am but this is Sicilian time. If you need to be away early as we did on our final day you should note that at 7am no staff are to be seen; the door is opened several minutes later and various essential breakfast items (such as bread, milk) are not available until later still. This shouldn't spoil your stay as it's otherwise a very nice hotel of the Grand Tour period.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, General Manager at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best eveery day.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Grand HOtel et des PAlmes.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, sorry for the inconvenience during the breakfast, usually the bread is in hotel at 6.30 am.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Giovanni Sapienza
General Manager

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just got back from a week at this hotel. Well, we liked it! The location couldn't have been bettered. The staff were very helpful, and the faded charm of this old lady was delightful. OK so the corridor carpets could have been nicer but we didn't spend all day walking the corridors! The room was clean, and cleaned every day. Lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance. Also the concierge who was most helpful, arranged a day for us to go to Mondello and use a sister hotels' facilities and beach with transfers in the hotel bus. We also spent a very long day travelling to Mt. Etna, which was booked through the hotel. It was very tiring but worth it.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms don't have a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
We thank you, also, for having chosen Grand hotel et des Palmes for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Yours faithfully
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this property. The place itself feels like its glory days are behind it, but that in a way adds to the charm. IT feels like stepping into a time capsule, and in many ways summarises the charm of Palermo.
The service when we were checking was incredibly slow, but we quickly realised that that was the norm for Palermo during the "siesta" hours of 1.30 - 4.30...
Apart from that, the staff was helpful, nice, and friendly.
Location is fabulous.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame, thank you for your comments.
I hope to meet you in the future in Grand Hotel et Des Palmes.
Yours faithfully
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Oh dear... I’m sure back in its heyday it was a grand hotel with fantastic service but it is now like some poor old tired dog scavenging on the street... The hotel itself is very tired and dated, masking tape holding together some of the walls in the room corridors... sound of running water constantly in our bedroom from pipes somewhere in the building (sounded like on our heads...)

Staff are surly, when asked for a local trattoria we were barked a name and pointed in a direction but no map, no directions, no road name etc... poor. Breakfast was in a fantastic room but lots of people laying up empty tables and no-one actually serving, you literally had to go and speak to them to get a cup of coffee... Then to top it all off, we asked for them to bring our car when we were checking out and was still waiting for it an hour later. No explanation and when we spoke to them about it they were very dismissive, no apologies and actually argued with us! Never again... living off a very old reputation....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here for a week and enjoyed the stay. Had a room with its own roof top terrace. Very nice! Friendly and helpful staff. Nice rooms and bathrooms, but in order to get hot water to the shower you had to run the tap at least 5-10 minutes (wasteful!) - other than that everything was great. Rooms were cleaned properly. Breakfast was nice, but sometimes the staff couldn't manage keeping up with demand for clean tables/new guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel et Des Palmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et Des Palmes

Address: Via Roma 398, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Palermo
#14 Business Hotel in Palermo
#17 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel et Des Palmes 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATED IN THE HISTORICAL CENTRE OF PALERMO, SICILYFounded in 1874 and renovated in 1907 by one of the great masters of the Art Nouveau Style, Ernesto Basile, the exquisite Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes hotel exudes historical charm. Grand decor of marble floors and antiques combine nicely with very latest technology to make your stay a memorable one. The recently restored restaurant, bar and banquet room can host all your personal and professional events in great style turning them into unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel et Des Palmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.