We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Church of San Cataldo

Church of San Cataldo
Piazza Bellini, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Tribunali)
091-6161692
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 155 attractions in Palermo
Type: Religious Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This small church of San Cataldo was built in 1160, during the Norman occupation of Palermo.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The church is very small, but beautiful. I like this kind of churches.
But I think it's a crime to take money for a visit lasting 5 minutes or even less.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    57
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A not hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stopped by this afternoon to check and see when the church was open (my guidebook said mornings only) but in fact it was open and a pleasure to see. Two lovely women greet you (neither distracted on telefonino as is often typical) and help you!

I had a number of questions about the lovely little chapel - such as: Why are the domes painted red? They were able to answer me - in English even - and say that a small pink swatch of paint was found in the 19th century by the person restoring the church then and from that, the idea came that the domes had originally been painted red. In fact, they said, this is wrong - the domes were originally painted white. At any rate, it's pretty amazing that they haven't repainted it to WHITE. In addition, the other church - St. John of the Hermits - with red domes was painted in response to the same 19th century mistake. Now the red seems so iconic. And yet...I hope one day they will paint the domes white.

In addition there is a small book about the church (written in a very archaic and convoluted text, but at least there IS a book) available for sale of 2.5 EU which says that they believe the walls would have been covered with mosaics.

The feeling is quite lovely inside. I had to ask about The Knights, as well.

To me, this kind of Arab-Norman architecture is what is most unique about Palermo and what I look forward to reading up about when I get home from my trip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Top Contributor
394 reviews 394 reviews
199 attraction reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Arab-Norman structure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This former small Arab mosque converted by the Normans to a small catholic church looks nstunning with it's rich red dome. The church is being refurbished inside so it is closed for visits.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Sublime Simplicity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Peaceful, charming and inspiring, especially among the neighbouring churches. Worth a detour, together with San Giovanni degli Eremiti.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, België
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Superb little church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Located on a square that has no less than 3 churches. This small but elegant building is certainly one of the most interesting historical buildings of the city. Keep the tickets they give you right of access at a reduced fee to some of the other churches in Palermo.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of San Cataldo also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Church of San Cataldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church of San Cataldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Church of San Cataldo to your Saves list