We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an inspirational spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Four Corners (Quattro Canti)

The Four Corners (Quattro Canti)
Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Improve this listing
Visit The Four Corners (Quattro Canti) like an insider
Top Rated
$23*
and up
Palermo Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off...
Ranked #54 of 257 things to do in Palermo
Activities: Dining, Shopping, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The traditional center of Palermo called "Quattro Canti" (Four Corners) is located at the intersection of Corso Vittorio Emanuele and Via Maqueda, making it the heart of this city's old historic district.
Stromboli, Italy
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“It's an inspirational spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The early C17th ambition behind it is most impressive. As with many town plans in Sicily, I'm thinking in particular of Grammichele and Ortigia, the town planning is most impressive.

Piazza Vigliena, is defined by its eight borders, the four streets and the baroque quattro canti. The four seasons are here in stone, along with kings, patronesses, fountains and statues, all in curved facades. It's neatly balanced.

It's an inspirational spot - it good be a stage set instead of a busy city junction - it certainly inspired me!

Go and see for yourself.
It might inspire you too.
Oh how I do love Sicily so.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    70
    32
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, CT
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I was amazed when our carriage drive brought us through this area. The detail and artwork/ carvings on the building were amazing. Gave me goosebumps.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pretty boring”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We saw the corner several times on our trip to Palermo. It's really not an attraction. Everything is pretty hard to find in Palermo and its all pretty dirty and smelly and full of traffic so I wouldn't go out of my way to come to this.

I'm amazed that anyone would think any different? Maybe the positive reviewers work for the tourist office or haven't seen much in their lives.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dirty, but charming.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This was spectacular. A very busy junction in the heart of the city where tourists stop to gape at the statues adorning the 4 corners of the buildings. It was beautiful, but busy, and dirty, and crammed with cars and horsedrawn carriages. Each corner illuminates as the day goes by. My advice is to start at the seafront where you can see the length of street all the way up to an old arch. Walk up past the sunday markets and find the Fontana Pretoria on the left shortly before the Quattro Canti, follow the road up past the souvenir shops to the Cathedral on the right, then continue on through the arch to the Palazzo dei Normanni. One street, containing the best attractions this city has to offer.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malahide, Ireland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Weekend in Palermo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Nice sight, a little touristy but not overpowering. Lot of litter around

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Four Corners (Quattro Canti) also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to The Four Corners (Quattro Canti)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Four Corners (Quattro Canti), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.