We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Go” 1 of 5 stars
Review of NH Palermo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added NH Palermo to your Saves list
NH Palermo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Foro Italico | Kalsa District, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Tribunali)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #45 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harrow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't Go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Should have read the reviews before i booked. Hotel was dirty. The first room we were given had a view of a block of flats, Mold in the bathroom, 1 large towel. 2nd room after we made a fuss still had mold in the bathroom. They bought more towels eventually. The view was stunning from the balcony but the glass on the balcony was broken and the windows have probably never been cleaned. Overall the hotel was dirty, the staff were very unhelpful. OH YES AND THE POOL WAS CLOSED. 26 degrees outside and no pool!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel. Of if you have already booked. make a fuss and get upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    217
    147
    87
    78
See reviews for
76
176
25
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I agree with the poor reviews. We were with a group and most of them has the same bad experience as us. Had to call reception to ask for a brand new bath towel as my wife found the towel lying on a stain bathroom floor. It seem the floor was never clean. Carpet very old and dirty. Had to use slipper all the time. Bathroom ceiling with a lot of dried water stain. Found out on the last day that there are two kind of rooms , one is situated at the very end overlooking the sea. Wondering if they are call executive rooms. Luckily we check out very early on the second night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The lobby isn't bad at all, but wait till you get to your room! I'm not sure if the staff members have vacuums but, if so, they didn't use one in our first floor premium room. I wonder if anyone has EVER cleaned the mold from the bathtub...rather doubtful. Some of the lights work, some don't. The beds are not good -bed springs stick in your back throughout what turned out to be a rather sleepless night. The phone was out of order and the shower allows water to spread across the floor unabated. Ok, so what was good.....as I said, the lobby isn't bad at all.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We read some fairly negative reviews regarding this hotel,but chose to book despite this because of the location and pool.The hotel is situated along the sea front towards the port,there is a fantastic restaurant close by called the Kalsa club with a good menu representing local,fish,pasta and pizza dishes (it is very good value too! )Ice cream parlour next door equally good. Staff in Hotel were polite, very helpful and attentive and were great for local knowledge tips.If you want to be picky one could highlight the worn carpets and the tired decor which needs a little updating,but then the value is second to none.Breakfast was ample and a good choice for all palets.We made the most of the location,the wonderful Abatellis Museum is just a short walk away as are the bus and train stations.Palermo is a wonderful city with much to offer,I'm only too glad the masses head for the touristy sites further afield and seem to bypass this great Baroque masterpiece. Cefalu is one hour away on the train and well worth a visit...Superb!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you are thinking on coming to this hotel because is a NH don't do it. It is a hole, better sleeping in the car. After complaining the receptionist moved us to another room ("superior"). See the pictures attached, no more words needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We originally booked an 11 night stay in Palermo, simply with the view to having a relaxing getaway, which was actually very reasonable in terms of cost. HOWEVER, the first room we were offered really was uninhabitable. The floor was filthy, the 70s melamine was peeling off every surface and the twin bed (we'd booked a double) was decidedly uncomfortable. There was a true "musty" odour the whole room was more than a little bit depressing.

Having arrived at the hotel at around 1am, the hotel staff politely explained that they wouldn't be able to do much about it that evening, but to speak to someone the following day.

The next day, I explained in my best Italian that it was all very well having booked only a Standard Room, but the difference between the hotel website pictures and the reality meant that it could have been two totally different hotels! Eventually, we were moved to a better room, though the carpet was still rather dirty and the space a little dusty.

With regards to everything else, there's not an awful lot to either moan about, or indeed praise... the breakfast is great, though it can get a little repetitive and there is only so much luke-warm scrambled eggs that one person can stomach. However, there's a typical continental choice, with delicious bread, baked on the premises.

The pool is fine - though there weren't enough sunbeds for everyone and we took to reserving ours before breakfast with a couple of surreptitious towels!

There are lots of places to eat - if you follow the coast road to the left, you'll find a couple of very nice restaurants, but if you go around he back streets, there are some really lovely little hideaway tavernas and bars.

Finally, DON'T STAY IN PALERMO FOR 11 NIGHTS!!!!!!!!! We started to go a little stir-crazy after the 4th day, so we booked a car (yes, you take your life in your hands) and visited Agrigento, Syracusa and Mount Etna, which meant that we saw lots of Sicily. If you're only planning on visiting the island once, do go to some other places, as they're beautiful and it's great to get out of the city for a bit. We took the netbook and booked a couple of additional hotels on the way - expect to pay around 60 Euros a night for a double room.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior - the ones with the view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Pl
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have read more opinions about this hotel and change my mind taking the better (more expensive) room. Good decision - sea view, comfortable, fine quality.
I have been staying there for two weeks - just a few opinions:
(+)
a) nice breakfast (be prepared for the same menu ;)
b) great swimming pool - you don't need to fight for place, just a few people in pool; so important for our 5 years old son ;)
(-)
a) acoustic - we must change the room and need assistance of staff because of so loud neighbours ( till 6 a.m. we heard rumours, music, tv)

Room Tip: just superior - sea or garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Palermo

Address: Foro Italico | Kalsa District, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palermo
#27 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Palermo 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Palermo hotel overlooks the gorgeous Gulf of Palermo and is located right next to the city's botanical gardens. Its location is perfect for both business travelers and tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your NH Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Palermo Hotel Palermo
Palermo Jolly Hotel
Jolly Hotel Palermo
NH Palermo Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Palermo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.