We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Sitano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Sitano to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Sitano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Emanuele, 114, IT-90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here for a five night city break in Nov 2012. The weather was mild and bright, perfect for sight seeing. We took a the bus to and from the airport to the hotel, this was easy and inexpensive. Excellent location, perfect for getting around to all the sights, we walked just about everywhere. I would stay at this hotel again and I would recommend it to others.

Our room was modern and clean with a large comfortable bed. We had one or two minor issues with our room, and these were rectified soon after we advised reception.
For me the only downside to the room was the lack of good lighting available,
(I'm not being picky here), the type of artificial lighting, much of it dim, made applying my make up a struggle.

I think they could improve on the breakfast and the breakfast room service.
A free in room safe is provided for valuables, (some hotels charge for this which I strongly disagree with).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    244
    74
    25
    20
See reviews for
66
307
24
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hotel is located in the middle of the historial center of Palermo in walking distance to all important monuments. There are also hip and nice restaurants in the streets around the hotel.

The Hotel itself is an old palace newly refurbished with great combination of modern interior design and attention to details regarding the old substance (e.g., we had a room with beautifully painted ceilings).

The personnel was extremely friendly and helpful.

In the morning they offered a very good breakfast - for Italian breakfast standards absolutely outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This beautiful hotel is located in the centre of the Old town of Palermo. Close to everything, you don't need use any public transport to do your sightseeing. The rooms very clean and comfortable! The staff helpful and friendly. You have to taste the breakfast, delicious!! PCs use is free!! Ideal for family holidays!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Does the job. Standard 4star business for a standard price. No surprises.

Decor slightly thrown together. Breakfast decent enough nothing special.

We had a "comfort" room the view was terrible out the back into dirty courtyards and building sites

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The last couple of years has seen the old city become the place of entrepreneurial spirit and the cleaning up of many impressive buildings.
The hotel is great for those wanting to feel the old Palermo - in one direction under a 15 minute walk from the Central Station (for the airport, the bus is the quickest option / train takes around 1hr and marked Punta Raisi not aeroporto) or the opposite direction just minutes from the board walkways of the main shopping streets. Due north you will get to the Cathedral.
This is a relaxed hotel with high standards of modern design though a little cookie cutter in styling. You can see the internal arches of the old palazzo in the breakfast room. Talking of which is fine – good I suppose if you love cake of which there is a huge array to try. Personally some interesting breads would have been preferred. Lovely staff.
Just opposite the hotel is what we have fondly re named 'mojito alley’ - a small street of about 8 bars that at night are filled with a colourful assortment of chairs and tables. A great place to start the evening and the only drawback is that if you have a bedroom on the front on a Friday or Saturday night there is a murmur of noise till late. Ask for a back room it that bothers you.
2 streets away is our best find - a wine bar of exceptional value – Schiticchio, Piazza Marina 5/6 and a meeting place of 'young professionals' with the dulcet tones of Nat King Cole. Excellent sharing plates of local speciality hams and cheeses - at 8 - 12 euros. We ended up here two nights running and served by the very good Mariko.
Two good trips: the beach at Mondello just gorgeous with its art deco pier and chilled beach bars – take the 806 bus from Politeama on main shopping street. Day trip by train to Cefalu – about an hour away. Good fresh plate of seafood with a view over the sea at il covo del Pirata.

Room Tip: On the back it you want to avoid the noise from the weekend bars near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Centrally located hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. Expensive. Very good full breakfast buffet (cold and hot), free snacks in the bar early evening, free use of PCs in the bar area. Nice decor, good beds, good showers and towels. Would visit again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the outside corner of the building, there's a jolly late night bar across the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were there for five nights in January on holiday. The central location was excellent for us: on arrival we were able to walk from the airport bus stop at the railway station, and we were able to do most of our sightseeing on foot. The room was spacious and comfortable - we had an especially large bed. Although the room overlooked the Via Vittorio Emanuele, we were not disturbed by any noise.

Breakfast was served in what appeared to be a converted courtyard. It was a large and beautiful room , but also very cold and draughty. The breakfast itself was generous and varied, with a wide choice of cold and hot foods, although we were disappointed that there was only a machine for coffee and we had to ask for fresh coffee to be brought from the bar. This was done very willingly and with a smile. While all the staff were courteous and helpful, generally speaking smiles were quite rare.

We would happily recommend this hotel to visitors to Palermo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Sitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Sitano

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele, 114, IT-90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Palermo
#14 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Sitano 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Sitano is located in a fully renovated “palazzo” from the 18th century.The former convent skillfully combines traditional architecture with modern interior design in a light, airy, friendly way.The hotel’s common areas include a gorgeous arcade hall where breakfast is served, a modern bar with comfy lounge furniture, a cushy library with business stations and a small wellness area.Its 86 rooms and suites with modern amenities and comfortable beds feature mainly clear, sleek lines mixed with small playful details.The hotel is located in the heart of Palermo’s old town near the historical harbor, it is fully air conditioned and it offers a conference room equipped with modern technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Sitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzo Sitano Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Sitano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.