We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned, clean, modern and good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Sitano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Sitano to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Sitano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Emanuele, 114, IT-90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Antibes, France
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Well positioned, clean, modern and good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and found the hotel to be in an excellent spot, an easy walk to all of the areas of old Palermo and the main shopping areas. Close by is a large supermarket and many good restaurants. The breakfast was very good, fresh, good quality food with a large variety. Order an expresso or coffee from the waiter and it will be made from the coffee machine in the bar. There is 30 minutes free wifi each day per room which may not be enough if you are a business traveller, ask at the desk for your code. Our room was very clean and well equipped and we found the men at the front desk to be cheerful and helpful. The beds are good and the hotel quiet at night. We would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    227
    71
    23
    19
See reviews for
63
295
24
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belgië
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Palazzo Sitano is located ideal for a city break in Palermo, historic city & museum can be visited walking from the hotel.
Being an authentic building, nicely & stylish renovated to serve the clients with all the comfort they need.
Nice breakfast & friendly staff.

Just one remark : no wifi available in the rooms. (but available in the common space (but with daily changing passwords etc ....

Don't miss the bars / terraces in the street just outside the hotel to close you're day after strolling in old palermo

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had previously booked a 5 star hotel, but due to the reviews read on TA we changed our booking to Palazzo Sitano. Unfortunately, our opinion is different from the other reviewer and we wished we hadn't changed. We were quite disappointed with this hotel.
The outside is ugly and in urgent need of repair. Inside it is ok, but it doesn’t deserve 5 points. I would say 3,5 is fair enough. They made a bit of a mess with our reservation that was quickly fixed, so they gave us an upgraded room as an apology.
The room looked nice with contemporary furniture and a small wal-in closet. The sheets and towels were new.
The bathroom needed some maintenance (see photo) and there were no amenities. Instead, they had those awful plastic containers glued to the walls of the shower and of the sink filled with a green liquid soap. It looked terrible and I just kept wondering how many months ago had it been, since they last changed it, and how many guests used the same container. Yuk!
Breakfast was quite ordinary and the coffee came from a Nescafé machine, and the noise of loud music mixed with that of silverware and plates thrown around, on purpose, by the waiters, made us have our morning meal hastily so as to run out of the room as fast as possible.
Parking is about a block away on a square as they don’t have a parking garage. They give you 30 minutes of free internet, so we didn’t bother to use theirs.
We don’t think we will be going back to Palermo, but in case we do, perhaps we will try out some other place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights in oct . Exterior looks unassuming but in side is like a tardis . Beautiful contemporary design and friendly English speaking staff . Not too common in Sicily . Very nice buffet breakfast and super evening snacks in the bar , free of charge . Rooms are contemporary , roomy and functional . All tourist attractions within walking distance and very good public transport . Only downside was that we didn't discover we should have had a balcony , whirlpool bath , sofa , bathrobes and slippers etc until we were checking out . The manager informed us that if we had alerted him when checking in he could have sorted it out but they have a variety of "Comfort rooms " with differing facilities but all in the same tariff . A great hotel and a superb stay though

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, Usa
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I doubt we could have been happier with any hotel experience in Palermo than we were with the Hotel Palazzo Sitano. The location in the historic area is excellent. Many of the most attractive churches and museums are within walking distance of the hotel. It is also quite easy to find, unlike many Italian hotels. We were able to park for free in an adjacent street. There are many good restaurants in the area, and the hotel’s recommendations were excellent. Our room was large, attractively decorated, and meticulously clean. The bed was excellent and our room was quiet. Our bathroom was huge with a lovely large shower area. The English-speaking front desk staff was extremely helpful and very patient with my many questions. When we learned that one of my priority museums was closed, they helped us find alternative attractions which filled our day. The breakfast buffet was huge with a large variety of food and beverages. The restaurant is beautifully appointed and it would have been wonderful to have dinner there, but sadly the hotel sadly did not serve dinner. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Palermo and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Palazzo Sitano for 2 nights at the middle of October. Our room was spacious, comfortable, having a big bathroom and a dressing room and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Also the breakfast was very good and the coffee and capuccino dispensed by a machine was very good.

Overall, this is still one of my favourite hotels and is located extraordinary in the city centre. I would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling to Palermo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

You must keep an open mind about Palermo and try not to read a lot of the rubbish that is written about the city. We loved it and appreciated the Palazzo Sitaner. Reception staff were particularly helpful and we agree with some of the other reviewers, the restaurant suggestions were excellent. Having said that, Palermo is not a tourist city so the quality of the food everywhere was pretty amazing. The city needs more hotels and the Palazzo, while not in the best via, is a great example of creating a contemporary space in an old building.
If you find the rooms a bit dark, throw open the balcony doors but admittedly you do need a degree in astrophysics to work out the lighting system. Full marks for the TV (not that we watched much) but it’s the first hotel we have stayed at anywhere in the world where we could access British programmes via Sky.
Whoever is in charge of technology in the hotel should take responsibility for the coffee in the breakfast room. Shame on the person who selected a Nescafe machine. On seeing my face when drinking the aforementioned coffee, the maitre 'd quickly brought me a proper espresso from the bar. So, good service all round, in an quality hotel in an interesting city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Sitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Sitano

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele, 114, IT-90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Palermo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Sitano 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Sitano is located in a fully renovated “palazzo” from the 18th century.The former convent skillfully combines traditional architecture with modern interior design in a light, airy, friendly way.The hotel’s common areas include a gorgeous arcade hall where breakfast is served, a modern bar with comfy lounge furniture, a cushy library with business stations and a small wellness area.Its 86 rooms and suites with modern amenities and comfortable beds feature mainly clear, sleek lines mixed with small playful details.The hotel is located in the heart of Palermo’s old town near the historical harbor, it is fully air conditioned and it offers a conference room equipped with modern technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Escapio, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Sitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzo Sitano Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Sitano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;