We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Palike

B&B Palike
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palermo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B Palike
Save
You added B&B Palike to your Saves list
Emerico Amari, 140, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Politeama)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 319 Palermo B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great value B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have stayed at Palike' twice and plan to go again next summer. As everyone else has said it is great value for money and very centrally located across the road from Teatro Politeama. If coming from the airport just get off at the Politeama stop then it's a few doors down on your right, just after the bar. (Tip: make sure you have the right change for the bus or are willing to go without the change as often, as with many other places in Sicily including museums and stations, they don't have change. I start hoarding coins from the minute I land.) You can pretty much walk to most of the main sites though some (e.g. the Palazzo dei Normanni) are about 30 minutes away. There are bus stops near the theatre and it's easy to get around town. The rooms are clean and comfortable and bathrooms are new. Beds are very comfortable. The first time I stayed I was in a twin room (2nd on the left) that was rather large and filled with lots of old furniture and ornaments that looked like they'd come from someone's grandparents' place (in fact I think this is Anna Maria's childhood home). Not exactly to my taste but I wasn't in it much and the whole place has a good feeling about it. The rooms have lovely little balconies overlooking the street (I didn't have a problem with street noise) and are very airy. The second time I stayed it was in a triple room (first one on the left) that we used as a double. (No excess furniture.) There is some car racing memorabilia because Anna and Nicola are very active in this world. Breakfasts were plentiful, especially compared to other budget places I've been to in Italy. Great value for the price and even more when you consider the terrific location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    16
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
19
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Palike B&B for two nights while visiting palermo!
The whole time we were treated really lovely and felt like an italian home.
Situated in the heart of the city center, with hop on hop off tours right at your doorstep (literary)
Really helpful people always offering you food and water. Always tidy and clean. Reasonably price for the performance they play :) I highly recommend staying at Palike B&B

Room Tip: Not many room to choose from but they are spacious and tidy! Rooms with and without bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Palike b&b,

Is one of the best guesthouses i ever been.The location is close to all tourist must see of Palermo.Also the shopping and restaurants areas are on walking distance.The airportshutle bus and the sightseeing bus stops in front of Palike b&b.At Palike B&B you get good value for your money.The Onwers give you a warm welcome and handy info about Palermo.Its like coming home to your second house.Try there wonderfull products like honey and prosecco.Me and my girlfriend had a wonderfull time here and we will return when we are in Palermo.Thank you very much for the hospitality La titolare Anna Maria and here husband.greetings Hensley and Maria from Holland and Ecuador

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I and my sister stayed at this B&B Palikè for 2 nights. Excellent location for visitors with Sightseeing tour bus just in front of the building, walking distance to historical sites, shopping streets and restaurants, cafe and bars.

We found this hotel from tripadvisor and decided to email for booking. Anna Maria the B&B keeper wrote back in Italian so we had to google translate but everything was easy.

We arrived to our B&B by taxi, it was so easy to find. The place has elevator which is free. The house is clean and good smell. Decoration is very lovely. Anna has a staff from Kenya who speaks English very well. We got room in the corner with en suite bath. The room is big with loft and bedroom for 3rd person. Decoration is very lovely with rocking chair, antique furniture, small refrigerator with big bottle of water provided for free, there are also small snack given. Bathroom is big with shower, bidet, wash cream, shampoo and hairdryer. Towels are clean. Free wifi is available but we have trouble connecting on an iphone but ipad worked just fine.

Anna is very helpful and kind, even though we didn't speak Italian.
Breakfast was lovely, freshly brew espresso and homemade biscotti eaten with Anna husband's relative honey. After breakfast Anna will give us map and recommend what/where to see each day. She also handed us candy before we leave the apartment. And since the bus is just downstairs, every time we changed the bus we always ran up to the room for sunblock/ restroom / jacket.

On the day we check-out, we requested Anna to call us a taxi to the port. We were taking an over-night ferry to Naples. She showed us from her balcony that the port is very near about 500 meters away and we can actually walk. But our luggages are so huge and we didn't think that the wheels will survive to the port so we insisted for a taxi. She made a call. But it turned out that she called Nicola, her husband and Nicola came with his friend in a small car and they took us to the port! We totally love B&B Palikè.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outside London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights after a week at Pippa's Paddock, horse riding. Ana Maria, the owner was very helpful and the b&b has a number of car racing memorabilia in the rooms. The b&b is AnnaMarias home and the apartment is lovely with high ceilings. It is well placed for the attractions of Palermo and it wasn't overly noisy, considering we were in the city. The restaurant under the apartment, Al Cancelletto Verde was very good.
If you are looking for classical accomodation at a reasonable price then this is the ideal place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We had a beautiful room with big modern bathroom. The hostess was really kind even though we didn't speak any Italian. We booked through Pippa's Paddock, and Mark from Pippa's Paddock was incredibly helpful, including translating for us by phone. The location of the B&B is very central, plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, only about 10 minutes walk from Teatro Massimo.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Palike B & B was located near the historic center and top-rated restaurants. Rooms were spacious, clean with good beds and shower. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast provided. We enjoyed our 3 day stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Palike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Palike

Address: Emerico Amari, 140, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 319 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly inaugurated Palike B&B is situated in the centre of Palermo, located in a prestigious historical building. The block and the B&B itself have both been restored extensively this year.Our B&B overlooks the Piazza Politeama, in the very centre of Palermo. It is paces away from Via Ruggiero Settimo and Via della Libertà, amidst some of Palermo's most prominent monuments, the famous street markets, the University.It is the ideal base for any visit or stay, be it for work, fun or study, enabling the visitor to really experience this city of a thousand faces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
B&B Palike Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Palike, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.