We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Cartari, 18, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Tribunali)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Grand hotel in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. It is well located back from the busy main streets of Palermo, but within easy walking distance. The renovations have successfully retained the feel of a grand, central bank, with large public spaces, such as the central atrium, and marble stairways between the floors, as well as the modern elevators. The room was not large, but had everything we needed, except for wifi, but this was available in the central areas on the reception level. The only downside was the stiff and somewhat unfriendly service in the restaurant on the only night that we ate there. On the other hand, breakfast was more than adequate with a good selection of food. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    118
    20
    8
    1
See reviews for
25
116
9
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Staying here actually reminded me of the film -Grand Hotel Budapest! Kind of old fashioned, traces of grandure from times gone by and a unique quirkiness.

It was originally built as a bank, and the original open courtyard has been turned into a glass roofed seating area, we sat there for a while one evening drinking prosecco and enjoying aperitivo snacks with the roof drawn back and the birds swirling above us!

Our room was spacious with lovely parquet flooring and an enormous bathroom, best of all it was quiet ( due to very thick bank walls!) with a very comfortable bed!

Good location too, 5 mins from most of the main attractions and some of the finest restaurants in Sicily!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here three nights, and felt that it was a great base for exploring Palermo and northern Sicily. The location is in the historic center of Palermo (not the nice shopping district). Our room was very large, and had a nice outdoor terrace. In fact, it was one of the largest hotel rooms we had in Italy. The hotel lobby is lovely, and includes a roof that can be retracted when the weather is nice, so that the lobby is bathed in sunlight.

Breakfast was average compared to other hotels. However, the service was very good. The front desk set us up with a taxi driver for the trip to Monreale and Capella Palatina (which are a MUST SEE). The hotel is a well located for exploring other sights, such as churches and the opera house. We were able to walk to lovely neighborhood restaurants after participating in the evening passeggiata. Another nice thing about this hotel is the internet cafe off the lobby. There's also a .bar for having a nightcap.

To enjoy this hotel, you have to understand that Palermo is a noisy, crowded city and this hotel is in the center of it all. When we sat on our terrace, we could see and hear residents in nearby apartments. I loved it, but my husband felt a bit stressed by the proximity to so many people.

I recommend this hotel and feel that it's a good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great hotel the place is beautiful and the staff was great. We were only there for one day as we were leaving the next morning. It is a shame the area it is in as it it is a little shaky and very much in the middle of the city. I would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Spent two night here. The room was spacious, and nicely appointed. The staff was very helpful, with making dinner reservations, recommending sites etc. Had a nice time, and would stay there again if visiting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We ended our 10day tour of Sicily at the Borsa - the staff were courteous, friendly and helpful. Its not the easiest place to find if you're driving (and i'd seriously suggest you avoid the stress of driving in Palermo by dropping off the rental before you arrive, not wanting to be disrespectful but driving in the narrow streets with the uniquely Sicilian style of driving is to be avoided!). The hotel is a converted bank and has some great architecture - long spacious corridors and huge marble staircases and clean spacious rooms. Don't be alarmed by the police car usually parked outside which is really a deterrent to any wayward activity and a comfort to visitors. The piazza can sometimes be noisy after dark with music being played loudly (just request a different room if thats a problem) but hey thats part of life in this city! Palermo can feel threatening after dark, but its 'edgy' so don't be put off - get out and explore this wonderful city - spend time watching people: the expressions as well as the colourful language will provide a wonderful dimension to your trip. There are so many churches, baroque palaces, and the huge melting pot of Mediterranean history on your doorstep; go walkabout and explore. Food - get involved! Fish and street food are definitely to be tried you wont be disappointed, try and eat where the locals go - there are several places near the hotel, also visit the markets for terrific atmosphere. I read some stories of high charges for taxis, so we asked the desk to confirm taxi fare back to the airport with the driver - €38 so don't get taken for a proper ride by paying more! A great hotel would def stay again, and the breakfasts were as good as i've tried anywhere, only negative was lack of WiFi in the rooms which for this class of hotel i would have expected these days, but well done Borsa - you did Sicily proud!

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the piazza maybe quieter, but all high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Well run hotel in well-renovated lovely building. Very good staff and helpful. Central court is lovely and a good place to sit, read, drink, etc. Nice to have this space. Rooms very comfortable with all needed elements. (Fitness center a bit tiny and only moderately equipped - but this seems a European tradition.)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa

Address: Via dei Cartari, 18, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Palermo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#9 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.