We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Cartari, 18, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Tribunali)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Architecturally this is a gracious hotel with a beautiful inner courtyard. The hotel is the former stock exchange building. It is ideally located in a quiet square. We had a very clean, well appointed room. The dining room is large and majestic? The desk staff are friendly and helpful. The main purpose of this hotel is to cater for conferences, seminars and other functions. It can feel a little impersonal. However, it suited our needs very well and we were very happy with it.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    129
    22
    9
    2
See reviews for
26
120
10
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Palermo (or at least its historic centre) is an acquired taste - noise, narrow streets, traffic in chaos and a gentle air of decay. It of course has staggeringly beautiful sights to see and will reward the determined traveller. This hotel is a very centrally located oasis.

We stayed on the 4th floor with a room as large as any I have ever seen. The room overlooked the Piazza (and Church) of San Francesco D'Assisi. Quiet room despite noise of streets; effective air conditioninng, satellite TV, comfortable chairs, lots of room to put away clothes, over the top luxurious bathroom. The room certainly rates 10 out of 10. Minor negative marks: breakfast is served down in the main lobby. A little poorly thought out. Yogurt is all of the sugared variety. Eggs (scrambled only) were salted to the point of being inedible. I complained one day and the next they were slightly better but still reflected a heavy hand. Caffe Latte request from an anglo came out as watery filtered American coffee with hot milk (stick to capuccino - quite serviceable). However, variety was good - lots of ham, salami, cheese, ricotta, buns etc to say nothing of dolci. I take only a few small marks away for sub-par breakfast at the end. We stayed here as part of a tour, so I don't know what rate we paid. However, it was all we wanted and more in Palermo and I am reasonably picky.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan, italy
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A brand new hotel in the restructured headquarters of a large bank. Ideally placed in the old part of Palermo, which is a chaotic city. Furnishings are modern, not very luxurious (in the lowest class of rooms, to be fair). Attentive service. Overall, a pleasant and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel was the best part of our visit, unfortunately. Palermo is very dirty and historic buildings and monuments are not kept, have graffiti and trash everywhere. Lots of homeless dogs and cats of the street and by the ocean, It was very said to see those animals on the streets and the piles of trash all over the city. It was a depressive town. After 3 hours there, I couldn't wait to leave the town but was trapped on my travel arrangements for 2 night in Palermo. The hotel was great, it was clean (except the shower), and people were overall friendly. I ended up visiting sites with a small bag of cat and dog food on my hand and dropping food on the way. Back to Hotel, great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prato, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It is difficult to choose a hotel in Palermo: it's a big chaotic city. However, the hotel is in a calm corner and it envelopes you in a quiet atmosphere as soon as you walk in. The rooms are big and luxurious and new. The beds comfortable. It has a beautiful courtyard full of light. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in the old stock exchange of Palermo. Its furnishings are modern, verging on Spartan, but very clean and pleasant and comfortable. Has the style and grandeur of years gone by but is not run-down- in contrast it is very modern, clean and efficient. Very good and pleasant service, both at reception and in restaurant. A very pleasant retreat front the filth outside- drain odours, rubbish bins and rubbish and dog foul everywhere- the latter inevitably having been stood in and tramped along the street for ten years or more. The populace seem inured and indifferent. I recommend this hotel - it is also close to the famous Palermo restaurant in St Franceso square

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent two nights here and the hotel was lovely. Our room was spacious, comfortable, beautifully appointed, as was the bath. The hotel is situated very conveniently to walk to most things, and the service was very accomodating. The architecture is beautiful and beautifully maintained with a pretty courtyard for drinks. Wifi in the rooms would be a great addition.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa

Address: Via dei Cartari, 18, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Palermo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#16 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.