We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Cartari, 18, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Tribunali)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
Newark, DE
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel was absolutely beautiful. Great location for walking to the historial area of Palermo. The room was excellent, and we enjoyed the open air lobby with the retractable roof for enjoying drinks after a day of touring. The staff was polite, and very friendly, and service was quick. Our breakfast was delicious and dinner excellent. Great place to stay for visiting the sites in Palermo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    129
    22
    9
    2
See reviews for
26
120
10
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palos Verdes Estates, California, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here in January, when most hotels were closed. The buffet breakfast each morning, included, was EXCELLENT. Really amazing. The room we had, was really 2 rooms. A sitting room and a bedroom, with a 3 area bath area. Very clean, easy access to the city...well you are right there afterall.
Palermo is rough around the edges...but so interesting. My husband could not wait to turn in our rental car....crazy tiny streets. We had to park finally in a square, and pay some dummy a couple of Euro to 'watch' our car, while we walked to find the entrance to the hotel!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel's location is perfect to visit the historical area of Palermo: close to the central via Vittorio Emanuele, via Roma, via Maqueda, and a few minutes from the seafront, the city's main attractions, the Opera house and other venues. The hotel entrance is on a small lane which may look seedy at first sight but is not; police cars patrol the area which is actually safer than most places.
The rooms are very large (larger than the Italian average), clean, comfortable and well equipped; so are the bathrooms. My room (on an upper floor) was very quiet.
Breakfast, though not extraordinary, is a on good standard (cakes, croissants, cereals, jams, yoghurts, hot eggs and sausages, a selection of cheeses, parma ham and salami); it is served in the large restaurant salon. The hotel is very ample and has a wonderful inner patio (formerly the cloister of a 16th-century convent); it is wi-fied on the ground floor for free; complimentary newspapers can be found in the many sitting rooms; there's also a fitness center. The hotel restaurant serves good food, yet there are many excellent restaurants in the area that can be visited first.
There is no hotel garage; so if you arrive by car, parking in the vicinity may be complicated (perhaps it' d be good to contact the concierge for advice beforehand).
The hotel's managers and personnel were courteous and helpful (I do not agree with some of the reviewers who lamented the porters' lack of politeness).
In my opinion, the hotel fully deserves its four stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I thought it hotel was unique..with its open air lobby and interesting rooms. It seemed in a gritty location but was actually very convenient to many Palermo sights..and good restaurants. Actually one of the nicer areas of Palermo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western mass
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Palermo is a tough city. Not for sissies, and by "sissies" I mean anyone who doesn't really want to be there. Reminds me a little of NYC in the old days (1970's "Taking of Pelham 123" etc) All the big hotels in downtown Palermo have very mixed reviews. Borsa has a pretty good location if you are interested in walking and sightseeing. We were in two different suites. THe first one was huge but extremely noisy - a political concert and rally right outside our window on Friday October 26. When it finally stopped around 1-2 in the morning they spent the rest of the evening dismantling the aluminum staging for the rest of the night. Can you say "cranky?" Moved to a courtyard smaller suite - much more basic but a bit quieter. Plumbing etc very comfortable and modern. THe front desk very nice if a bit quick to hide. No concierge. Breakfast quite nice. If you are easily spooked by dark alleys and garbage, the entrance to the Hotel may be a bit of a turn off, but I don't think it is particularly unsafe and certainly the hotel is very clean inside. I agree with those who said do not drive to this hotel. Unless you learned to drive in Palermo, I think this is good advice. Teeny tiny alley with blind corners and cars and taxis blocking and double parked all over. Palermo is an experience. If you are staying at the Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa you will be fine, but it is unlikely to be a relaxing effortless 5 star experience, so keep your expectations down a bit and you may have a really great time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having been upgraded to a suite (room 420) it would be churlish to write a poor review of this hotel but nevertheless I feel compelled to. Though the hotel has an interesting history as having been a monastery, a Mafia bank and being expanded to include a neighbouring Palazzo before being turned into a hotel, none of this is reflected in it's current incarnation. An imposing facade hides a boring interior. Yes there's a nice atrium but it's not used for anything. Otherwise the hallway lighting is almost institutional, the art is modern and tasteless and the rooms, though adequately equipped are bland.The dining room is like a school cafeteria and the breakfast is just as bad (watered down cordial parading as juice?!?) Come on guys- this is Sicily! The main entrance to the hotel is on the side and leads to a tiny modern reception area where the staff hides behind a glass wall until you cough really loudly and then they appear but are of little if any assistance. There is no concierge service either.The hotel is in a very seedy area surrounded by dirty alleyways, badly lit and full of dog poo, and even our suite looked onto neighbouring tenements. True you are in walking distance of two main roads and the railway station is relatively close but the main sites are not and neither is the nice shopping district (both a decent half hour's walk).After 10 days staying in B&Bs, 3, 4 and 5 star hotels around Sicily, this has to rate as the worst place we stayed at(no internet in the room) and it's a shame that it is our last memory of Sicily. It was a clean, OK hotel but lacked personality which is what I expected (otherwise I would have stayed at a chain hotel)

Room Tip: Try to get a suite- I'd hate to see what the lesser rooms were like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington NZ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I didn't really like Palermo. This hotel is reasonably well fitted out. Only Internet in the cold lobby, need to get a new password every 24 hours. Dining room mediocre. Staff pleasant. Rooms okay, modern. No guide to anything about the hotel in the rooms. Did it have a pool? Gym? I have no idea. Fairly minimalist, no tea or coffee making facilities. Didn't appear to be any way of controlling the room temperature which was hot.

Felt like an unsafe part of town. Very dirty, rubbish and dog poo everywhere, especially the walk outside the hotel. On the last night caught up in an altercation involving a woman hitting people with a piece of wood and being tackled to the ground. Wouldn't go back to Palermo, not to this part of town either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa

Address: Via dei Cartari, 18, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Palermo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#16 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.