We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the Monreale Line up to the top of the city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Sightseeing Palermo

City Sightseeing Palermo
Via Riccardo Wagner 5, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
091 589429
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #28 of 63 activities in Palermo
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Take the Monreale Line up to the top of the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I did not have a car in Palermo and did not want to take cabs around. This tour took me all around the entire city and then up to the top of the city on the top of Palermo, Monreale,
It is a great way to get around and see the top touristic points of Sicily. I did not hop off until Monreale and it gave us enough time to check out the basilica and then go around the small gated city. It was a perfect end to my stay in Palermo. I have visited most city sites all around Italy and France on these tours. To name a few Rome, Monaco, Paris, London, and they are all the best way to get around the city and make the best use of your time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    15
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great way to get around town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We found this bus to be a great way to get around town, in fact we also did this bus in Barcelona and Rome! Palermo attractions are spread out, so it was a nice way to get to certain points, get off and wander around for a bit, and then you could find your way back to another bus stop and continue to a farther destination. The buses were prompt, we never had to wait long, and the one stop a smaller bus will take you up to Monreale, definitely go. Also, don't stand up on this bus. In Palermo they were very particular about not standing while the bus was in motion, and would yell over the microphone if anyone was.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Hop On- Hop Off-Ripped Off!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We took the Hop On- Hop Off Bus in Monreale-Palermo Italy, it was so very disappointing! What time does the Monreal bus to Palermo come? 11:05... The Bus was a half an hour late from Monreale to Palermo, then we wanted to change lines. We hopped off, at the # 2 spot, which was the second stop from Monreal and the Blue Line Bus was scheduled come along in about four minutes we waited and waited and waited. We waited forty minutes, yes Four-Zero and it never came.

We finally walked around hoping to find the market we thought we would find off the Blue Line stop, we finally gave up and looked for any line and found one, it was the number 9 Red line, great, we can just ride it to the stop near the Blue Line, we think, nope... They thew us off at the very next stop!

We then have to wait another half hour for the next Blue line bus, we realize now, if we continue the Blue Line, we will miss our last bus to Monreal. We Hop off to catch our Red Line back to the Monreal pick up. after wasting one of our of two days in Palermo waiting for Hop On buses that never came or came late then only to be thrown off the Hop On bus at the next stop! What a RIP OFF!

In all, it cost my girlfriend an I 50 Euros to do what it cost my husband 2.60 Euros to do and we had all the frustration of dealing with no shows and waiting! Don't bother! Good concept but poorly run! Oh, by the way, when it was raining and against the traffic up to Monreal at rush hour it cost 25.00 Euros for two.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySightseeing P, Direttore at City Sightseeing Palermo, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Lady,
before analyzing the content of your review, I would like to point out
that on the same day two reviews appeared on Tripadvisor, your
disappointing one and an excellent one from a very good
satisfied customer.
I don't really understand what happened to you by reading part of your
review.

Please, refer to our brochure where all departure times are listed.

You wrote you waited the Monreale bus at 11:05 but it is unclear where
you were waiting for it. You also added you hopped off on the second
stop after Monreale, but route B has not a stop over there . For
instance the second stop after Monreale is the Cathedral stop which is
stop n°8 of Route A.
This is why you waited and waited.

I believe all those unhappy situation you lived were caused by a bad
understanding of our system clearly explained in our brochure: route B runs only in
the afternoon. It starts at 2 pm.

All the other things you affirm are not correct, this is another reason
why I believe you misunderstood our lines and schedules.
We invite to check it yourself by consulting our brochure that we deliver to all our costumers.

Regarding what you said about the amount of money your husband spent to
do the same thing, we would like to point out that € 2.60 are only
enough to catch a local bus from Piazza indipendenta (Royal Palace) to
Monreale and back without any facilities and without a guaranteed seat.

Buying a ticket with us means being authorized to make Route A, Route
B and Monreale, getting on/off wherever you want, listening to an
English commentary in the meantime assisted always by an hostess.

I hope you will
come back to our city to even appreciate our tour, as many people did
gratifying our service with 5 stars.

Best Regards
Franco Alessandro
Direttore City Sightseeing Palermo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Francesca Lombardo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Francesca is both a driver and a guide and is excellent at both.(She also has a roomy, comfortable car that easily fit my sister and adult - not teenage - nieces.) We toured Palermo with her on a Sunday, which meant that the traffic was not bad and we got to cover a lot of ground - cathedrals, the market, the catacombs, Monreale, etc. She also led us to a terrific local restaurant - a nice bonus - and showed us to clean restrooms. Francesca is very well informed, smart and funny; we had a terrific time with her. She also does driving tours of Sicily in general, and I hope that at some point my husband and I will return and get to know Sicily under her expert guidance. Just fyi, the weather in mid-October was summery.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“O.K.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We eventually succumbed to the sightseeing bus when the noise and the heat got too much for us, this must be the noisiest city in the world. It's not great value for money as the tour isn't very long and the soundtrack is sometimes out of sync with the surroundings. It does cover most of the major attractions and it's a relief not to have to think about how you're going to get to the next attraction.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySightseeing P, Direttore at City Sightseeing Palermo, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for your review that we,
however, judge positive.
We believe you experienced a really hot day in Palermo: the weather in
the city, which represents a true fortune for its residents and its
tourists, is usually characterized by a particular warm wind called
“Scirocco” that is not well tolerated by those people who are not used
to it.
Palermo mild climate is also, in a way, the cause of the noise levels,
especially in peak hours: as a matter of fact people instead of staying
home because of the temperature or bad weather, prefer to pour in the
street, living many hours outdoor.
We are though surprised to read your comment about the duration of the
tour, as a matter of fact route A lasts one hour (without getting off
the bus) and route B 50 minutes, if you also go to Monreale, you would
need to add at least 2 hours more in the tour.
One of the reason our commentary was out of sync with the surroundings
could have been traffic; it is possible that the bus was forced by the
Municipal Police to carry out a change of route due to a car accident
or a procession of striking workers along the official route; in this
particular cases, our commentary, which is arranged in 8 languages, can
not be synchronized to the alternative path.
We are happy to read you confirm the fact that our tour covers most of
the city major attractions and it also relieves any stress caused by
the research of the sites of interests.
Best regards.
Franco Alessandro
Direttore Palermo City Sightseeing srl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing Palermo also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to City Sightseeing Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Sightseeing Palermo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added City Sightseeing Palermo to your Saves list