We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orto Botanico di Palermo

Orto Botanico di Palermo
Via Lincoln, 2/A, 90123 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
+39 091 23891236
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 217 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I spent a whole afternoon in this magical place at the beginning of November, almost alone! I do not want to waste many words on the description as it is something you have to see and feel yourself! An oasis of tranquility and architectural beauty in perfect harmony with an amazing selection of plants from all over the world. Palermo! I'm in love with you!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    149
    68
    26
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skala Kallonis, Greece
Level Contributor
97 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“beautiful gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We headed to the botanical gardens, on a hot sultry day, and were glad that the huge trees and fauna all around kept the hot sun out. We enjoyed our morning wandering around and seeing all the different species of plant life, my teenage kids even enjoyed it, and they are hard to please. Thousands of various plants, even cactus plants- the only downer was that strong urine smell that was surrounding Palermo, even stronger as we walked back to our ship through the port area...

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“12000 different plants are not available everywhere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you are interested in botanic, you shall absolutely see the Orto Botanico. Due to particular ambient conditions and plants , there are resident also green parrots

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you are a fan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you are a fan of Mediterranean flora this is the place for you to visit. We were there on a sunny afternoon and thoroughly enjoyed study different specimen and Italian herbs

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

To be honest, was too hot to enjoy fully. Appreciated the diverse range of plant species but OMG got stung so much by mosquitoes. Beware. Wear full length clothing or bring an insect zapper.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orto Botanico di Palermo also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Orto Botanico di Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orto Botanico di Palermo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.