We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autentic and local.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballaro Market

Ballaro Market
Vicolo del Carmelo, 90134 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Palazzo Reale)
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 276 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Shopping, Dining
Attraction details
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Autentic and local.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

To stroll through this market gives one a wonderful, authentic and local feeling, which is one of the things i allways strive to find, when i travel. Here you defintely get it all.
It's loud, caotic, colourful and just an experience not to miss.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    197
    58
    23
    24
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“real sicily in action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Ballaro market was a few blocks inland from our B&B. Personally, I like visiting markets in foreign countries to see people going about their lives--I regard it as a way to balance the impression generated by the formal tourist attractions. The Ballaro market did not disappoint. It very interesting to see the various fresh produce and fish for sale, including calamari and cuttlefish and large swordfish laying on beds of ice. Also, observing the posted prices was interesting. For example, bananas ranged from 0.80 to 1.20 euro per kilogram, which converts to about 0.50 US dollars per pound to about 75 cents per pound.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
170 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice example of Italian Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We visited market while in Palermo. Our tour group was taking overnight ferry from Palermo to Naples and we purchased items (bread, cheese, salamis, vegetables and of course wine) to have a meal for the trip. A very nice example of Italian markets that weave through streets and the variety of food and goods they offer. We even encountered a bride and groom coming out of a church.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Always worth a visit to enjoy the chaos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

In my (humble) opinion the best market to visit as a tourist in Palermo although our hostess shops at and swears by Capo

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great morning.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a huge market stretching through mant streets. We loved looking at the many differernt and,to us,strange foods on sale. The whole atmosphere is fascinating and worth a couple of hours. It is also close to other sights like churches,etc.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballaro Market also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Ballaro Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballaro Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.