We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Museo internazionale delle marionette
Piazzetta Antonio Pasqualino, 90100 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
0039 091 32 80 60
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 276 things to do in Palermo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Puppets shows tuesday, friday and sunday 5.30 p.m. Full ticket € 6,reduced € 4.
Level Contributor
172 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Puppets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We went to a puppet show here in a delightful little old theatre it was wonderful though we could not understand the language the story was traditional and easy to follow wonderful old puppets
and it was not till the end of show when puppeteers came on stage that you realized how small puppets were the show was loud much shouting etc. but thoroughly enjoyable and if in Palermo well worth the time to go and catch a show.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    10
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“International museum of puppetry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I went to puppet museums in both Siracusa and Palermo and I have to say I found the puppet museum in Siracusa, which is quite a bit smaller, much more charming than the Palermo one. In Palermo, there is a huge collection of Balinese puppets. I happened to arrive here as a big festival of puppetry is being hosted at the museum in Palermo, and most of the shows are from Balinese puppeteers. While I understand the Palermo museum is international in scope, I wish that more attention was put into the Sicilian puppet tradition.

I heard a guide who was leading a tour through the museum explain the different types of puppets on display in the Sicilian puppet room. It was a beautiful explanation of the regional differences in puppeterring in Sicily and I wondered why there was NO BOOK and NO INTERPRETIVE display in the museum to add to your understanding of what you were seeing. There is very little in general and virtually nothing in English. This is a pity as it is a very big missed opportunity.

That said you should still go and see this museum - it's a must.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Atmospheric, interesting place.
There is a museum and a theatre which still give performances.
There are a lot of puppets representing different characters.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting but run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had a lot of interesting puppets from around the world, but did not make enough of itself. Bored woman at dark desk took the 5 Euros, but most of the AVs did not work and the one that did was a videoed show that lasted an hour and had only two seats in front of it. A pity because the subjects were really interesting and the puppets are marvellous. Needs to try harder.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Different!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

A whole little museum devoted to puppetry both Sicilian & world wide - fascinating! Very well displayed & presented

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Museo internazionale delle marionette also viewed

 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Il Museo internazionale delle marionette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Museo internazionale delle marionette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.