We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puppets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Museo internazionale delle marionette

Il Museo internazionale delle marionette
Piazzetta Antonio Pasqualino, 90100 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Palazzo Reale)
0039 091 32 80 60
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 155 attractions in Palermo
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Puppets shows tuesday, friday and sunday 5.30 p.m. Full ticket € 6,reduced € 4.
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Puppets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We went to a puppet show here in a delightful little old theatre it was wonderful though we could not understand the language the story was traditional and easy to follow wonderful old puppets
and it was not till the end of show when puppeteers came on stage that you realized how small puppets were the show was loud much shouting etc. but thoroughly enjoyable and if in Palermo well worth the time to go and catch a show.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    4
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“International museum of puppetry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I went to puppet museums in both Siracusa and Palermo and I have to say I found the puppet museum in Siracusa, which is quite a bit smaller, much more charming than the Palermo one. In Palermo, there is a huge collection of Balinese puppets. I happened to arrive here as a big festival of puppetry is being hosted at the museum in Palermo, and most of the shows are from Balinese puppeteers. While I understand the Palermo museum is international in scope, I wish that more attention was put into the Sicilian puppet tradition.

I heard a guide who was leading a tour through the museum explain the different types of puppets on display in the Sicilian puppet room. It was a beautiful explanation of the regional differences in puppeterring in Sicily and I wondered why there was NO BOOK and NO INTERPRETIVE display in the museum to add to your understanding of what you were seeing. There is very little in general and virtually nothing in English. This is a pity as it is a very big missed opportunity.

That said you should still go and see this museum - it's a must.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Atmospheric, interesting place.
There is a museum and a theatre which still give performances.
There are a lot of puppets representing different characters.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Interesting but run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had a lot of interesting puppets from around the world, but did not make enough of itself. Bored woman at dark desk took the 5 Euros, but most of the AVs did not work and the one that did was a videoed show that lasted an hour and had only two seats in front of it. A pity because the subjects were really interesting and the puppets are marvellous. Needs to try harder.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Different!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

A whole little museum devoted to puppetry both Sicilian & world wide - fascinating! Very well displayed & presented

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Museo internazionale delle marionette also viewed

 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Il Museo internazionale delle marionette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Museo internazionale delle marionette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Il Museo internazionale delle marionette to your Saves list