We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garibaldi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Garibaldi to your Saves list
Hotel Garibaldi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Emerico Amari, 146, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

City sightseeing bus right outside our hotel! Very nice room,large with a big bathroom aswell! We asked for a quiet room.As front hotel could be noisy because of a busy road.We also took a a tour of mount Etna volcano and the East coast we used a lovely lady called Sandra she had a Mecedes people's carrier go to WWW.SICILYINTRIP.NET overall hotel clean and perfect for a city trip.Breakfast was basic but good enough.I would recommend hotel.Very contemporary and minimalist in style and decor

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    310
    106
    33
    8
See reviews for
95
353
27
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ostend
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

In our opinion a superb location, at immediate proximity of all the busstops even the one bringing you to and from Mondello. In the vicinity of good restaurants and pubs, with the shopping high streets behind the corner as to speak. An extremely friendly staff with a sense of humour, treating the visitors according to their personal likings. Very helpful and showing a natural warmth : these people seemed really to enjoy their job. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean. As a woman I specially appreciated the presence of intimate gel sachets in the bathroom! Breakfast was, to our standards and taking account of the Italian way of life, very good. I simply loved the Sicilian cheeses and sorts of meat as well as the " viennoiseries ". If you didn't like the breakfast coffee, you could get a ristretto, a lungo or a cappucinno for free and as many as you liked. That's what we call service!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in April. What's good? Friendly, helpful English speaking staff; clean, spacious, modern & unfussy rooms (not so good if you like a more chinzy style); Location - perfect for airport bus, easy walking distance to all sights, good local bars/restaurants; Price (paid E73 for single occupancy of a double room); Breakfast - good range of hot & cold options, (as others say on-tap coffee not good, but just ask staff to make you a fresh cup). Even better if? wifi was free (charges are over the top); rooms can feel a bit spartan if you prefer cosy. PS If you're in Palermo for a few days and you want a trip out Monreale, Mondello & Cefalu are all easy to do via train & bus and really wothwhile.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived to Palermo in the evening after a long journey. We found the hotel easily, located in a trendy, chic and central area. We parked our car in the hotel's parking behind the building.
A modest entry... But what a good surprise behind ... Smell of cleanliness and a real and friendly welcome. We took the elevator to our room and could not believe our eyes. Spacious room, large bathroom and very good double bed. That evening we went out to eat at a nice restaurant based on the recommendation of miss Daniela.
We found the breakfast very good and well served. The entire staff is always friendly and willing to help. There is wifi and a free PC.
We stayed two nights at the hotel and enjoyed every minute.
Stayed on March 2013, 2 couples (Ary&Alit, Moshe&Debi)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALTA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We were given a beautiful large room with modern and tasteful furnishings. Bathroom was also beautifully designed and cleanliness was immaculate. The most abundant and tasty breakfast we've ever had in all of Italy with a huge range to choose from. The only drawback perhaps was that the bar/cafe was not open during the day. Location - perfect. I would definitely go there again if I was in Palermo.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed two night in Palermo, and we based our search on location. If my review stopped here, Hotel Garibaldi would have got 5 stars. it is actually surrounded with the best shops in Palermo, the Hop on hop of bus end station is literally in front of the hotel, and you dont have to worry about parking (once you booked and paid for it, it is provided and guarded)
Unfortunately the whole picture is different.
The hotel is furnished with run down furnitures, no pictures on the walls, the bathroom is squeeze and.... i dont know, just not clean looking with chipped basin, leaking sink, and a shower cabin which could use a GOOD cleaning.
Our room was enormous, which was great, but the furnishing and the lack of effort to look nice/cute/4stars was actually DISAPPOINTING.
When we were checking in, we were asked to wait a little (receptionist mentioned 20 minutes), since our room was not ready yet. so we decided to walk around in the area a bit, just to see where to head for dinner later on. we returned 40 minutes later, and found the maid still in the room busy cleaning. she said uno momento, and quickly mopped the floor and let us in.
Floors were dirty... when you feel the sand and everything else under your feet :( the minibar - as we later discovered- was packed with the previous guests' half eaten doughnuts.
it was LOW SEASON!! come on!!
The windows are facing to a very busy road, so be aware of it and take precautions if you are a bad sleeper.

all in all, it is a well located hotel, but overrated and slightly overpriced.
never tried its restaurant, only the breakfast, what can be a bit hectic i guess when its rush hour (we are quite early people, so it did not bother us)

plus: location, parking, very friendly staff, hop on hop of next to it
negative: noisy, overrated and overpriced, cheap and old interior in the rooms.... needs a HUGE facelift, cleniness :(

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Having read very positive reviews about Hotel Garibaldi I booked two rooms for my family at Hotel Garibaldi for a short break in Palermo. On the whole, very dissapointed and thoroughly disagree with the majority of views here.

Positives:
- Central location
- Parking facilities at cheap rates
- Helpful and courteous staff

Negatives - The Room:
- Dirty walls
- Cheaply furnished
- Uncomfortable
- Holes around the ventilation units

Negatives - The Hotel:
- Not a pleasant entrance to the hotel
- Not a good breakfast

On the whole, this hotel really did not give value for money and certainly did not stand up to its billing as a 4*. In fact, I would peg this hotel more as a 2*.

There are better places - Hilton Excelsior is similarly priced and provides a much better standard of accommodation (though the staff do not compare to the friendliness of Garibaldi).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garibaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garibaldi

Address: Via Emerico Amari, 146, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
#19 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garibaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of Palermo, Hotel Garibaldi takes its name from the overlooking Politeama Garibaldi Theatre and it is the only one in the district having an indoor parking. The location of the building is convenient for discovering the city either by foot or bus. The hotel provides 71 bright and large rooms, furnished with a refined and modern style: 8 suites (4 having whirlpool bath and 4 having hydro massage shower), 20 double rooms, 29 rooms with French bed, and 14 rooms with king size single or double bed. The elegant foyer is furnished with a modern snack bar, a cosy smoking hall and a business point. The hotel also features 4 meeting rooms with last generation equipment. Hotel Garibaldi also welcomes small-sized pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Garibaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garibaldi Hotel Palermo
Hotel Garibaldi Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garibaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.