We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garibaldi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Garibaldi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Garibaldi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Emerico Amari, 146, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a convenient stop for the tour of the city, the building is somehow worn down but it is fascinating. Service is good, helpful staff , good breakfasts. There is a small parking, better call in advance to reserve

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    298
    99
    31
    7
See reviews for
90
337
25
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Perfect spot for a walking tour of Palermo. Close to markets, shopping, restaurants and major attractions. Hotel is across the street from Symphony Hall. Accommodations are clean. Breakfast buffet was nice! Staff provide good recommendations for restaurants.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not street side since the noise may be quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived around 9am after a journey on an overnight ferry from naples. The staff were so nice and offered us free breakfast that morning because our room wasn't ready yet. They also gave us free wifi internet which was another nice gesture. We stayed in a superior room. The bedroom and bathroom were basic but both were very spacious. We didn't have a nice view but on the upside our room was clean. The staff were very helpful and polite. The hotel is centrally located, near to all the main areas like the sea port, shopping, bus stops, restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heverlee, Belgium
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is on an excellent location, with a parking on the back side (10 €/night). We had a warm welcome at the reception from the 2 smiling ladies, and they helped us to get the appropriate room (there was a strange noise from the airco in one room, and we received another without any discussion). The rooms on the back side of the hotel are very quit (we recommend!). The wireless internet connection is very good (they didn't charge us for 24h connection - thanks!). The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is extended, but the with only 1 guy, the service could be better. We'll come back!

Room Tip: ask for a room at a higher lever or on the back side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel location is very good, 15 minutes away from Palermo main tourist attractions and close to the port. The car park, although small, is clearly a plus in a city like Palermo. The hotel is in an old but fully renovated building. A lot of attention has been given to decoration whether in the lobby or in the rooms and the overall result is quite nice. However, more attention must also be given to maintenance as there were hundreds of scratches on the walls of the room we occupied (102) making it look like more a graffiti wall than a hotel room. It was also quite noisy in the morning when buses started to run. Breakfast must be improved as there is clearly not enough variety of breads and pastries and the quality of some products (e.g. fruit juices, coffee) is clearly poor. Although my overall opinion on the hotel is not negative because of the service, location and decoration it is clear that management needs to work on some issues to raise the property standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

avoid at all cost. not a historical hotel even it is being advertised as such. recently cheaply renovated and already falling apart. cracks in ceilings, dirty walls, rooms poorly furnished (tv's could not be any smaller). bathroom lacking windows or fans. most rooms have no view other then the concrete paneled side of the building next to it. parking and wireless not included in rates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

didn't start of great, as our trip from Naples was by Ferry and we arrived in Palermo at 700am, and got the taxi to the hotel, which was quite close to the Port of Palermo.
The room was not ready, not did i think it would be, but we where offered breakfast, which was very good, and clean, with lots of different rooms to eat in, which sometimes confused me.

We didn't get into the room until after 1;00, The staff had to wake us up as we had felll asleep on the couches, in the lobby, what a sight.

Liked the room, it was very big, not a lot of furnishings, but compy beds, a couch and a balcony that made me feel I could see the world.
We where on the 3rd floor and over looked all of the Politeama area. Loved that Balcony

Room Tip: Overlooking the street the hotel is located on
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garibaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garibaldi

Address: Via Emerico Amari, 146, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garibaldi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of Palermo, Hotel Garibaldi takes its name from the overlooking Politeama Garibaldi Theatre and it is the only one in the district having an indoor parking. The location of the building is convenient for discovering the city either by foot or bus. The hotel provides 71 bright and large rooms, furnished with a refined and modern style: 8 suites (4 having whirlpool bath and 4 having hydro massage shower), 20 double rooms, 29 rooms with French bed, and 14 rooms with king size single or double bed. The elegant foyer is furnished with a modern snack bar, a cosy smoking hall and a business point. The hotel also features 4 meeting rooms with last generation equipment. Hotel Garibaldi also welcomes small-sized pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Garibaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garibaldi Hotel Palermo
Hotel Garibaldi Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garibaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.