We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garibaldi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Garibaldi to your Saves list
Hotel Garibaldi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Emerico Amari, 146, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Perfect spot for a walking tour of Palermo. Close to markets, shopping, restaurants and major attractions. Hotel is across the street from Symphony Hall. Accommodations are clean. Breakfast buffet was nice! Staff provide good recommendations for restaurants.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not street side since the noise may be quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    350
    125
    36
    10
See reviews for
116
383
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived around 9am after a journey on an overnight ferry from naples. The staff were so nice and offered us free breakfast that morning because our room wasn't ready yet. They also gave us free wifi internet which was another nice gesture. We stayed in a superior room. The bedroom and bathroom were basic but both were very spacious. We didn't have a nice view but on the upside our room was clean. The staff were very helpful and polite. The hotel is centrally located, near to all the main areas like the sea port, shopping, bus stops, restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heverlee, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is on an excellent location, with a parking on the back side (10 €/night). We had a warm welcome at the reception from the 2 smiling ladies, and they helped us to get the appropriate room (there was a strange noise from the airco in one room, and we received another without any discussion). The rooms on the back side of the hotel are very quit (we recommend!). The wireless internet connection is very good (they didn't charge us for 24h connection - thanks!). The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is extended, but the with only 1 guy, the service could be better. We'll come back!

Room Tip: ask for a room at a higher lever or on the back side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel location is very good, 15 minutes away from Palermo main tourist attractions and close to the port. The car park, although small, is clearly a plus in a city like Palermo. The hotel is in an old but fully renovated building. A lot of attention has been given to decoration whether in the lobby or in the rooms and the overall result is quite nice. However, more attention must also be given to maintenance as there were hundreds of scratches on the walls of the room we occupied (102) making it look like more a graffiti wall than a hotel room. It was also quite noisy in the morning when buses started to run. Breakfast must be improved as there is clearly not enough variety of breads and pastries and the quality of some products (e.g. fruit juices, coffee) is clearly poor. Although my overall opinion on the hotel is not negative because of the service, location and decoration it is clear that management needs to work on some issues to raise the property standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

avoid at all cost. not a historical hotel even it is being advertised as such. recently cheaply renovated and already falling apart. cracks in ceilings, dirty walls, rooms poorly furnished (tv's could not be any smaller). bathroom lacking windows or fans. most rooms have no view other then the concrete paneled side of the building next to it. parking and wireless not included in rates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

didn't start of great, as our trip from Naples was by Ferry and we arrived in Palermo at 700am, and got the taxi to the hotel, which was quite close to the Port of Palermo.
The room was not ready, not did i think it would be, but we where offered breakfast, which was very good, and clean, with lots of different rooms to eat in, which sometimes confused me.

We didn't get into the room until after 1;00, The staff had to wake us up as we had felll asleep on the couches, in the lobby, what a sight.

Liked the room, it was very big, not a lot of furnishings, but compy beds, a couch and a balcony that made me feel I could see the world.
We where on the 3rd floor and over looked all of the Politeama area. Loved that Balcony

Room Tip: Overlooking the street the hotel is located on
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were a party of 20 and our checkin was very smooth and quick. The checkin lady was very friendly.

The rooms were spacious and newly furnished but not very homely or comfortable. There were no pictures on the wall and the only cast iron chair had no cushion.

When having a shower the bathroom always got flooded as there was no shower curtain around the shower.

We checked in on Saturday and we were told the the Internet is down and will be fixed on Monday. It was still not working when we left on Tuesday.

The breakfast choice was very reasonable. All the staff were friendly except one young lady who never ever smiled.

The hotel location is perfect to enjoy Palermo at any time of the day and any day. The locals came out in the area on Saturday and Sunday evenings. There is great choice of restaurants near by.

The hotel is not suitable if you are unable to carry your own luggage.

The TV in the bed room was very small and too far to watch comfortably from the bed. Although there was plenty of choice of channels including the BBC World.

The noise insulation was inadequate. The traffic noise kept many of the guests in our party awake late into the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama Palace Hotel
#12 of 98 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#28 of 98 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vecchio Borgo
#35 of 98 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Mercure Palermo Excelsior
#38 of 98 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Politeama
Cristal Palace Hotel
Cristal Palace Hotel
#63 of 98 in Palermo
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garibaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garibaldi

Address: Via Emerico Amari, 146, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Palermo
#19 Family Hotel in Palermo
#20 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garibaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of Palermo, Hotel Garibaldi takes its name from the overlooking Politeama Garibaldi Theatre and it is the only one in the district having an indoor parking. The location of the building is convenient for discovering the city either by foot or bus. The hotel provides 71 bright and large rooms, furnished with a refined and modern style: 8 suites (4 having whirlpool bath and 4 having hydro massage shower), 20 double rooms, 29 rooms with French bed, and 14 rooms with king size single or double bed. The elegant foyer is furnished with a modern snack bar, a cosy smoking hall and a business point. The hotel also features 4 meeting rooms with last generation equipment. Hotel Garibaldi also welcomes small-sized pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Garibaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garibaldi Hotel Palermo
Hotel Garibaldi Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garibaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.