We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porta Felice

Save Saved
You added Hotel Porta Felice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Porta Felice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Butera, 35/47, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 98 hotels in Palermo
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our visit started with an unfortunate mix-up, with our reservation lost and a full hotel. Alessandra worked diligently to find us another hotel for our first night. We returned for the rest of our stay and we're glad we did. Very nice hotel and a very nice room. Alessandra turned a bad situation into a positive experience.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    177
    36
    7
    6
See reviews for
48
243
17
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here and found the rooms to be very nice, but ours was on the 3rd floor, directly below the breakfast room/restaurant. Hard surfaces everywhere, including the breakfast room so lots of chair scraping noise above us. Hallways and staircase echo the noise. You have to call the front desk to have the air turned on. Breakfast was fine, ask for a cappuccino to be made for you. Masseuse is very good! Beds are hard! Sink drain was slow.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street and beneath the breakfast room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

2 couples started our visit to Sicily in Palermo. I had some misgivings about the hotel location before our arrival but ended up being very pleased with our choice. Felt very safe walking to the hotel in the evening. Rooms were on the street side but noise wasn't an issue. Good size, beds a bit hard bit that seemed to be the case in all our hotels. Wifi was an issue ..kept cutting out but hotel staff were very helpful with this. Breakfast upstairs was good with a selection of pastries (very good croissants) , cheese, fruit, juice etc..in fact one of the better breakfasts we had. The rooftop terrace/ breakfast area doesn't have much of a view but it's a pleasant space. Liked that we could easily walk to the local market.
Rooms are painted in a dark color with dark furniture but have a fairly modern feel. Overall I felt the hotel was good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

While this hotel is well located and the rooms a good size I was disappointed in it overall. The mood lighting made it very difficult to read, we had the smell of drains in the bathroom which permeated the room, there was no drinking water provided and the shower pressure was terrible. Breakfast had a good array of cakes but the service, coffee and range wasn't good.

Room Tip: The street is noisy, ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Porta Felice. It is around a 20 minute walk from the centre but only 5 mins from the seafront. The best way to get to the hotel from the airport is on the Prestia a Commande bus to the Stazione Centrale at €11 return and then you can either walk (about 20 mins) or taxi for around €15 to the hotel. The reception staff were incredibly helpful and spoke good English. We were quite surprised that not many people spoke English in Palermo.
Our room was spacious with lovely decor and the air conditioning worked wonderfully as it was so humid outside.
We had a room on the first floor at the side of the hotel so it was nice and quiet. Don't expect a great view though as it's on a very narrow street, this didn't bother us though. The bathroom was a little dated but was fine for a long weekend.
Breakfast was pretty poor, a mere selection of cakes, bread and cereal and some sorry looking bacon and eggs. The staff were not particularly good at keeping the small selection topped up.
We also tried out the spa in the hotel which was lovely on a very rainy day.
All in all, a lovely hotel and I would stay there again but would definitely improve the breakfast selection.

Room Tip: Room at the back or side of the hotel, the road at the front is very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Porta Felice
Nice, spacious rooms with high ceilings. Great air con - you won't sweat in your room here. Staff are very friendly & speak great English.
The rooftop terrace (their restaurant/bar) has a nice view but is quite warm, very small & not as nice as the rest of the hotel.
Location is a bit out of the way, but it's close to the puppet, modern art museums and seafront.
It's in a quiet area during the day but livens up in the evening. Vucciria market nearby does amazing BBQ seafood (be patient it's quite chaotic) and there are great, cheap outdoor bars (tapas are free buffet-style with your drinks) and restaurants on and off via cassari, argenteria & bottai. You can buy cold beers & cocktails to drink in the squares and borrow bottle openers from the shops.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Shower drain really slow so my feet were in a bath of water. Breakfast range is poor as it is mostly french pastries and cake ,a very small 2 slice toaster which meant queuing for my toast ,website misleading as states complimentary hot drink and when requested it costed me €6. Watch out for spa as you have to make reservation & pay €15 to use it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela F, Direttore at Hotel Porta Felice, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review, it help us to improve our service !

As already told when you were here in hotel, the kettle is furnished only in the Suites; you can have a look to our web-site where is clearly specified ; even so, when you asked for it, we promptly gave you free of charge for all your stay !

The Spa is on payment and our guests have a special discount for the entrance ( € 15,00 instead of € 30,00 per person) but it has been a pleasure for me to give you two entrance complimentary.

Thanks again for your suggestions and hope to meet you another time in our home !
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Porta Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Felice

Address: Via Butera, 35/47, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#4 Family Hotel in Palermo
#5 Business Hotel in Palermo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porta Felice 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Palermo, in the historical city centre, a few metres from Foro Italico gardens, Piazza Marina, via Alloro and Corso Vittorio Emanuele.It is elegant and welcoming. It was built on the foundations of a XVIII century building and has been completely reconstructed. There are 30 rooms and 3 suites all equipped with satellite tv, internet connection, telephone, safe and mini bar.Breakfast and bar services are located on the top floor on a panoramic terrace from where it is possible to admire the walls of Palazzo Steri and Piazza Marina. The Wellness club, on the ground floor, offers a wide range of relaxing services from a sauna, steam bath, small pool with hydro massage, emotional showers and also many personalized beauty treatments and massages.For meetings there are 2 rooms up to 20 persons and also, on request, there is a guarded parking area nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Porta Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Felice Hotel
Hotel Porta Felice Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porta Felice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.