We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porta Felice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Porta Felice to your Saves list
Hotel Porta Felice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Butera, 35/47, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Shower drain really slow so my feet were in a bath of water. Breakfast range is poor as it is mostly french pastries and cake ,a very small 2 slice toaster which meant queuing for my toast ,website misleading as states complimentary hot drink and when requested it costed me €6. Watch out for spa as you have to make reservation & pay €15 to use it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela F, Direttore at Hotel Porta Felice, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review, it help us to improve our service !

As already told when you were here in hotel, the kettle is furnished only in the Suites; you can have a look to our web-site where is clearly specified ; even so, when you asked for it, we promptly gave you free of charge for all your stay !

The Spa is on payment and our guests have a special discount for the entrance ( € 15,00 instead of € 30,00 per person) but it has been a pleasure for me to give you two entrance complimentary.

Thanks again for your suggestions and hope to meet you another time in our home !
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    196
    40
    8
    6
See reviews for
51
264
19
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my girlfriend, 4 days.Really nice rooms, at the hotel they even had a spa and fitness sollution there.I used the gym, perfect for a quick round.We rented bycycles aswell, any type is available.We didnt try the restaurant.Short story, a really good value!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tocane Saint-Apre, France
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

As part of a coach trip you don't expect marvels but we found our room at the back of the hotel perfectly comfortable and pleasant. It was spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable. We didn't manage to get the aircon working by ourselves but got help which was friendly and prompt. We were not bothered by the lack of a view or of coffee-making equipment, though to have these would have been a bonus. The breakfast terrace is pleasant and the fare was entirely satisfactory without being extra special. The free wifi worked perfectly for us. We thought the situation was fine, and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel while adding that there may be other hotels that are even more exciting in Palermo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wonderful peacful small hotel with good and friendly service.
Rooftop garden restaurant with a wieu is nice for breakfast as well as an evening meal.
We stayed there for almost a week, reasonably priced and would gladly come back. :)

Room Tip: Did not have the opportuniy to use the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I were somewhat disappointed particularly as this hotel had received good feedback and a 5 star rating. It was pleasant, clean with very helpful reception staff. The room we stayed in had a bad smell, which I think was from the air conditioning unit. It certainly was looking tired as the paint was peeling off the walls. Our room was at the back and quiet. The breakfast was a big disappointment, I have travelled extensively throughout the world and this was not any breakfast to write home about.

Room Tip: Sleep at the back it is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the end of our trip of sicily before flying back the hotel was very clean and modern really to come back to after the hustle and bustle of the city. We paid the €15 to use the spa for an hour it's nothing amazing if you're used to sparing but a nice treat if you have a spare hour. Location is fine short walk to all historic city stuff, lots of helpful touristy leaflets and guide books inthe room, and extensive Italian breakfast. Hotel staff were helpful, however one think we learned during our stay in sicily is that they are quite relaxed with timings and prices when you ask how long how far a taxi/bus will take, our taxi to the airport was €52 which although only €7 euro more than the hotel said it would be we only had €60 euros left on us so got a bit anxious watching the fare tick up! Would stay here again if we were in Palermo very clean and modern!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

A modern sleek room w modern comfort in the old part of town. Geat breakfast on the top floor. Free wifi but in my room 302 the signal was weak. Very close to the water for nice walk. A bit out of way of touristic convenience but the nice clean room beautifully destined is worth a few more min of walk to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Porta Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Felice

Address: Via Butera, 35/47, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#9 Business Hotel in Palermo
#11 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porta Felice 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Palermo, in the historical city centre, a few metres from Foro Italico gardens, Piazza Marina, via Alloro and Corso Vittorio Emanuele.It is elegant and welcoming. It was built on the foundations of a XVIII century building and has been completely reconstructed. There are 30 rooms and 3 suites all equipped with satellite tv, internet connection, telephone, safe and mini bar.Breakfast and bar services are located on the top floor on a panoramic terrace from where it is possible to admire the walls of Palazzo Steri and Piazza Marina. The Wellness club, on the ground floor, offers a wide range of relaxing services from a sauna, steam bath, small pool with hydro massage, emotional showers and also many personalized beauty treatments and massages.For meetings there are 2 rooms up to 20 persons and also, on request, there is a guarded parking area nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Porta Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Felice Hotel
Hotel Porta Felice Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porta Felice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.